We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, service & price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, service & price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent - right next to a mall with supermarket, a block from the main train station and a very enjoyable 10 min from the old town main street. Despite all the above, it is located in a quiet and safe area. Most of the hotel customers seems to be either business travelers and tour groups from either germany or russia.
The room itself is quite small even in european standard. However, it is clean and has all the basic facilities. Bed is decent though slightly harder to my taste.
It has morning breakfast buffet, but unless it comes free with your room, you will have better value to take a 5 mins walk into town.
The bar area is chic and has a good selection of polish vodka; worth having a visit.
The reception desk is staffed with knowledgeable and friendly people. I want to say special thanks to Alexsandra whom has given me some good advice on transportation & attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    514
    92
    22
    10
See reviews for
82
414
100
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

In a good and quiet location for both town centre and railway station. Room kept very clean throughout our stay. Had to ask for extra pillows as ours were small and flat, but these were provided quickly. View good, although would have been better on a higher floor (we were on 5th). Excellent choice of food at buffet style breakfast, which we really looked forward to each morning. Catering staff efficient at replenishing food.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the town side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

So lets be frank, its not the best looking building in Gdansk and it isn't on the nicest street but I selected it because it was convenient for both the railway station as I was making trips to Gdynia and Malbork and for Gdansk's wonderful old town.

Upon arrival I found I was given a complimentary upgrade to a premium room on the 15th floor which the receptionist said had a great view over the city - and she was not wrong! It was breathtaking and I would recommend anybody who stays to ask for a room on the city side on a high floor.

I've stayed in a few Mercure hotels over the years and this was definitely one of the better ones, they can be a bit hit or miss. The room was clean and comfortable, was well decorated (if a little small) and had a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch.

I didn't use any of the hotels services or take breakfast here so I am unable to comment on these but I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank aligs81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sir
We thank you very much for sharing your experience regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. It is a pleasure to receive positive opinion.

As always I'll share your comments with our team. We find our guests’ feedbacks, as a precious source of information how to improve our offer and quality of services.

Thank you once more for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely
Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

It was just a flying visit to. Gdansk, normally I stay at the Radisson but I will now stay here. Very good value for money, a central location opposite the city centre airport terminal and a few minutes walk from the railway station. The room was clean with two nice size armchairs, just a shower in the bathroom but it was a shower roon and not a cubicle, so plenty of space with a choice of jetting options. The only down side is the quality of the pillows, but this is the same throughout all of the Mercure chain. All of the staff we came into contact with were very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laser8London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You very much for your comment regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. We are pleased with the positive opinion, but simultaneously we are very sorry for discomfort caused by the pillows.

Thank you once more for sharing your experiencefor and we are looking for welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Not my favourite hotel in Gdansk but 2nd when my 1st option not possible to stay.

Breakfast could be slightly better. Lot of variety and choice but last touch is missing.

Rooms nice and clean, bedrooms are as well decent.

Service is good the receptionists are polite and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jouni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank You very much for your comment regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto.
We are constantly working to improve our offer, including breakfast, so maybe one day we will become your favorite hotel in Gdansk
Thank you once more for sharing your experience and we are looking for welcoming you again.

Sincerely
Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I used the hotel for a one night stay over during a business trip. The staff was helpful and the room is clean and quite. The breakfast is ok with a good variety of food.
The hotel is in a great location to visit the old part of Gdansk by foot.
In general the price is very good for the value you receive.

Room Tip: The higher floors are more quite then the lower ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 809lukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. It is a pleasure to read positive opinion on our work.
We always share guests’ comments with our team, because feedbacks serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve our offer as well as the quality of our services.
Thank you again for your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Nice hotel in the middle of Gdansk - close to restuarants, bars & shopping - walking distance to the old town. Small, but clean rooms - great breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. We would like to come back next time we are visiting Gdansk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guests
Thank You for choosing Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto Hotel for your stay in Gdańsk. It is always pleasure to receive positive feedback on our work.
We always share guests’ comments with our team, because we are sure that feedbacks serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely

Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Property: Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your stay in the tallest hotel in Gdansk Mercure Gdańsk Old Town is located near Madison Mall with over 100 shops, 10 minutes walk from the largest brick building in Europe - St. Mary's Church and 10 minutes from the historical Gdańsk Shipyard area. You can get from Gdańsk Główny railway station our lobby in 5 minutes. Nearby there are also symbols of Gdansk - Long Street, Neptune, the Artus Court or the famous Crane. Museum of the Second World War, the European Solidarity Center and Maritime Museum are also within walking distance. This is the highest hotel building in Gdansk. It has 281 comfortable rooms with breathtaking views, the new widescreen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Winestone - hotel's restaurant - offers a variety of European cuisine served in a unique way - on black stone slabs - and a wide selection of fine wines from all over the world - including Poland. You can taste them in our restaurant and buy in our wine store for later or as a souvenir. A buffet breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30, and on weekends from 6:30 to 11:00. Meals can also be ordered to your room. The hotel has 10 air-conditioned and modernly fitted conference rooms with sizes from 19 to 198 square meters. You will find our well-equipped fitness center on the first floor. Also enjoy the Balinese massage (upon reservation). The hotel car park can accommodate 40 cars. The distance from the airport is 15 km, and the hotel can arrange for transportation there and back by bus (paid service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing