We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, modern and clean hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midtown Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Midtown Hostel
Ranked #2 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, modern and clean hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

First and foremost I was suprised by the closeness of the hostel to the very centre of the city - it's just to cross the road to dive into the oldest streets of Gdańsk. The staff was extremely nice and straighforward without all those Miss and Mrs kind of stuff. I booked a bed in 6 person dormithory but due to the renovation I was given a bed in a small, quiet and well equipped 4-person room without any change in price. The breakfast served in the morning was delicious and free tea and coffee is a very thoughtful kind of thing.
I really enjoyed my stay there and recommend everyone to come to Midtown Hostel in Gdańsk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartaMKA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    27
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
36
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

i was blown away by this hostel for the price the room was huge and beautiful looking. i booked the deluxe private room to stay in as a couple and for a few extra pounds ended up with a separate apartment almost to ourselves. staff on reception were extremely helpful and friendly. i wish i had taken the woman on receptions name on our last day as she went above and beyond and seemed generally interested in the people staying at the hostel. the view from our room was lovely. i would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in gdansk. i would stay again if i ever visit Gdansk again.

Room Tip: if going as a couple spend the extra few pounds and get a deluxe suite as you get an apartment betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a dormithory room just next to living room but staff care to keep silently at night. Beautiful designed space with bathrooms like in 5 star hotel. In hostel is just two bathroom but place is small so it is no big problem. From our room we can get to huge terrace with sun beds!. Breakfast is maby not special but comletly enought: 3 types of flakes, milk, jams, tosts. orange juce, chocolate butter, cheese, coffee and tea for free all day. Entrance to the hostel is at the rear and looks a bit dirty, but location is perfect: max 10 min walk from main station and 5 min from old town. Hostel is very clean, guests have to take of shose on the entrance , what some people won"t like but through that You can feel like at home. This hostel is big apartament with everything what You need. Staff is rady to halp You in every moment. I it is one of the best hostel I have ever stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at Midtown Hostel for three nights and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The guys running the desk were extremely helpful and had lots of good recommendations. The private rooms are small but comfortable - perfect for a few nights exploring the old town (which is just a few steps away). The bathrooms, communal room, and kitchen are all very modern and kept spotlessly clean. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torun, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Guys in reception were so freindly, full of good recomendations for dinner, exhibitions, free trips and so far. Midtown hostel is in good location, old town is next to it, no to far to the beach. Easy to get to any mean of transport. A lot of attractions around. Comfortable rooms, clean bathrooms and really nice living room. I met a lot of interesting people there. I Really recommend this this hostel to everyone for sightseeing, holiday. If I will visit Gdansk again i will be in Midotwn hostel. I really enjoyed all stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in a private double. Very clean, decent location but not as central or near water as many others in same price range. Staff friendly and helpful. Wireless NOT available in rooms as promised - had to go to kitchen to use which was pain at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_J33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Most important things that I take into account booking hostel are location, good price, cleanness and nice atmosphere. Here I found all that I was looking for :) Staff is very helpful, rooms are very clean and bathrooms - perfect. It's situated about 10 minutes by walk from the city center. I'd love to enjoy Gdansk's atmosphere on Midtown Hostel's terrace once again - and for sure I'll come back there soon! Greetings for the stuff! ;)

Room Tip: Each one is very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WerkaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#16 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Hostel

Property: Midtown Hostel
Address: Ul. Podwale Staromiejskie 105/106 Lok. 1 | Etrance at the Rear, Gdansk 80-844, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 183 Speciality Lodging in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIDTOWN HOSTEL GUARANTEE FOR FREE:BREAKFAST TEA & COFFE, FAST INTERNET ACCESS, MAPS AND CITY GUIDEBOOKS IN YOUR LANGUAGE!!!Looking for a nice hostel in Gdansk? One that will be comfortable, safe, fun and close to the city centre? Well, look no further!We offer beds in dorms and apartments at good prices, with continental breakfast included. Free coffee and tea, free wifi. Common area equipped with comfy sofas, TV, movies, books and games. Staff which is always there, and always ready to help.Need to know more? Midtown Hostel is:- as well communicated as it gets. Just across the street from the historical centre of the city, which becomes party centre at night. Five minutes from Gdansk Central station, which offers buses, trams and trains that will take You to just about anywhere You'll want in Gdansk and places nearby.- brand new. It just opened at the beginning of this year. And everybody loved it so far.- cozy and clean. We guarantee clean beds, bathroom and kitchen. Noticed something off? Let the stuff know, they'll deal with it immediately. We have "no mess" policy at our hostel.- safe. There's always someone at a reception. And at night two doors guard our guests privacy. Also - every guest gets his own private stash and a key to it.- well-equipped. Kitchen has a fridge, stove, pot, dishwasher, microwave and toaster. You need iron or hairdryer? It's here, for You to use. TV channels from all around the WorldTo use. Earplugs, towels and flip-flops." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Midtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing