We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in city center”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Scandic Gdansk in a junior suite for 3 nights. Very nice room, with big bathroom, bedroom and living room with sofa. Nice and clean. Coffee machine and full minibar. (Only one negative thing in the room is double duvet, not so fun if you are traveling with a friend.) Central location close to the railway station, main road close to the hotel, but we did not hear any noise from it. Walking down to the old city (10 min walk), we did not have to cross the main road. Taxi stop outside the hotel, costs about 50-70 zl to the airport. Also you find a big shopping center 5 min walk from the hotel. Good breakfast, but you have to pay extra for it. Also tried the spa at the hotel, good prices, did not have to book in advance. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anebli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Anebli,

I am very happy that you decided to stay with us and shared your opinion about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you enjoy your stay and find our job well done. Of course if you would like to have two singe duvets instead of one double you can always call to reception and one of our maids will change it. I hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    200
    73
    7
    3
See reviews for
58
138
46
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
235 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We spent two nights here and were very pleased. Room was immaculate, beds were comfortable, breakfast buffet was quite good between quality and choices, and wi-fi was free, easy and with a strong signal. We could not get the TV to work and maintenance was extremely prompt to come up, do a reset, and we were good. Housekeeping brought up an extra pillow within minutes of making the request. Our room overlooked a small park but was very quiet and we slept very well. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Bring your own facecloths - they are not provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lobstaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lobstaluva,

We are very happy that you have decided to stay with us! Thank you very much for your opinion as guest's feedback is very important for improving our service.
It is very nice to hear that you are satisfied with your stay with us and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Cleaning :

Very clean , the service is good.

Front desk:

Very nice and helpful,but they don't tell you if the breakfast is include or not, you will find out on your invoice.

Breakfast:

Nothing special, average, the waiters they don't speak good English .

Dinner/lunch

Food , nothing special actually costly for the poor quality .


Location:

Good

Parking :

Even if on the web page say that can be arrange is another company and you don't have any special price for the parking .


Conclusion :

Due the barrier with language and the breakfast that till the end you are not informed , the hotel is located in good place,but the standard are low, or better same like some other scandic ( example:Stockholm ).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gca009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear gca009,

Thank you very much for your feedback about our hotel. Your opinion is very valuable to me because it allows us to improve our service. I'm glad that you are satisfied with our cleaning service and our helpful reception. I'm really sorry for the misunderstanding with breakfast, you should be informed during check-in. I hope you will visit us again so we can show next time that we can make your stay more enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We didnt really expect much considering the great price we got. We stayed for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. Clean rooms and everything needed. Great bed ,tv and even a iron for my shirts :)

The most surprising part was the restaurant, we ate there probably 4 times during our stay,and overall the food was better than we experienced in town.

We did not preorder breakfast, but considering the quality of the restaurant,we decided to try the this as well. Good selection and great taste. BUT very pricy..

The old town is a nice little walk away, if you want to go to Sopot the taxis are right outside. remember to order the taxi at the front desk (We got played by a taxidriver the first time;)

Overall we are very pleased with our stay and Scandic Gdansk really surprised us on every level.

Great hotel!

Room Tip: Near the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tom S,

Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel. Guest's feedback is the most valuable source of information for improving our service. I am very glad that you enjoy your stay with us and I hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again soon. Warm greetings from the entire Scandic staff.

Katarzyna Mazurek
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Checkin was fairly fast. Had requested a quiet room, and this was given.

Got upgrade to a suite. Very nice !

Suite was spacious and in good condition. No complaints.

Breakfast was good with nice and adequate selection. Scrambled eggs were real, no powder eggs here.

WIFI is both free and stable.

Gym is available, did not try it.

Location is very central being next to the railway station. Old town walking distance would be appr. 10 minutes making it convenient to major attractions.

All in all a good stay, I would come again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the backside away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear MustaPekka,

Thank you very much for your review! I am very glad to hear that you found our job well done. It is very nice that you notice and appreciate so many things in our hotel. I hope that you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Great location, we were at the front of the hotel and contrary to other reviews we had no problem with noise. The bus from the airport stops outside the front door so very convenient for the airport and train station. We were upgraded to a superior room so we were very happy. We did not have breakfast as it seemed expensive 50zl compared to what was on offer in the Old Town. Would definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was looking for a hotel to spend 3 nights in and this one seemed to tick the boxes. I was going to book it via booking.com but I checked out the hotel's own website and found that if you book direct with them you could not only get it at a slightly cheaper price, but also you could get free breakfasts on their 3 for 2 nights offer. With breakfast costing £10 each per night, this was an excellent offer and one which we were delighted to take.

We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a great spot opposite to Gdansk Glowny (train station) surrounded by shops and a couple of bars/eateries and a five minute walk into the main tourist area in one direction and the Gdansk shipyards in the other.

The room was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. Large, comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities, mini bar, (free) safe, hairdryer, iron and ironing board and trouser press. The bathroom had a shower over a bath so you could take your pick.

The breakfast was excellent with a huge choice of hot and cold foods.

On the landing there was an ice machine and a shoe shine machine and although we didn't use it (or even see it) there is a fitness centre and sauna if you feel inclined to use them.

The staff were friendly and helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. I would certainly stay there again next time I visit this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel opposite the main station. Although it is a very busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindawba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Lindawba68,
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad that you are satisfied with your stay with us.
I hope you will come back to Scandic Gdansk soon and I will be pleased to meet you in personally.

Best Regards,
Katarzyna Mazurek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.5 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
609 reviews
0.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#14 of 84 in Gdansk
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandic Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandic Gdansk

Property: Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Address: ul. Podwale Grodzkie 9, Gdansk 80-895, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Family Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scandic Gdansk 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic - hotel chain with almost 230 hotels in nine European countries; hotels for those, who make conscious choices, also while travelling. Our hotels are diverse, with individual style and character, having one in common: remarkable concern towards our guests to organize their perfect stay, business meeting or conference. Scandic Gdansk has 143 comfortable rooms with full air conditioning and the following equipment: free wired and wireless internet access, mini-bar, cable TV, safe and ironing set. Our restaurant, Senso Restaurant & Bar, is a perfect place for meetings with friends and acquaintances. We have a mediterranean cuisine with a wide range of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scandic Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gdansk Hotel Gdansk
Holiday Inn Gdansk
Scandic Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing