We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Flawless service”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

No complaints at all. Friendly and competent reception, pretty posh, very clean and quiet rooms and great location at the edge of the old town near the railway station. Small shopping center just across the street. We didn't eat breakfast or use the hotel restaurant or other services so I cannot comment on those. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    520
    93
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
420
101
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Accompanied my husband who is on a business trip. Hotel has all the amenities. Very quiet, clean room with a great view of the historical city. Fabulous breakfast buffet--Best I've ever seen (with real Vermont maple syrup!). Very close to the train station and about a 15-minute walk to old Gdansk. Had to eat at the restaurant one night and yet, it is a bit pricy but the food was good. The only complaint I have is that the air-conditioning controls don't seem to do anything, The temperature is a cool, but a bit on the warm side. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stayed in this hotel a couple of times during my business trips to Gdansk. The hotel is one of the tallest buildings in Gdansk and the view for Old Town after dark is really amazing (necessarily ask for a room with windows Old Town oriented).

I do not recommend hotel's restaurant - for this price you may eat much better in many restaurants in Gdansk downtown.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in August 2011. The hotel is very nice, it looks elegant from the outside, and inside it is very modern, clean and stylish. Reception staff is very nice, smiling and helpful workers there. The rooms and the hotel corridors feel very modern and new and with nice design. The hotel is very close to the city center but it is quite calm around the hotel so it is not noisy at all, it is very nice and calm so you can get a nice sleep during the night. Hotel breakfast very nice aswell, lots of food, much space, many tables, nice and clean dining area. I can highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedishtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel while on a visit to Gdansk. Its a lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk. It has a computer for guests free of charge. We didnt eat at the hotel but opted to have breakfast and dinner at the many restaurants nearby. The hotel is very conveniently located for sightseeing and shopping. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the river, where there are many lovely restaurants and bars. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are cleaned daily, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel as well as bottled drinking water is supplied. Railway station only about 5 minutes walk away. The bus to the airport stops outside the door.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We booked a suite for 2 nights as we visited Gdansk for a relaxed weekend trip.

Everything from arrival to the departure went as expected. For a Mercure branded hotel, this is a bit different, but not in any way in a negative manner. Our past experience is from the three star tourist hotel level Mercures, and we've learned the 4 stars Accor hotels should be called either Novotel or Sofitel. The service was friendly and attentive, the check-out was prolonged by a couple of hours according to our request without any problems or extra charge asked for. I assume our room was not booked immediately after we left on Sunday, and there was no good reason to deny our request. This left us very happy for the service, as we could keep our room until heading back to the airport.

All in all, the hotel turned out to be exactly as described and the suite in 14th floor was OK. The refurbished and modern room was decorated with mostly dark colors. All in all the room was comfortable and functional. Unfortunately we had windows facing to the opposite side from the old town. The windows of this wholly refurbished building maybe from the 60s or 70s are a bit small, so the broad and airy views from the rooms in upper floors are not that well present. The bathroom and a separate toilet were well equipped and the whole apartment was very clean. The bed was good also.

The only thing I missed a lot was free WiFi internet, as I only had a tablet PC with me, and the free internet connection was cabled only. There was a WiFi hotspot available, but in order to access it, I would have had to purchase some kind of a value card from Orange. Too complicated and without a reason as hotspot devices would cost maybe 30 euros each.

The hotel's restaurant and bar seemed pricey and we had no reason to try them, as we had with us a list of recommended restaurants in the old town, and too little time to explore many of them. There was a wine selection available as room service, with prices somewhere from outer space compared to the quality they represented.

The hotel is rather big, with 17 floors, but despite that the capacity of the elevators (I think there were 5) and the efficiency of the breakfast service was adequate.

The breakfast is a bit expensive and pretty much meets my past experience from 3-star Mercures. Nothing fancy though, and I do not think it as a whole totally conforms with a 4-star qualification. E.g. the yogurts should be served as cold, not room temperature.

The location on the edge of the Old Town and close to public transportation facilities including airport city terminal is OK. A shopping mall called Madison with lots of shops is just on the opposite side of the street. It is just some 5-10 minutes walk to the bank of Motlawa in the Old Town. Taxis were always available at the hotel.

All in all, I can recommend this hotel as a good and reliable hotel for anyone visiting Gdansk for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinlandTimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
238 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A classical Mercure hotel with all accordingly expected amenities. Very friendly staff and very good location. Select a room with view on the city on one of the upper floors

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 84 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Property: Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your stay in the tallest hotel in Gdansk Mercure Gdańsk Old Town is located near Madison Mall with over 100 shops, 10 minutes walk from the largest brick building in Europe - St. Mary's Church and 10 minutes from the historical Gdańsk Shipyard area. You can get from Gdańsk Główny railway station our lobby in 5 minutes. Nearby there are also symbols of Gdansk - Long Street, Neptune, the Artus Court or the famous Crane. Museum of the Second World War, the European Solidarity Center and Maritime Museum are also within walking distance. This is the highest hotel building in Gdansk. It has 281 comfortable rooms with breathtaking views, the new widescreen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Winestone - hotel's restaurant - offers a variety of European cuisine served in a unique way - on black stone slabs - and a wide selection of fine wines from all over the world - including Poland. You can taste them in our restaurant and buy in our wine store for later or as a souvenir. A buffet breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30, and on weekends from 6:30 to 11:00. Meals can also be ordered to your room. The hotel has 10 air-conditioned and modernly fitted conference rooms with sizes from 19 to 198 square meters. You will find our well-equipped fitness center on the first floor. Also enjoy the Balinese massage (upon reservation). The hotel car park can accommodate 40 cars. The distance from the airport is 15 km, and the hotel can arrange for transportation there and back by bus (paid service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing