We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in old town”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Modern hotel on the riverfront in the old town. Clean and modern public areas and rooms. Large, comfortable rooms and bathrooms with good beds. The only negative was the roll-away bed for our son, which was hard as a park bench. The staff were very accommodating and gave us extra comforters and pillows which we used as a mattress pad to make the bed more comfortable. Great included breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Hanza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 283 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Nice room, excellent service in the hotel restaurant. Big pluss: complemtery water bottles , sparkling and still, free wifi,
Spa had good treatments, however there could be a bit more information about the treatments. the staff in the spa was very service minded. A good experience. The location of the hotel was perfect , at the riverside, close to old town .
Absolutely great food and service in the restaurant, i am surprised there were free tables her. If you don't sstay at this hotel, make sure you have dinner here at least once .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pimsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel july 2013.
We, to friends, shared a room at the 4th floor w. Lovely big room, clean, modern, with aircondition good beds and a nice bathroom.
Big pluss: complementary waterbottels both stll/Sparkling. Free Wifi.
Wonderful service from the staff.
Wonderful spa, we had severeal treatments which were superb.
The location was perfect, at the riverside, close to the old village. Very quiet area.
Excellent resaurant which also served breakfast. The breakfast had the usual hot/Cold dished pluss a lot of other exciting alternatives, wonderfull food. We had dinner/lunch at the restaurant Three times. Absolutely lovely food - gourmet at a very reasonable price. Service at the restaurant - absolutely fantastic.
We had an absolutely lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILRogne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The hotel is well situated on the river so if your room has a river view you can have a front row seat to watch the river traffic. Gdansk has done an excellent job of developing the riverfront. There is a promenade along the river about 1km in length with cafes, restaurants and shops along the way. Only the Hanza hotel and the Hilton are on the promenade with the Hanza being the closet to the center of the old town, perhaps a 200 meter walk.
Our room (number 106) was spacious with a large and modern bathroom for our 3 night stay. Breakfast selection is good and staff very helpful answering questions and solving problems.
A definite stay again hotel when we return to Gdansk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Very friendly hotel with parking facilities in the front of the hotel. Hotel has different rooms with a modern layout. The location is in the middle of town at the riverside. Good beds and the breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: We have stay now at the town site, last time on the riverside (no window view)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in Hotel Hanza. Our room was impeccably clean and spacious; the restaurant is exquisite. Breakfast was a feast, even for people who like to go easy on carbs, with a range of fruit and salads alongside the usual breakfast offerings. Fleece blankets were provided for the slightly chilly evenings out on the terrace, which is a custom I would welcome back home in Amsterdam. Complimentary mineral water, tea, coffee and biscuits were present in our room. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had too few coat hangers and more appeared straight away.

Hotel Hanza is slam bang in the middle of the old town so everything is walking distance: an ideal starting point to discover this beautiful city. Our room had a view over the water and the quay with its many restaurants. We particularly liked the classical and the jazz musicians who performed there.

The hotel's excellent central location is a drawback at the same time, because the party-goers and music were audible from the room. Admittedly we had the window open at night!

Room Tip: For a view, choose the water side; for peace and quiet, choose a room at the street side.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JHurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Hanza in May, in a large, very comfortable, 4th floor room overlooking the houses and plaza. We really enjoyed our stay. it was a good location from which to tour Gdansk. Staff were helpful and professional. Breakfasts were very good, with staff working hard to keep the buffet tables well stocked. A few negative notes:

- We had one dinner at the restaurant -- the worst meal during our Gdansk visit. And pricey. We left most of it, uneaten. I will say that the wait staff were very responsive.
- I used the spa facility for a facial and a pedicure. The facial was pretty unremarkable -- basically applying various lotions, and then the application of a mask, and leaving me alone for 20 minutes. Estheticians I have used in the past would at least use this time to provide a shoulder and neck massage. My pedicure was with another technician. The spa was not set up with a pedicure chair. I was asked to lie down on the massage table, and then soak my feet in a bucket at the foot of the table. It was a very awkward position, as was trying to sit up a bit so that the pedicurist was able to work. I think in the end the technician did as a good a job as she could, but the set up made for a very unsatisfactory experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 85 in Gdansk
1,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#11 of 85 in Gdansk
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.4 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 85 in Gdansk
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: ul. Tokarska 6, Gdansk 80-888, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £55 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanza Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town, on the historic passage of the Motława River, in the proximity of the Famous Gdańsk Crane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanza Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing