We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Stavanger
2 reviews
“Unexpected”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We didnt really expect much considering the great price we got. We stayed for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Clean rooms and everything needed. Great bed ,tv and even a iron for my shirts :)

The most surprising part was the restaurant, we ate there probably 4 times during our stay,and overall the food was better than we experienced in town.

We did not preorder breakfast, but considering the quality of the restaurant,we decided to try the this as well. Good selection and great taste. BUT very pricy..

The old town is a nice little walk away, if you want to go to Sopot the taxis are right outside. remember to order the taxi at the front desk (We got played by a taxidriver the first time;)

Overall we are very pleased with our stay and Scandic Gdansk really surprised us on every level.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tom S,

Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. Guest's feedback is the most valuable source of information for improving our service. I am very glad that you enjoy your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again soon. Warm greetings from the entire Scandic staff.

Katarzyna Mazurek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    209
    78
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
142
49
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Checkin was fairly fast. Had requested a quiet room, and this was given.

Got upgrade to a suite. Very nice !

Suite was spacious and in good condition. No complaints.

Breakfast was good with nice and adequate selection. Scrambled eggs were real, no powder eggs here.

WIFI is both free and stable.

Gym is available, did not try it.

Location is very central being next to the railway station. Old town walking distance would be appr. 10 minutes making it convenient to major attractions.

All in all a good stay, I would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the backside away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear MustaPekka,

Thank you very much for your review! I am very glad to hear that you found our job well done. It is very nice that you notice and appreciate so many things in our hotel. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, we were at the front of the hotel and contrary to other reviews we had no problem with noise. The bus from the airport stops outside the front door so very convenient for the airport and train station. We were upgraded to a superior room so we were very happy. We did not have breakfast as it seemed expensive 50zl compared to what was on offer in the Old Town. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was looking for a hotel to spend 3 nights in and this one seemed to tick the boxes. I was going to book it via booking.com but I checked out the hotel's own website and found that if you book direct with them you could not only get it at a slightly cheaper price, but also you could get free breakfasts on their 3 for 2 nights offer. With breakfast costing £10 each per night, this was an excellent offer and one which we were delighted to take.

We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great spot opposite to Gdansk Glowny (train station) surrounded by shops and a couple of bars/eateries and a five minute walk into the main tourist area in one direction and the Gdansk shipyards in the other.

The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Large, comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, (free) safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and trouser press. The bathroom had a shower over a bath so you could take your pick.

The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold foods.

On the landing there was an ice machine and a shoe shine machine and although we didn't use it (or even see it) there is a fitness centre and sauna if you feel inclined to use them.

The staff were friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. I would certainly stay there again next time I visit this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel opposite the main station. Although it is a very busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Lindawba68,
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad that you are satisfied with your stay with us.
I hope you will come back to Scandic Gdansk soon and I will be pleased to meet you in personally.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Service not kind.
My key didn´t work any time when I went to the hotel. The front desk personal didn´t care about that - just SORRY...
Breakfast ok, but didn´t included to the price of the hotel room.
Room..... carpet on thee floor....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norge
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The Scandic Gdansk made me really feel welcome.
After traveling in a very rural area, with next to no internet, and cell reseption only with the wind carrying reseption towards your cell, they tried hard to confirm my reservation.
Getting there in the evening, I was meet by Katarzyna in the reseption, who tried to reach me. She remebered me right away after she got my name.
The rooms are quit big and clean. Same with the bathroom, that had a bathtub. I guess I would recommend a room at the hotels backside, since it is quit. The front faces a mainroad and the trainstation.
Location wise it is close to perfekt. Across the trainstation and about 5 minutes walking from the old city. Only the airport is about 30-40 min away.
If you want a place where you feel home, away from home, come here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ze_german_2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just the best place to stay in Gdansk - Staff so friendly and welcoming, always available to help advise and assist anyway you need. Rooms clean tidy bright and comfortable Restaurant is so relaxing & food is great and Location is perfect - close to the railway station, 2 minutes walk from the mall - 5 minutes walk from the centre. Highly recommend :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear HerrFUDGE,

Thank you very much for your review. It's wonderful to see yet another sattisfied Guest, I hope you're comming back to Gdansk some time soon.

Best Regards,
Michal Ziegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.5 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,533 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#14 of 84 in Gdansk
566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandic Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandic Gdansk

Property: Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Address: ul. Podwale Grodzkie 9, Gdansk 80-895, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scandic Gdansk 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic - hotel chain with almost 230 hotels in nine European countries; hotels for those, who make conscious choices, also while travelling. Our hotels are diverse, with individual style and character, having one in common: remarkable concern towards our guests to organize their perfect stay, business meeting or conference. Scandic Gdansk has 143 comfortable rooms with full air conditioning and the following equipment: free wired and wireless internet access, mini-bar, cable TV, safe and ironing set. Our restaurant, Senso Restaurant & Bar, is a perfect place for meetings with friends and acquaintances. We have a mediterranean cuisine with a wide range of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scandic Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gdansk Hotel Gdansk
Holiday Inn Gdansk
Scandic Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing