We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Artus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Artus
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

On arriving in Gdansk we made our way from the train station through the pretty streets to find our hotel - not far about a 10 minute walk.

We were extremely impressed with the location it is right opposite St Mary's Church, the main street is mere meters away (which is full of bars, cafes and lovely eateries etc) and it is also near the river front so the medival crane and the maritime museum where a very short distance away.

Our room was very clean and quite modern, the bathroom fine, just a shower but that was fine with us. There was a little noise at night from a nearby bar and also the chiming bells but nothing too bad (unless of course you are a light sleeper).

We were only room only but one morning we decided to try the buffet breakfast. It was ok - way overpriced for what it was 35 zloty per person, you can get far better elsewhere. I am glad we hadn't opted for the breakfast as it was definately not worth the price.

The staff were very helpful when needed. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    99
    27
    10
    3
See reviews for
26
70
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just came back from a long weekend in Gdansk staying at the Hotel Artus in Gdansk Old Town. Had never been to Poland before so not sure what to expect but the Old Town (largely rebuilt after the war) was fabulous. Our stay was made more special by the lovely staff at our hotel. Always helpful and polite they gave us heaps of guidance about getting around and what to see. The hotel is lovely inside and our family room was exceptional. A separate lounge downstairs and two sleeping areas up a spiral staircase. All clean and very comfortable. I'd recommend a visit to Gdansk and especially a stay at Hotel Artus. Would love to see more sometime as we were over for a Karate Comp but will definitely come back.

Room Tip: They all sound good but the family suite on the top floor was perfect and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here for four nights, The rooms we very clean and pleasant, however try to book a room to the rear as after an evening out you will be hearing Bells at 7 am but I suppose its a good wake up call in case the reception staff forget, the bar/restaurant, (not part of hotel), is very friendly place and the staff are great, if you like pasta I wouldn't recommend the penne with mussels.

Room Tip: Room to rear recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justjuames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel Artus has got just the perfect location for a citybreak in Gdansk. It is close to main square, river front and all the attractions in old town.
Only downside with location this good is that it can get a bit noisy at nights, there are quite few pubs and restaurants in the streets near by.
Room was very spacious with a large bathroom. A kettle would have been a nice thing to have for those early morning cups of coffee.
Sfaff in this hotel was very helpful and skilled.
Our stay in hotel Artus was comfortable and I could recommende this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viivi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Right in the centre of the "Old Town" the Artus is ideally placed to explore the city.We stayed here for two nights on a room only basis as there are dozens of restaurants in the vicinity and we preferred to eat outside while people watching over a lazy breakfast. The staff were all pleasant and helpful, rooms were spotless and a good size with very comfortable beds and good value for money. We would be happy to go back there anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weesandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway, ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for 5 nights. Great location as its within a 5 minute walk of the main sights, bars and restaurants. Its a small, boutique hotel which is really nicely decorated, very clean snd had a 'new' feel about it. However, the bedroom is a little small and the 'double bed' was two single beds pushed together which is a little uncomfortable. It was noisy in the mornings from about 7 as the hotel is adjacent to a main street. The bar/restaurant in the hotel is popular and always had a good atmosphere inside and outside. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and organised a taxi for us to the airport on the last day which was a lot cheaper than our taxi from the airport inbound! There is a 24hour shop across the road which was handy too. Overall, I would recommend the hotel is staying in Gdansk and yes I would recommend Gdansk for a city break..beautiful city with lots to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
372 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Yes, you are right in the historic center of Gdansk, which is the biggest plus for this hotel. For the rest, there are only disadvantages. No air conditioning, so in the summer one has to open the windows. Noise, lots of noise from the street, the bars, terraces etc. Not good for one's sleep. My room (#306) was small, and my bed was the smallest I have ever slept in, mind you I'm 1.93 meters. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. On the breakfast I can be very positive. The best advice for staying in this hotel is: take earplugs along.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#28 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Gotyk House
Gotyk House
#26 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#37 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artus

Property: Hotel Artus
Address: Piwna 36/39, Gdansk 80-831, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artus 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artus Hotel is located in the heart of Gdansk, nearby the biggest tourist attractions the city has to offer. Just outside the hotel is the Dluga street, where you can see a magnificent Neptune fountain, the city hall, Artus manor and St. Mary`s Basilica, which is considered the biggest sanctuary made fully out of brick in the world. It is guaranteed that we try our best to make the guests feel like home. Stylish interior design of the hotel provides comfort and coziness. The perfect location, which is definitely something to be jealous of, is an undeniable advantage of the hotel. Staying in Hotel Artus you get to visit the greatest sights of Gdańsk on foot. It is also the reason why we are often chosen as a perfect place to organize training courses, conferences and other events organized by companies from all over Europe. Artus Hotel is classified as a boutique hotel, which means high standard. In our offer we have both rooms and apartments, which tickle even the most demanding guests` fancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hotel Artus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing