We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A romantic break”
Review of Hanza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hanza Hotel
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great hotel in a brilliant location. Efficient friendly and helpful staff. One the best breakfasts I have had in awhile with excellent choice of hot and cold meats, cheese eggs and other tasty nibbles including several fish dishes as well as the usual breads and cereals as well as fruits. Good choice of tea and coffee. We did not eat here on a evening but it would seem to be a good choice if we were to stay in the town again.
The room was large and looked out on the river and was very near the crane. The house keeping staff was very good when I asked for a needle and thread they wanted to repair the button themselves. Clean sheet every day and very clean (although they did appear to be bleach stains on some of the carpets.
This hotel does its own small newspaper so clients who are missing access to this (although you don’t need to due to the TV channel choice). But it was a nice touch.
There is a spa with good service a massage is around £24 don’t be fooled by the youth of the girls they can be quite punishing infact my husband wondered if his had been replaced but a dock worker with a grudge against driving instructors!
I would recommend this to others as a romantic option in the town.
There is a little noise from the road below but this reflects the central location and can be minimised by shutting the windows.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 673 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hanza Hotel is in the best part of Gdansk - perfect location for tourists. We had a room with waterfront amazing view on the 4th floor. The room was very big, the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was huge but not well arrange. We are very tall, and our bathtub was place in the corner under the roof and taking a shower was a little gymnastic. I could not get strait. Pitty, because there was so much space in this bathroom. It is possible to rearrange it and keep it accessible for disables/ wheelchair.
The hotel was very clean, but he carpets were worn out, as well the furniture. On arrival I had to ask to replace 4 bulbs (!) which were broken. On the walls were photo wallpapers with pictures of Gdansk. The same picture as in neer Bar Mleczny "Turystyczny". There looked brand new. Once we went to sauna. You have to make appointment, as the premises is only for you. It could be optional, but it is not and you are limited in time. It is nice, but in my opinion everything is just too big, lots of wasted space, some brand-new things and added, but not to replace things which are already scratch, worn-out, dirty, damage. That is a very expensive hotel, and I hope it will be redecorated soon, because it is too expensive for what it is now.

Room Tip: - waterfront is amazing. - if you are tall check the shower/bathtub arrangement in you bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xandrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Clean and inviting hotel with helpful staff. Lokation perfect with walkingdistans to many interesting sights. The breakfast was very good and the spa had several nice treatments to offer. I will defenitly recomend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornelius30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in one of the junior suites for a week. The service was nice and prompt, front desk staff were very helpful, if a little stressed out on New Year's Eve finishing all the accounts. My only two minor niggles would be that the room was very warm even without the heating on (others might see this as an advantage!) and that the bed was a bit too soft for me (again, others might disagree). Certainly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank larsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The Hanza Hotel has one of the best locations in Gdansk. The hotel is along the riverwalk and faces the river. The actual entrance to the hotel is the street behind.
Check-in was smooth and the front desk staff was very professional. My room faced the river with great large windows. The room itself was big - think American style hotel rooms - much larger than what I normally encounter while traveling in Europe. Large, comfy bed with nice linens. Plenty of room for your clothes and luggage. The rooms have an electric kettle, tea bags, instant coffee and complimentary sparkling and still water that is replenished daily.
Bathroom was good size with nice fluffy towels, plenty of hot water and water pressure.
Housekeeping staff was excellent. I would put the sign on the door for housekeeping service and by the time I finished breakfast, my room was cleaned.
Free Internet (yeah!) and had a good connection in my room. All rooms are non-smoking (yeah!) per requests of previous people who stayed in the hotel. There was a sign in my room that if there was smoking, an additional charge/fine of 299 zlotys (about $100 USD) would be charged because the room couldn't be rented for a day in order to air it out. Thank you Hanza management for making the hotel non-smoking.
You do hear a little bit more noise with a room facing the river from people walking along the riverwalk, but the view was definitely worth it.
Breakfast was incredible - plenty of meat, fish, cheeses, breads, hot items and good deal of fresh fruit - there is so much to eat. No cappuccino maker but the coffee was good and strong.
I ate in the hotel's restaurant twice for dinner - good prices and excellent food.
Gdansk is such a lovely city. Even though I saw photos of the city on the web, it isn't till you actually see the city in person that you realize just how marvelous it is.
I would definitely stay at the Hanza Hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Visited Gdansk, Poland for the first time & stayed @ the Hotel Hanza, superbly situated on the waterfront of the Motlawa River directly facing the steam ship `Soldek` (now part of the maritime museum). Our friends were put in room 202, a lovely light airy room with full length of the wall window, my wife & I were put in room 404, top floor in the apex of the roof. Both rooms had stunning views across the river, the only down side of room 404 was the fact due to the high angled ceilings there was no vanity mirror for my wife & I struggled a bit with the shower, being 193cm in height.
Tea & coffee making facilities were in both rooms and were replenished every day. All staff were pleasant & helpful with the exception of one or two members of the bar staff who if they had made a mistake tried to make out it was the customers fault.
Breakfast was hearty & plentiful with an array of fish meats, salads, fruit, breads, pastries, hot polish sausage, bacon and eggs, teas, coffee, fruit juice.
Apart from the blip with the bar staff would highly recommend & would stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 404 no vanity mirror, if tall will struggle with the shower due the angle of the wall to ceilin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Chose this over the Hilton due to trip advisor reviews and didn't regret it.We were on the 3rd floor in a very comfortable room with great views over the river.Breakfast caters for all tastes,help yourself to what you wanted,hot or cold .Location couldn't be better,straight out of the hotel and you are in the main streets of the old town in minutes. I lost my camera on the way back to the airport,even though we caught a taxi on the street near the Hilton,I emailed the Hanza with the taxi receipt and asked if they could help find an email address so I could ask if the camera had been found in the taxi.
They did more than that,they found the taxi driver,got my camera and posted it on to me,thought my chances of getting it back were zero.Brilliant service and a big thank you to Monika on the front desk.Have already recommended this Hotel, will be returning to Gdansk,which is beautiful,next year and will definitely be staying at the Hanza.

Room Tip: 307 for great river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazza21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 85 in Gdansk
1,667 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.4 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#10 of 85 in Gdansk
543 reviews
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanza Hotel

Address: ul. Tokarska 6, Gdansk 80-888, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £52 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanza Hotel is located in the centre of the Old Town, on the historic passage of the Motława River, in the proximity of the Famous Gdańsk Crane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hanza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanza Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing