We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We chose it because Wizzair airline offered transfer to this hotel (we were choosing between 3 hotels), we were pretty happy with our stay. Stuff were friendly and helpful, room - tidy and had all facilities you need. Only one thing was lacking - there was no body lotion.
The location is good: few restaurants (for ex. Swojsky Smak) nearby, shopping center with all it's coffee shops (Cukiernia Sowa, Grycan) and a grocery store (we like to bring local food home). 10 min walk from the city center.
We were not having breakfast there as we heard its too expensive, you will find a breakfast place (not the cheap one though) nearby the hotel, or go to one of the Mleczny Bars, for ex. Turystyczny, which is anyway on the way to the down town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for being our guest. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. It is a pleasure to read positive opinion on our hotel.

We always share guests’ comments with our team, because we are sure that feedbacks serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    504
    91
    21
    10
See reviews for
77
407
99
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean , comfortable , modern , well priced hotel in a good location , I highly recommend this hotel. Free wifi and airport transfer 15 s per person but book your seat the day before !
Outdoor seating area and we chose the smaller breakfast option bought directly at the bar .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwissyLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your opinion regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. It is always a great pleasure to read such a positive feedback on our hotel.

As always, we will share your comments with our team. We are sure that feedbacks serve as an encouragement to all of our staff, as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molde, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have been on a team building trip in Gdansk and we chose this hotel because it was near to the old town and it was cheaper than the other ones in this area.
It was nothing special, suitable for a business trip, but I would not choose it for a family trip, because I did not like the place where it was located.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tesagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel on a bus trip to northern Poland. It was a modern high rise hotel and precisely what one would expect from the Mercure hotel chain - well fitted out rooms and common areas, full amenities, clean and good service. We ate breakfasts and buffet dinners in the hotel and the food was very good. Free wifi was fast and reliable in our room. The location was excellent - walking distance to all the attractions, and to the railway station (good as we left Gdansk by train). No complaints whatever.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureGdanskOldTown, Dyrektor generalny at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Gdańsk Stare Miasto. We are very glad to read, that you consider our hotel as excellent. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback on our work.

We always share guests’ comments with our team, because we are sure that feedbacks serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Sylwia Gadomska
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Efficient and friendly staff. Room excellently equipped. Bathroom modern clean and very sleek. Overall this is a great place to spend a few nights while on a city break. Good in every way, but not outstanding. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_visitor8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

A clean and comfortable hotel and a great base to explore Gdańsk. Could do with some milk with the tea and coffee making facilities. Near to station and old town, therefore easy to use public transport without the need for a taxi.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location of the hotel is excellent - right next to a mall with supermarket, a block from the main train station and a very enjoyable 10 min from the old town main street. Despite all the above, it is located in a quiet and safe area. Most of the hotel customers seems to be either business travelers and tour groups from either germany or russia.
The room itself is quite small even in european standard. However, it is clean and has all the basic facilities. Bed is decent though slightly harder to my taste.
It has morning breakfast buffet, but unless it comes free with your room, you will have better value to take a 5 mins walk into town.
The bar area is chic and has a good selection of polish vodka; worth having a visit.
The reception desk is staffed with knowledgeable and friendly people. I want to say special thanks to Alexsandra whom has given me some good advice on transportation & attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#16 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Property: Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Gdansk Old Town is the first choice of international travellers. The hotel pampers guests right in the centre of the city on the perimeter of the historic centre, just 500 m from the railway station and 15 km from Gdansk Airport. Guests enjoy charming views of the Old Town and the historic Gdansk shipyard. An ideal base for sightseeing, shopping and business, the hotel offers 281 comfortably furnished rooms including luxurious suites, privilege rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing