We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the best thing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Location is the best thing”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location is great for a visit to gdansk. Easy to get to from the airport and relatively easy to get downtown if you navigate the airport. However the rooms were very mediocre and quite dull. We had some sort of business room which had a big conference table in it and it was just completely odd. Breakfast was alright but the whole thing was a bit pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luine68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    215
    79
    9
    4
See reviews for
65
149
51
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

It was a very good stay.

Short one! Only for two days, but You have everything in hand for the location.

Bathrooms were very clean, no fancy TV and I confess that I didn't even use it.

Breakfast was indeed very good, everything seemed fresh and in abundance.

Worth it for a business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avelinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very nice hotel with excellent location in the center of Gdansk. It's my primary hotel in Gdansk. Excellent service, very good restaurant, truely engaged staff.
I should add that there is no swimming pool in hotel. To summerize I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W77R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Weighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Spent two nights here as part of a Cosmos Tour of Poland. This is a pleasant and well situated hotel directly opposite the railway station,(where you can also find a Post Office.) The room was immaculate and very comfortable although a little on the small side compared with the rooms we stayed in at other hotels on the tour. The buffet breakfast was very adequate and the evening meals were very acceptable although a variation on chicken would have been welcome. The staff we encountered were always very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Select a high room for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkyWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful location for touring. Directly across street from train station, five minute walk to Solidarity Shipyards, ten minute walk from Old Town. Rooms are comfortable but spartan. Breakfast is average and other dining was well below.
Stay here but eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Good Location, front of main trainstation(Gdansk Glowny) and front of bus stop to airport(line 210). Near to Old Town too. The Midle of everything.
Very good value for money, twin room around 70€/day with very good buffet breakfast.
Very basic chain Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I had been to the huge Mercure previously in Gdansk (sorry, no review for that one, that was back in 2010!) and was not overly impressed with it. So I decided to try to the Scandic, one reason was that on check-out, we had an early train to catch (7am) and the price was good (around 70 Euro/night) including breakfast.

I spent five nights here and I was very pleased I chose the Scandic. The property used to be a Holiday Inn so the rooms are not 'normal' Scandic quality, I would say they are better. Reception staff were always courteous and friendly. Rooms were a nice size, clean and with free Wi-Fi throughout. You could be picky and say some parts of the rooms are slightly old looking, but they served their purpose and everything worked.

The hotel is facing the station (other side of a huge busy road) but with the excellent sound-proofing I heard nothing from outside. The old town was a nice 10-15 min walk away and I prefer not to stay in the centre of an old-town of any city. There is a shopping centre nearby, Madison, which has some cafe/restaurant options as well. Gdansk centre is relatively small and easily walkable.

Breakfast was very good, great choices and I have to say I particularly liked the pancakes. The bar was only tried once, a bit expensive and spent the other nights enjoying the many other bars that the city has.

With the station being so close, it was simple to get the train into Sopot, as well as our early train when we checked-out.

Yet again, another four star review, I would be likely to stay here when I return to Gdansk (it's only a matter of time, it's a fantastic part of Poland).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 84 in Gdansk
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 84 in Gdansk
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandic Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandic Gdansk

Property: Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Address: ul. Podwale Grodzkie 9, Gdansk 80-895, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scandic Gdansk 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic - hotel chain with almost 230 hotels in nine European countries; hotels for those, who make conscious choices, also while travelling. Our hotels are diverse, with individual style and character, having one in common: remarkable concern towards our guests to organize their perfect stay, business meeting or conference. Scandic Gdansk has 143 comfortable rooms with full air conditioning and the following equipment: free wired and wireless internet access, mini-bar, cable TV, safe and ironing set. Our restaurant, Senso Restaurant & Bar, is a perfect place for meetings with friends and acquaintances. We have a mediterranean cuisine with a wide range of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Scandic Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gdansk Hotel Gdansk
Holiday Inn Gdansk
Scandic Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing