We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Perfect for visiting Old Town”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is well situated on the river so if your room has a river view you can have a front row seat to watch the river traffic. Gdansk has done an excellent job of developing the riverfront. There is a promenade along the river about 1km in length with cafes, restaurants and shops along the way. Only the Hanza hotel and the Hilton are on the promenade with the Hanza being the closet to the center of the old town, perhaps a 200 meter walk.
Our room (number 106) was spacious with a large and modern bathroom for our 3 night stay. Breakfast selection is good and staff very helpful answering questions and solving problems.
A definite stay again hotel when we return to Gdansk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Hanza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 286 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very friendly hotel with parking facilities in the front of the hotel. Hotel has different rooms with a modern layout. The location is in the middle of town at the riverside. Good beds and the breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: We have stay now at the town site, last time on the riverside (no window view)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in Hotel Hanza. Our room was impeccably clean and spacious; the restaurant is exquisite. Breakfast was a feast, even for people who like to go easy on carbs, with a range of fruit and salads alongside the usual breakfast offerings. Fleece blankets were provided for the slightly chilly evenings out on the terrace, which is a custom I would welcome back home in Amsterdam. Complimentary mineral water, tea, coffee and biscuits were present in our room. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had too few coat hangers and more appeared straight away.

Hotel Hanza is slam bang in the middle of the old town so everything is walking distance: an ideal starting point to discover this beautiful city. Our room had a view over the water and the quay with its many restaurants. We particularly liked the classical and the jazz musicians who performed there.

The hotel's excellent central location is a drawback at the same time, because the party-goers and music were audible from the room. Admittedly we had the window open at night!

Room Tip: For a view, choose the water side; for peace and quiet, choose a room at the street side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JHurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hanza in May, in a large, very comfortable, 4th floor room overlooking the houses and plaza. We really enjoyed our stay. it was a good location from which to tour Gdansk. Staff were helpful and professional. Breakfasts were very good, with staff working hard to keep the buffet tables well stocked. A few negative notes:

- We had one dinner at the restaurant -- the worst meal during our Gdansk visit. And pricey. We left most of it, uneaten. I will say that the wait staff were very responsive.
- I used the spa facility for a facial and a pedicure. The facial was pretty unremarkable -- basically applying various lotions, and then the application of a mask, and leaving me alone for 20 minutes. Estheticians I have used in the past would at least use this time to provide a shoulder and neck massage. My pedicure was with another technician. The spa was not set up with a pedicure chair. I was asked to lie down on the massage table, and then soak my feet in a bucket at the foot of the table. It was a very awkward position, as was trying to sit up a bit so that the pedicurist was able to work. I think in the end the technician did as a good a job as she could, but the set up made for a very unsatisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have just returned from a four day trip to Gdansk and we stayed at the Hotel Hanza. The hotel is beautifully situated on the Motlawa Canal and within easy walking dstance of Gdansk's Old Town, it was an ideal location. The hotel is excellent with attractive public areas, We were fortunate to have great weather and enjoying a refreshing drink on the outside terrace in idyllic surroundings was very pleasant. We were part of a large group and we arranged for the whole party to eat in the hotel restaurant one night. We had a superb meal, greatly enhanced by the wonderful and attentive service provided by the restaurant staff. I would have no hesitation in recommending Hotel Hanza as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CUFC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We took a group of 28 people to the Hotel Hanza in June 2013 and I can't speak too highly of the service we received. The hotel is located on the riverside next to the medieval crane and all the sights, restaurants and bars of the old town are a few minutes walk. The terrace bar overlooks the river and prices of drinks are reasonable.The restaurant food is excellent and again reasonably priced. Hotel and restaurant staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast buffet was extensive and included a lot of interesting alternatives (herring, greek salad, fish canapes) as well as the usual. We didnt try the spa but was told by other guests that it was very good. The rooms are a good size with a very good shower and bath. Ours had an excellent view. Complimentary water and a kettle were provided. The room was spotlessly clean. Gdansk was a great place to visit for a weekend and Hotel Hanza is a great base for that visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 2nd, 3rd or 4th floor overlooking the river for a great view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location, very helpful staff. What more is there to say? Gdansk is the home free Poland. it has the shipyards that started Solidarity Movement with the Polish trade unions. Just a pleasant and interesting place to visit. Tourist area is just to the left of the hotel and interesting Polish spots are to the right. 15 minute walk to railway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side of hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 85 in Gdansk
1,593 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#11 of 85 in Gdansk
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 85 in Gdansk
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: ul. Tokarska 6, Gdansk 80-888, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £56 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanza Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town, on the historic passage of the Motława River, in the proximity of the Famous Gdańsk Crane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanza Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing