We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Gdansk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Artus
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great location in Gdansk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

A perfect hotel in a perfect location, right in the heart of the main Town- this is the main tourist area. The rooms are very tastefully decorated with laptop safes too. As the Artus is in the heart of things you can expect some noise from the tourists and locals, but this wasn't so loud that it kept us awake. At 8 o'clock the bells from St mary's church across the road start there hourly 'song', but you soon get used to this and forget about it. There is no AC in the hotel and as we were there in September it was not a problem.
Our shower had a problem with leaking water from underneath and covered the bathroom floor with water. We spoke to the reception staff about this, also we asked for a second pillow. We were told that the following day the shower wouild be fixed and we would have the extra pillow requested, well nothing happened. We mentioned this on several occasions and it was not fixed the full week we were there. In the end we had to stuff a towell into the side of the shower basin to keep the floor dry. We had breakfast in the hotel only on one occasion and it was good, the restaurant is also open to the public and is of high standard. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable about public transport.
One of the best things about this hotel is that is it usually only 5 minutes from restaurant/bar to your bed! If I was in Gdansk again I'd definately use it again.

Room Tip: If a little noise is a problem, then request a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    105
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
70
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

A clean and nicely decorated hotell rooms. We had a room that faced the St. Mary's church and were woken by church-bells at 8 am every morning. I'd suggest getting a room that don't face the street. Or travel in the winter so you can have the windows closed - there are no air-condition in the hotel rooms. At least not in the one we got. The breakfast is small but ok. Not too comfy eating breakfast in what used to be a bare until a few hours later, but it works. The hotel has its own little spa-place in the basement, that's ok.

And that what's up with this hotel; everything is ok. Nobody, perhaps except the cleaners, does an effort. They just do what they have to do do, and that's it. Its not an expensive hotel, so I guess it's not necessary that the receptionist thanks you for your visit and wishes you a nice day, but it would be nice though.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superkajsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

The Artus is located in a good central location, close to the main streets and to the river. The room was average size and clean. The breakfast was good, however a little repetitive. We also went there for dinner one night and the food was fine. The only thing was the street noise woke us up pretty much everyday except when it rained - whether it was due to the large conference in town or just a regular summer night, I'm not sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

It's very well located, just next to the cathedral, and very close to the main street and to the river. The hotel is cozy, and the room I had was small, but comfortable. The restaurant has good food, and the breakfast is also fine. There's free WIFI in the rooms which is always appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebasizquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed two days in this hotel. The room was small but nicely decorated. A Polish friend of mine wanted to come and see the room for this used to be her office building before it was converted to a hotel. She was amazed how a building can change :)
Some noise during the night from the street. Breakfast was good, I loved the croissants.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Megumi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

the touristy/interesting areas of gdansk are,to my mind,in this part of town.this hotel is virtually surrounded by restaurants,pubs etc.nowhere seemed more than a few minutes walk away.the hotel itself is fine,my single room was fairly spacious and comfy.a very minor criticism is that the tv had1500 channels,including the encrypted ones,and trying to find something to watch i.e. an english language news channel,was at first an adventure then just a chore.i did not partake of the breakfast as for 35zl<£7>i knew i could get better for less in any of the nearby cafes.its layout in the hotel didnt impress and seemed minimal for the money,although it was well patronised when i went down for tea.the hotel served its purpose for me and was good value

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeteeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel has recently been renovated, rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The location of this hotel can't be better, it's just about 100 meters from the center of the old town. Nice breakfast with lots of choice (including warm sausages and scrambled eggs), served in the hotel restaurant. Unfortunately it can be quite noisy, especially on a weekend night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mAgness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#26 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Gotyk House
Gotyk House
#29 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#37 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artus

Property: Hotel Artus
Address: Piwna 36/39, Gdansk 80-831, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artus 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artus Hotel is located in the heart of Gdansk, nearby the biggest tourist attractions the city has to offer. Just outside the hotel is the Dluga street, where you can see a magnificent Neptune fountain, the city hall, Artus manor and St. Mary`s Basilica, which is considered the biggest sanctuary made fully out of brick in the world. It is guaranteed that we try our best to make the guests feel like home. Stylish interior design of the hotel provides comfort and coziness. The perfect location, which is definitely something to be jealous of, is an undeniable advantage of the hotel. Staying in Hotel Artus you get to visit the greatest sights of Gdańsk on foot. It is also the reason why we are often chosen as a perfect place to organize training courses, conferences and other events organized by companies from all over Europe. Artus Hotel is classified as a boutique hotel, which means high standard. In our offer we have both rooms and apartments, which tickle even the most demanding guests` fancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing