We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish”

Restauracja Targ Rybny
Ranked #23 of 500 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$80
Cuisines: Polish, Seafood, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh fish”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Two weeks ago we spent 4 days in beautiful Gdansk. On our first evening we managed to get a table in the terrrace of this nice restaurant. Food was really good. Their lobster soup was really delicious. The main course and desert were also very taisty. Only one small complain. The soup was served imidiately after getting our aperitives. The service in the restaurant was super

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reijo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    254
    88
    38
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good fish, double priced "fish of the day"”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I spent few days in Gdansk, and I planned to enjoy the taste of Baltic sea fishes each day. As soup I choose Gazpacho: here they make it with a lot of tomato, and with less of different vegetables, but with too many peppers. The "fish of the day" was kind of a Baltic sea fish according to the waitress, so I choose that one, even if the name of the fish was unknown for me. Suprisingly I received a 2 portions large fish, even the plate was not big enough to the size of the fish (picture attached). Taste of the fish was good, but the portion was extremly large, and also the price of it was double as much, as any other fish dishes on the menu. It was not fair from the waitress, that she did not warned me, that I should expect double portion and double price for the "fish of the day". Unfortunately the same surprise hit a gentleman in another table, as well. It is an unfair behaviour from a restarurant, even if the food tastes well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I visited the fischmarkt with my boyfriend after reading reviews on tripsadvisor and it was a real disappointment. We waited soooo long for ordered fish and we were really starving. After receiving the ordered dish we were surprised because the portion was tiny - especially the portion of halibut was particularly small. It was served on mash of tapinambur and a drop of sauce. The quality of the dish was definitely not worth its price. Still hungry after the main meal we ordered desserts and it was even worse. Lime mousse didn't taste like lime more like a cleaning detergent and the tiramisu- brownie cake was dreadful. Honestly I don't remember when I ate such a disappointing meal. It was very loud in the restaurant so the atmosphere was not very nice. The staff was nice though we had to ask them for menu, desert etc.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K260581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Absolutely overrated”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The restaurant is placed in the strategic fish market square and exhibits both outside and inside a cunning sea restaurant look. The service is fast (maybe too fast...), but the quality of food is definitely below the level of other restaurants I tried in Gdansk. I am not a delicate stomach, so the fact that my digestion process during the night had problems only with the food served in this restaurant must just mean something. If you add to this the fact that this place is also more expensive than others, I do not need to go further....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Seafood, Convenient Location”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by the Admiral Hotel, and it did not disappoint. Since it was just around the corner, it was convenient. The night we went, we ran into a fellow diner that had found the restaurant on Yelp. There was a good selection of fresh seafood at reasonable prices. We also found a good selection of wine to pair with our seafood entrees. We ate here for dinner and then lunch a few days later. We would highly recommend the Fishmarket if you are looking for good seafood while in Gdansk.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restauracja Targ Rybny also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Targ Rybny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing