We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!”
Review of Midtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Midtown Hostel
Ranked #2 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST HOSTEL IN THE WORLD!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I loved this hostel it was so clean, it's near the train station everyone at the reception were vey helpful especially Mathew and Caroline, everything was great, the showers were super clean, just the best

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    29
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
36
39
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed there for three nights. Here the plus and minus points of the hostel:

+ It is an excellent new hostel, nice bathrooms, furniture
+ The staff is 24 h there and very helpful, friendly and talks English good enough to explain everything
+ location is close to the old town (max. 10 min. to walk), from the train station you need not more than 10 minutes to walk.
+ very clean

+/- average hostel breakfast with tea, coffee, toast, jam, margerine, some cheese. You can use the kitchen to make yourself a tea the whole day. They have a fridge and dish-washer.

- the double rooms are not as good as the dorm rooms: My double felt like being in the middle of the loud street in front (even with closed windows!) and was tiny, no place for two bags and the bed smaller than a French bed, thus max. 1,40 m breadth. The second double was loud too and had no window. Only the dorm rooms are to the quiet back. So in there, you would consider this a 4* hostel.
- first time ever I had to do the sheets on the bed and pillow myself in a hostel. Like in the good old youth hostel times? Not a problem if you get the right sheets, which I didn't - the correct size was "out" (they have a washing service that brings them regularly).

I wouldn't stay there again in the double rooms as I need a quiet place. But the dorms are much more quiet.

Room Tip: No double rooms if you are sensitive to noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mavo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

A beautifully decorated hostel. This is cleanest hostel I have ever seen. The staff is very nice and helpful, and you are walking distance from old town and the train station. It has a nice homey feel to it, making it very comfortable. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to Gdansk.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank blackveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Looking for a hostel in Gdansk that's clean, affordable and friendly? This is the right place. Friendly staff, ideal location and good value for money.
Overall, I really enjoyed staying there. The atmosphere was very sociable. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaAgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hostel has very good localization, is in the half way between main railway station/ airport bus stop and old town. Rooms are clean and bright. You can use kitchen which is fully equipped, common room with TV, games and music, computers with internet access (WiFi also available for free). Hostel is modern and nicely furnished. Very tasty breakfast is included and if you are hungry and don't want to eat in in town you can cook something in nice kitchen. The room I had (and a bed) were very comfortable. Reception is very helpful and is giving plenty of tips what to do in Gdansk. I really enjoyed my stay in Midtown Hostel! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwonula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The "Midtown Hostel" is located in the very center of Stare Miasto (Old Town) in Gdańsk, not so far away from the main train station (where the buses from the airport come to). The furniture and equipment are modern. There are 2 bathrooms in the hostel which also provide the amenities (like shower gel or shampoo) and nice hot showers. Moreover, in some rooms there are personal sinks. The rooms themselves are a bit small (at least, for 4 persons) but very nice. There is also a big lightful common room with sofa and armchairs, tables, chairs (it can be used also as dinnng room), TV, table games and DVDs. Wi-fi is free of charge, and more than that, there are plenty of sockets in all premises. The kitchen is well-equiped: fridge, oven, utensils, etc. The breakfast is included in price and consists of tea/coffee, bread, jams, honey, nutella, jogurts, muesli and corn flakes. Also, the staff is very helpful and friendly that's why the whole atmosphere in the hostel is superb! You can take all necessary maps and brochures, and also staff can help you if you have some problems or questions. The hostel is made in that way (physically and mentally) that you can feel yourself like a part of a big international family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyfinsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Great hostel, only a few minutes walk from Dluga and the river, also close to the train station. The hostel is quite stylish and more like an apartment. Fixtures and fittings are all modern and fairly new and the hostel is very clean. The staff are very helpful and provide free maps of the area. The breakfast is basic tea/coffee and toast.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank s62blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.6 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 84 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.4 mi away
La Guitarra Hostel Gdansk
La Guitarra Hostel Gdansk
#10 of 193 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Property: Midtown Hostel
Address: Ul. Podwale Staromiejskie 105/106 Lok. 1 | Etrance at the Rear, Gdansk 80-844, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 193 Speciality Lodging in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midtown Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIDTOWN HOSTEL GUARANTEE FOR FREE:BREAKFAST TEA & COFFE, FAST INTERNET ACCESS, MAPS AND CITY GUIDEBOOKS IN YOUR LANGUAGE!!!Looking for a nice hostel in Gdansk? One that will be comfortable, safe, fun and close to the city centre? Well, look no further!We offer beds in dorms and apartments at good prices, with continental breakfast included. Free coffee and tea, free wifi. Common area equipped with comfy sofas, TV, movies, books and games. Staff which is always there, and always ready to help.Need to know more? Midtown Hostel is:- as well communicated as it gets. Just across the street from the historical centre of the city, which becomes party centre at night. Five minutes from Gdansk Central station, which offers buses, trams and trains that will take You to just about anywhere You'll want in Gdansk and places nearby.- brand new. It just opened at the beginning of this year. And everybody loved it so far.- cozy and clean. We guarantee clean beds, bathroom and kitchen. Noticed something off? Let the stuff know, they'll deal with it immediately. We have "no mess" policy at our hostel.- safe. There's always someone at a reception. And at night two doors guard our guests privacy. Also - every guest gets his own private stash and a key to it.- well-equipped. Kitchen has a fridge, stove, pot, dishwasher, microwave and toaster. You need iron or hairdryer? It's here, for You to use. TV channels from all around the WorldTo use. Earplugs, towels and flip-flops." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing