We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't stay there, because...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Artus
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't stay there, because...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hotel Artus seemed like an ok hotel on Tripadvisor. Great value for money. We never got to stay there though. The reason is:

We were not sure that breakfast was included in the deal offered on the hotels own web page, so we sent the hotel an e-mail asking them to clearify this. The receptionist sent us an offer on e-mail, but the deal was even more expensive than the one on their own web page (and booking.com). How is that possible? We asked her to explain the differences. It seemed like the details were the same. The answer i got back was: "I think that the best way to make a reservation is doing it by the booking.com service." She didn't even try answering our questions.

I'm glad we're staying elsewhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    105
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
30
70
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was extremely good value for money. The room was a good size and nicely decorated. We were a bit apprehensive about the noise as several reviews mention the church bells. Yes, they were extremely loud and yes, they were a bit annoying at times. In general they didn't really bother us though, even with our windows open, most mornings I don't even recall them waking us.
The only slight criticism I have of the hotel is that the rooms were too warm (easily solved by opening the window) and the beds were uncomfortable (my husband disagrees though!). Other than that I can find no faults. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is kept spotless.

The main seller though has to be the location. It's situated on a brilliant street with amazing places to eat and drink and there's even a 24 hour shop opposite. The main tourist attractions are all literally a stones throw away. I was shocked at how close everything was! It's also only a 10 minute stroll to the train station and shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just got back from our first visit to Gdansk. We had a great time.

The hotel is great, very clean, amazing location and very tasteful decorated. We decided not to get the breakfast included in the price but after looking around we did have breakfast in the restaurant. The prices were a little higher than other options but the breakfast was first rate.

We didn't get a photo of the bathroom but this was just as modern and clean as the rest of the room, with a very powerful hot shower.

Overall we had a great time and for the price there is nothing we would change.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

An example of the friendly and service minded hotel in reasonable prices and in the heart of the old town of Gdansk. Also Taxi Baltic recommended by the hotel is worth to mention: really friendly guys. Even a sauna downstairs of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just had a 3 night stay and from the exterior it just looks like the rest of the surrounding buildings but once you get inside your met with a nice quality feel and lovely reception staff. We had a room to the front of the hotel which was very nice with a good sized shower room. There is a mini bar and a free safe in each room and the mini bar is not that expensive compared to other hotels we have stayed in.. There is no coffee or tea making facilities which is a real shame and no air con which could be a problem in summer, Our room was on the first floor at the front of the hotel and we did experience a lot of noise into the early hours and then the church bells across the road start at 7am so leaving the windows open was not an option. Great location for all the bars and restaurants. The hotel has a restaurant adjoined to it but it does not belong to the hotel and the food is very good and we would recommend it. A 24hr shop is just over the road. A trip to Sopot on the train is also recommended 7.80 Zl return is about £2. A mini bus for 6 people from the airport to the Hotel is about £20(22euros) and will be about £14(16 euros) for a normal taxi . Note..save a little cash till you check out because you will have to pay the city tax at 4ZL(£1) per day

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the Hotel should be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

On arriving in Gdansk we made our way from the train station through the pretty streets to find our hotel - not far about a 10 minute walk.

We were extremely impressed with the location it is right opposite St Mary's Church, the main street is mere meters away (which is full of bars, cafes and lovely eateries etc) and it is also near the river front so the medival crane and the maritime museum where a very short distance away.

Our room was very clean and quite modern, the bathroom fine, just a shower but that was fine with us. There was a little noise at night from a nearby bar and also the chiming bells but nothing too bad (unless of course you are a light sleeper).

We were only room only but one morning we decided to try the buffet breakfast. It was ok - way overpriced for what it was 35 zloty per person, you can get far better elsewhere. I am glad we hadn't opted for the breakfast as it was definately not worth the price.

The staff were very helpful when needed. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaP83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We just came back from a long weekend in Gdansk staying at the Hotel Artus in Gdansk Old Town. Had never been to Poland before so not sure what to expect but the Old Town (largely rebuilt after the war) was fabulous. Our stay was made more special by the lovely staff at our hotel. Always helpful and polite they gave us heaps of guidance about getting around and what to see. The hotel is lovely inside and our family room was exceptional. A separate lounge downstairs and two sleeping areas up a spiral staircase. All clean and very comfortable. I'd recommend a visit to Gdansk and especially a stay at Hotel Artus. Would love to see more sometime as we were over for a Karate Comp but will definitely come back.

Room Tip: They all sound good but the family suite on the top floor was perfect and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Gotyk House
Gotyk House
#29 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#37 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artus

Property: Hotel Artus
Address: Piwna 36/39, Gdansk 80-831, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artus 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Artus Hotel is located in the heart of Gdansk, nearby the biggest tourist attractions the city has to offer. Just outside the hotel is the Dluga street, where you can see a magnificent Neptune fountain, the city hall, Artus manor and St. Mary`s Basilica, which is considered the biggest sanctuary made fully out of brick in the world. It is guaranteed that we try our best to make the guests feel like home. Stylish interior design of the hotel provides comfort and coziness. The perfect location, which is definitely something to be jealous of, is an undeniable advantage of the hotel. Staying in Hotel Artus you get to visit the greatest sights of Gdańsk on foot. It is also the reason why we are often chosen as a perfect place to organize training courses, conferences and other events organized by companies from all over Europe. Artus Hotel is classified as a boutique hotel, which means high standard. In our offer we have both rooms and apartments, which tickle even the most demanding guests` fancy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Artus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing