We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #14 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Mercure hotel in Gdansk is a nice place to stay. The hotel is situated just a little bit outside the direct centre of the city. Approx. 5 minutes walk to the main street and 10 minutes to the riverside. Hotelstaff is nice and adequate although they forgot to wake us up on the day of departure. Luckily we had set oure own alarmclock so we were on time for the airplane.
The room we had was really comfortable with a nice bathroom with a(rain)shower. The only thing less nice were the thin pillows which gave almost no support to the head and the annoying red tv light. The second day we asked for other pillows and the problem was solved. We covered the tele with a t-shirt because we could not turn the little red light off.
The hotel is very near the Solidarinosc memoriam. A little bit further is the impressive Gdansk shipyard. Not on the local tourist map but a graet site to see and to take pictures from.
The trainstation is a 5 minutes walk and the train takes you in 35 minutes (8 stops) to Sopot. A little further on the rail lies Gdynia. Don't forget to stamp your ticket before you enter the train otherwise the ride will be a expensive one. Sopot is good for a walk on the beach or the wooden pier. At the end of the pier is a great place where you can catch some sun like we did on the beautifull day visited Sopot. On the way back you can go to the areas biggest shopping mall called Galleria Baltica. Just a shopping mall nothing special.
That same night we ate at Peblo a Mexican restaurant 5 minutes from the hotel. Nice vibe en wat can go wrong with a burrito? Not much! The other day we ate expensive but tasty sushi at Domo sushi at the waterfront. Overall a nice stay in Gdansk but after 3 nights more than happy to go back to Damska.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Kick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

It was not my first time in this chain and I like it. You have a guarantee that almost everything will be fine. So you will not be provided with any bad feelings. Good service, standard rooms and really good location. I would love to have food with a little better quality.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank michalm401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It looks terrible from the outside, really quite awful. But once inside it's been completely modernised. We had a twin room which was maybe a little small but clean, comfortable and newly re-furbished. Didn't spend a lot of time in the place but all the staff we polite and couldn't be more helpful. The shuttle bus was on time both picking up from the airport and taking us back, plus it was good value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theblackjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We have recently travelled to Gdansk for a couple of nights as a Couple. I contacted the hotel before arrival to enquire about transport from Airport and found the Reception staff to be very helpful. I was advised that there is an Airport Shuttle that stops directly outside the Mercure Hotel and runs to and from the Airport. The cost for this was 9,90 Polish Ziloty per person. You can get the Bus 210 from the airport for just 3,40 ziloty per person. This is then a 5 min walk to the Hotel and is easy to get to as the Hotel is one of the highest buildings in Gdansk and you can see the sign.(So cant get lost) The Hotel provided us with Coffee and Tea making facilities, although we had to ask for more of both these as only one of each although abut 10 sugar satchets?? The Hotel were very obiliging though and more were happily provided. You also receive a complimentary bottle of water on arrival. The beds were large and comfortable, although only 1 small thin pillow provided, again asked for more and again these were provided. The bathroom was small but housed a great shower.We ate in the Hotel Restaurant on the first night as too cold to venture out. The soup was lovely , hot and came with 2 small bread rolls each. Unfortunately the main did not live up to the same standard and was served tepid and meat was quite rubbery on both our meals. Breakfast was good and you had access to cereals, toast, cold meats, cheese, pastries,yoghurts. There was also some cooked items but again these were cold. The hotel was positioned near Madison which is like an indoor shopping centre and a short walk to the old town.Overall a Good Clean Hotel and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are still available to book
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Krakow, Poland
1
Reviewed 6 February 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here in December for a birthday weekend. A big plus for this hotel is that the airport shuttle bus starts and finishes outside this hotel, The public areas of the hotel are very sleek and modern, as are the rooms. Only criticism of the rooms is that the rooms are quite small. Breakfast was fine, with a good selection of hot and cold dishes.

Location is good for shopping, train station and is about 7-8 minutes walk from the main street.

Would recommend and would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 43Becko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed for a few days in Gdansk and found the hotel to be perfectly adaquate for our stay. The views of historic Gdansk from the hotel made it well worth the price we paid which was very good for a 4 star hotel in central Gdansk. Only a very short walk from the hotel are shopping areas and the old town itself. If we return to Gdansk we will book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Definitely the higher the hotel room the better the view. Get a room facing the old town for a very...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewpotLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 85 in Gdansk
1,593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 85 in Gdansk
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 85 in Gdansk
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your stay in the tallest hotel in Gdansk Mercure Gdańsk Old Town is located near Madison Mall with over 100 shops, 10 minutes walk from the largest brick building in Europe - St. Mary's Church and 10 minutes from the historical Gdańsk Shipyard area. You can get from Gdańsk Główny railway station our lobby in 5 minutes. Nearby there are also symbols of Gdansk - Long Street, Neptune, the Artus Court or the famous Crane. Museum of the Second World War, the European Solidarity Center and Maritime Museum are also within walking distance. This is the highest hotel building in Gdansk. It has 281 comfortable rooms with breathtaking views, the new widescreen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Winestone - hotel's restaurant - offers a variety of European cuisine served in a unique way - on black stone slabs - and a wide selection of fine wines from all over the world - including Poland. You can taste them in our restaurant and buy in our wine store for later or as a souvenir. A buffet breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30, and on weekends from 6:30 to 11:00. Meals can also be ordered to your room. The hotel has 10 air-conditioned and modernly fitted conference rooms with sizes from 19 to 198 square meters. You will find our well-equipped fitness center on the first floor. Also enjoy the Balinese massage (upon reservation). The hotel car park can accommodate 40 cars. The distance from the airport is 15 km, and the hotel can arrange for transportation there and back by bus (paid service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing