We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Chose this over the Hilton due to trip advisor reviews and didn't regret it.We were on the 3rd floor in a very comfortable room with great views over the river.Breakfast caters for all tastes,help yourself to what you wanted,hot or cold .Location couldn't be better,straight out of the hotel and you are in the main streets of the old town in minutes. I lost my camera on the way back to the airport,even though we caught a taxi on the street near the Hilton,I emailed the Hanza with the taxi receipt and asked if they could help find an email address so I could ask if the camera had been found in the taxi.
They did more than that,they found the taxi driver,got my camera and posted it on to me,thought my chances of getting it back were zero.Brilliant service and a big thank you to Monika on the front desk.Have already recommended this Hotel, will be returning to Gdansk,which is beautiful,next year and will definitely be staying at the Hanza.

Room Tip: 307 for great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    187
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
72
275
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed for a week for business. Great location - close to restaurants, tourist activity, and local history. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very filling. The shower was a little odd and I kept getting water all over the place - but no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtraveler0389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for the weekend. The check in went smooth, and the receptionist that day was nice. We even got a coupon for free desserts at the hotel restaurant -Kokietera, and we did eat at the restaurant as we arrived at the hotel at 22:10. The food was really good – but that’s another review!

The receptionist the day after seemed a little impatient and irritated. Me and my friend had a couple of questions for the receptionist about different things. And every time the receptionist replied us before we were able to finish our question – and of course she didn’t always gave us the «correct» answer... Doh! She should learn to listen to the customers first, then reply.

The rooms we got was big. The bed was comfortable. We had a room facing the river. There were free bottles of water included in the room. Downside: you can hear every bit of the sounds and noises from the hallway and from outside the building! It impossible to sleep unless you wear ear plugs - and luckily we both had ear plugs!

The breakfast was good. Continental breakfast and warm food like sausages, toast, egg and bacon. The coffe tasted funky though...

We also tried out the SPA at the hotel. I had manicure and Hanza Signature massage. I wasn’t all too satiesfied with either considering the price we paid. It is probably twice the price than other places. I was going to have massage right after the manicure, and they didnt’t have a «machine» that helped to dry my nailpolish. So by having a massasge right after ruined a little of my nailpolish. And the massage...it wasn’t that the masseuse did a bad job or anything. It’s just that I didn’t really feel like I had a massage. It could be that I like to be massaged harder so it loosens up the knots in my body, in which this massasge did NOT do... So If you’re only looking for realxing massage this is the place for you, but not if you want to loosen up the knots in your body.

Me and my friend loved Gdansk and would definitely visit this city again. And we would consider to stay at this hotel again, but would definitely look for other options too. But I will not use their SPA.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MY30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Excellent customer service - above and beyond in help with bookings, and helpful recommendations for dinner. Location central close to everything, great views over the river. Room comfortable with tea making facilities and quiet. Loved it. In nine weeks of travel and some pretty good hotels this would be my number one pick.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the river - great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Excellent room, super breakfast, uniformly polite and friendly staff able to cope smoothly with my lack of Polish, delicious and reasonably-priced food in the restaurant - all in an ideal location! Having only seen a fraction of what Gdansk has to offer, I hope to return - and the Hanza Hotel will certainly be my choice once more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Artnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is a must when visiting Gdansk, situated on the water front and in the centre of the old town, the location is amazing. The staff are very helpful and professional and there is parking outside the hotel, this was very helpful considering we drove in during the St Dominique Festival. The breakfast caters for every possible taste. We were spoilt with the room, overlooking the water, a huge room with good facilities. The carpets were not just vacuumed but steamed cleaned. An wonderful experience and would highly recommend Hanza, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oncearef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alesund, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We wanted to see the old town in Gdansk. This hotel had the perfect location. Old buildings just outside the door. A short walk to Maria church. In our 3 night stay we had dinner at the hotel twise. Really good food and professional service. I would love to go back there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Randi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#8 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Property: Hanza Hotel
Address: ul. Tokarska 6, Gdansk 80-888, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanza Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town, on the historic passage of the Motława River, in the proximity of the Famous Gdańsk Crane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanza Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing