We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but remote location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Gdansk Marina
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Novotel standard modern room. Friendly and helpful staff. Well stocked breakfast with a nice coffee machine to make your cappuccino or other breakfast drink of your choice. Fresh fruits, hot and cold options which is always a plus. Location was kind of off the beaten path but I had a nice view from my room. Cabs are inexpensive enough so getting to downtown is not a problem. Great Indian Restaurant about 5 km from the hotel called Tandoori Love.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

First of all, I'm rating due to the very good price I had. The hotel is definitely 3 star. The location is very good, just off the beach. The room I had was overlooking the Ostsee, which was really great. The hotel was not very busy and I arrived very early, but it was no problem to get to the room already at 1.30pm with very friendly reception stuff. The room was spacious, very well equipped and clean. Only the bed was very soft. Wifi is for free and the speed was quite good, although they are offering higher speeds, I would not recommend to spend the extra charge.

The hotel is located just at the Gdansk city border, which means you need transportation to both cities, Gdansk and Sopot. You can also walk to Sopot on the pedestrian walk directly behind the hotel or across the beach. Its about a 30min walk to Sopot, Gdansk is farer away, you definitely need a taxi. I can dinner and breakfats in the restaurant. The stuff is very friendly. The temperature could have been a bit higher too in the restaurant. The food was very basic, my impression was, it was pre-cooked. It was ok but just average. The breakfast was served as buffet, including coffee. The selection was ok, the quality was also ok. I had no problems with checking out, fast and all the changes I required on the bill were done quickly and without any problems.

The fact, that the hotel is going through some renovations, is not a downside. Although it can be very loud and noisy, this is done until 3pm and during a low frequented time of the year. So its good organised and this gave me a good chance to talk a walk to Sopot. I didn't use the gym and spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea, if you like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always_0n_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I have stayed there for 3 days (2 nights). I have paid 480 PLN ( roughly £100 depending on exchange rate), no breakfast or meals included. Breakfast was 45 PLN per person (£10) and the dinner prices vary between £10- £30. The Hotel is very clean and the hotel staff is amazing. We have arrived 3 hours before our check in time and we were given the room straight away...The location is great, 2 min walk to the beach. The Hotel facilities like gym and swimming pool are in great condition. I would definitely recommend this Hotel. On the downside, the nearest shop (mini-supermarket) is 20 min walk away....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 83KittyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was an 'OK' experience.The hotel is situated virtually on the beach,which is a bonus.
Personally it's a tired,dated property that needs updating.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly which made the experience better.
I don't think that I'd choose this hotel from personal choice.
I can't find anything to really criticise but neither can I praise it.
Televisions in the rooms are very dated and the bathrooms need modernising but it's all perfectly functional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gazza87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maxxiiss
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JoannaGWarsaw_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Well, it's a chain hotel with a story to tell. Located by the sea, it's been undergoing makeover for the last several years. Well, except the stuff. They still have mentality as if you were watching a Polish movie from the 70's or 80's. The customer is definitely not king. The front desk tries stuff gives away wrong rooms and tries to be funnier than Eddie Murphy. Well, wrong combination when some traveled hours on Polish roads.

The hotel is located 20 minutes away on foot from the main spot in Sopot. You can always take a taxi and be there in 5.

Ok, now the main con, no AC in the rooms... or just maybe not in mine. There is a fridge, a kettle and a TV set. No fancy. It is clean as in a chain hotel should be.

If you go there in the summer, it is mostly occupied by families on holiday. Keep it in mine when you want to eat breakfast. You will probably find a table but the atmosphere reminds a school yard during the lunch break. Breakfast is good but not exceptional. I used the restaurant the previous time I stayed there three years ago and since then I prefer to go somewhere outside. Maybe food quality is the same but it is definitely cheaper.

If you are full after eating in one of the many fast food places, you can hit the gym or the swimming pool. The gym is ok but the swimming pool is rather small and outdated. It is strange because when I was there several years ago it was being renewed.

Came by car? There is a tiny parking lot in front of the hotel and one bigger across the street. They say there is a paid storage room for bikes. Well, would it be hard to make it inside the hotel? If you pay for both the car and bikes, you may as well spend small fortune.

I can recommend this hotel if there is at most 20C outside and you were born at most in the 80s in one of the communist countries. You may feel nostalgic or at least not bothered by some things listed above.

Room Tip: Avoid the highest floors. They have not been renewed yet (as of 2013)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IKaeRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Posejdon
Mercure Gdansk Posejdon
#22 of 85 in Gdansk
307 reviews
6.3 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 85 in Gdansk
813 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 85 in Gdansk
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#24 of 85 in Gdansk
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Prawdzic Resort & Conference
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Gdansk Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gdansk Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gdansk Marina

Address: Jelitkowska 20, Gdansk 80-342, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gdansk
#13 Family Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £35 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gdansk Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax by the sea Walk just 100 meters from the Hotel and you will feel sand of the beach under your feet. The Novotel Gdansk Marina is located directly at the seafront promenade, which stretches from Gdansk to Gdynia - a picturesque and enchanted trail at any time of the year - ideal for walkers, runners, cyclists and rollerskaters. A 10-minute walk from the hotel takes you to the concerts and events taking place at Ergo Arena, less than 3 km from the popular Sopot pier. The historic Old Town of Gdansk is 10 km away and can be reached by public transport. The hotel building is surrounded by a vast green area. You can play tennis there, and kids will enjoy spending time in a well-equipped playground. Hungry? Thirsty? Right next to the playground you will find a bar serving drinks and snacks - all within easy reach. In another part of the green area there is a space for bonfires - just perfect for the evening sausages. After a long day at the beach, parents can relax in the sauna and children enjoy a playroom or video game or table football. The NOVO SQUARE Lounge Bar with a special children's menu is a great place to have a meal, a snack or a drink. Families can also enjoy free use of the indoor pool and fitness center. The hotel has free Wi-Fi, and cable TV - if you need entertainment in your room. Gdansk Lech Walesa airport is 15 km away, Gdansk Oliwa Railway Station is 4 km away, and the city center and Gdansk Głowny Railway Station are 11 km from the Novotel Gdansk Marina. There is a large fenced car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gdansk Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gdansk Marina Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Marina
Gdansk Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing