We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest hotel at the waterfront”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Gdansk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Gdansk
Ranked #5 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Honest hotel at the waterfront”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hilton Gdansk

This review is an attempt to combine experiences from 3 stays at Hilton Gdansk this year with last one just finished.

I am Gold member in Hilton's HHonors program and each time I stayed with Hilton Gdansk I was upgraded to Superior room with the river view. Twice room was with the balcony, once room did not have balcony but had an angled panoramic window instead (If you need darkness to sleep, I'd avoid this room - it has one motorized curtain to cover entire window and have too much light leaking from the edges). Balconies have quite strange designs - they are essentially glass boxes without any openings, so not having one would not be a big issue

Superior rooms I've been to all have bathrooms with separate shower cubicle (water flow unimpressive and not very hot at times) and the bath, toiletries are standard Peter Thomas Roth (I like them). King size bed and sofa bed was provided. On my 2nd stay sofa bed had obvious cigarette burn in it so I am not sure how strictly no smoking ban is enforced (room didn't smell of smoke so it might be an exception). Room has 2 bottles of mineral water (still and sparkling) replenished daily, bathrobe/slipers were also provided. Mild disappointment about the room is number of switches one need to use for a room to go dark (after turndown service turns everything on, it's 5).

Minibar - typically priced for major chain hotel - beers at 17, soft drinks at 12-20 and spirits 25-35, snacks 10-15. Poor value in my opinion given one can buy beer or large bottle of water for ~3 in the small grocery shop across the street (rate ~3 PLN/$).

Business centre has 2 desktop PCs and the printer and is mostly empty. Use of the PCs is free of charge. Internet is free for a basic option which is more than adequate for the day to day stuff, including video streaming and skype calls. there is faster pay-for option available but I would not take it.

Gym is real disappointment. It is very small and have only 3 cardio machines (elliptic, treadmill and the bike) - granted it is mostly empty but when your favourite tool is occupied there is nothing else to do but wait.

Breakfast is great, if price is included into room rate, too expensive (PLN 70) otherwise. Have good spread of standard breakfast items, eggs to order menu (with basic stuff like fried eggs/omelette for free and more fancy ones like eggs arlington for a supplement of ~25). All varieties of the coffee (espresso etc.) are available on order. As a nice gesture (which seem to be common in hotels in Poland I've been to), breakfast offering includes sparkling wine.

There are 2 bars (on the ground floor and rooftop) and a restaurant. Downstairs bar is really quite bad value for money. I had "classic burger" there and was not impressed - McDonalds should fear not for the competition. Restaurant (Mercato) on other hand is quite popular and have separate page on tripadvisor. I've eaten there and apart of the fact it's more expensive than other restaurants around, food is quite tasty, so if you don't fancy to go out, eat there by all means. There are 10+ restaurants within 100m walking distance from the hotel so eating out shall never be a problem.

There is a spa and rooftop swimming pool (~15m long). Pool area also has steam room/sauna, and can be quite crowded, especially on weekends.

One of hotel's unique features is "personalised" news digest they hang on to room door handle each morning. This essentially is a collection of various news items from BBC - and is targeted to your home country, e.g. they have Britain, US, French, International, German and other editions available (also available in the restaurant and at the reception). Amount of news is about right to be consumed at the breakfast.

Internet is quite fast and reliable - actually so much reliable that I had no problem accessing the internet from the restaurant across the street from the hotel. "Free" option is more than adequate for everything including video streaming, so don't rush to buy "upgraded" version unless you need to. Interestingly, it is one of the few hotels where one don't have to enter room number/last name every time one logs in - system remembers your device for up to 10 days.

Room Tip: try to be upgraded into riverview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    913
    412
    94
    28
    11
See reviews for
237
556
67
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

good waterfront location close to the old town.clean rooms with really comfy bed. excellent breakfast buffet.The rooftop bar isn't all it's cracked up to be...but I guess it's better in the summer when you can sit out on the terrace.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellion2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is a very friendly hotel and the location is superb. Right out of the door and you are on the Gdansk waterfront, with lovely views and many great restuarants. Just a five minute walk and you are in the main square, Dlugi Targ. The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped and there is free wifi. The bathrooms are very nicely appointed with great showers. The breakfast choice is very good and the restaurant serves fine evening food. There is a roof top bar near the pool, from which there is a stunning view of Gdansk. The little bar next to the lobby is great for pre-dinner drinks or to meet up prior to venturing out into town. The spa is small but very nice. One warming: the charge for parking in their underground car park (with serious hill-start exit barrier!) is astronomical; use the perfectly safe street outside (free between the hours of 17 and 9, as far as I remember, and coin operated during payment hours).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the waterfront if at all possible: the view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncountin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent two wonderful nights and one full day in Gdansk: quite a jem of a small city. Location, Location, Location....that is for sure. Walkable to all historic sites, market, restaurants and valuable places to visit. very easy 20 minutes access in taxi to Sopot (on the Baltic sea); only 20 minutes or so from the airport. Fantastic breakfast buffet with ample selection and great service; very close to good restaurants.

My only two small complaints were related to the bathroom area: hot water took up to five minutes to come and honestly, I'm not really picky, but you must upgrade the quality of your toilet paper...as it really felt like card board. Sorry but it is the truth. Absolutely a great hotel to spend a nice few days!!

Room Tip: Room 56 on the top floor has a staircase to a sun room with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andorsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

They tempted us with an Upgrade and in fairness it was quite cheap.. but we declined and they when we got our room we would have to wonder what the upgrade would have included. This room is awesome... Staff are great, hotel is clean, tidy and extremely well located.

Room Tip: Ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yachtprojectsphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent service and accommodations. Ideally located. Staff was fluent in English, friendly and accommodating. Location was likely the best in Gdansk. Nice for walking, taking in the historic sites, shopping and dining.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you go to Gdansk you get a perfect stay at Hilton Gdansk. The hotel is located with the river promenade and close to old town with lots of good resturants. The service and hospitality is very good, please enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Geir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#8 of 83 in Gdansk
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.7 mi away
Hotel Almond Business & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Gdansk

Property: Hilton Gdansk
Address: Targ Rybny 1, Gdansk 80-838, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Gdansk 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Gdansk introduces cutting-edge facilities in the city.This stunning new build hotel will offer the largest meetings, incentives, conferences and exhibitions facilities in the centre of Gdansk. Designed to compliment the historic architecture of Poland’s principal seaport, Hilton Gdansk occupies a prime city centre site on the bank of the River Motlawa. In the heart of Old Town, the hotel is close to many businesses and tourist sites including Mariacka Street, St. Mary’s Church and the European Solidarity Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Gdansk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing