We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dwor Oliwski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dwor Oliwski Hotel
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownabbey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

We stayed here from November 24th until the 27th. The Hotel was set in a lovely wooded area surrounded by trees and veg allotments and a small lake. It was a beautiful place both inside and out. The rooms were very spacious and very clean. We had cream carpets which hadn't a single dirty mark on them. The bathroom was spotless, spacious and well proportioned. We stayed in a suite as the prices were so reasonable. The staff spoke very good English and couldn't do enough for us.
The Restuarant had food that was second to none. Given that it was a 5 star establishment, the prices were very reasonable, about £30 per head for a three course meal and wine. Desserts were amazing and decorated with exotic fresh flowers.The buffet breakfast was probably the best I've had in any Hotel, ever. You could eat as much as you like of things like fresh salmon, herring, eggs, bacon, cereals, every cheese imaginable, fresh fruit, nuts, sausages, stuffed tomatoes, freshly made bread etc etc and never ending supplies of tea, coffee and fresh apple and orange juice.
The decor was beautiful, like modern day Victorian tea rooms with big open fires and the waiters and Chefs, who I believe are mainly French, were so pleasant and spoke great English.
It was 39zl from the Hotel to the Airport which is about £8 and took around 20 minutes. The nearest shopping centre was about ten minutes away.
The downside was that building work has been going on for some time. To be fair, it didn't affect us too much, we couldn't hear it but the compound was outside our window, spoiling a beautiful view of the lake with ducks and a huge swan. We even caught a glimpse of a woman bathing in the stream in her bikini whe it was snowing!
All in all, I would recommend this Hotel highly.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Harrybo2521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    91
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
65
138
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in november, the snow was on the ground and it was very pretty. The hotel is very nice - we had just a regular double room which I didn't find any more special than a 3* hotel at home - although the bed was HUGE! But i suppose a room is a room and there isn't too much scope for making it special. However, there were fluffy bathrobes and slippers provided and a well stocked minibar and the room was very clean. The bathroom was well lit and spacious with a good shower. There was unfortunately no iron in the room and tea/coffee is only available in a communal area.
The facilities in the hotel itself were fantastic, the swimming pool, saunas and jacuzzi were excellent and the atmosphere was very relaxing. There were two free internet computers as well which was handy. At the time of our visit the taxi from the airport and taxis into the old city were around the 41 zl mark which was around £8 sterling and the journey took around 15 - 20 minutes. It's probably best to plan your day so that you're not driving in and out too much because the taxis do add up... Travel to Sopot was a good bit cheaper at around 30zl.
Finally, the hotel restaurant was out of this world for dinner, we had a truly excellent evening meal which was very reasonable in comparison to prices you'd pay for a top notch meal in the UK. Breakfasts were also excellent with unlimited food from a buffet and a chef cooking bacon, eggs and omelettes to order. We felt treated like kings by the staff, they were extremely polite and spoke excellent english. I would highly recommend this hotel, the only drawback being the taxis in and out of town - but really if you are up to staying in a 5* hotel, you can probably afford the taxis too!
Other reviewers have mentioned ongoing building works, they were still ongoing during our stay so it was slightly unpleasant to be woken at 7am by reversing mini diggers...however we weren't so bothered as to ask to change rooms. If you can i would check if they are still building before your stay and ask for a courtyard-facing room.

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — the distance from old Gdansk
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank belfastlass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2007

We have stayed at this hotel 5 nights in June. It is a very nice place, the room was comfortable and very quiet and the staff friendly. The hotel is located 10 kilometers from Gdansk in a wooded area, so no noise there, a very peaceful environment. The highlight of this place is the superior quality of its restaurant with fine French cuisine. We have traveled 3 weeks in Poland and to my opinion it is one of the best restaurants of this country. Don't waste your time finding a restaurant in Gdansk, it is often more expensive than here and not as good for sure.
This hotel deserves its 5 stars rating.

  • Liked — restaurant and quiet place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lipnica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2007

stayed 4 days at Dwor Oliwski, on April. The other guests were all polish. Remarquable place, excellent ervice.. very nice worker's gardens around a reminiscence of communist Poland

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pierrebsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2007

I stayed here for 3 nights in late Feb with my wife. It was booked by the family as a surprise birthday treat. Oh what a treat it was. It’s close to the airport and only costs a couple of pound to get into the town. The views and exterior of the hotel were beautiful and the interior was stunning also.
We were attended too none stop by the friendly charming staff and every thing we desired was available!
The chef's creations were amazing and you would find it hard to beat.
I could not fault anything about this hotel. It was a truly wonderful experience that I would thoroughly recommend

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2006

What a smashing hotel, looks lovely from the outside with its country mansion looks and thatched roofs. They are building an extension just now but the builders are unobtrusive and really quite quiet. The outside was decked in fairy lights during our stay and it looked fantastic. The room was spacious with a huge bed and plenty of furniture. Bathroom had under tile heating, a large bath with over shower and as much hot water as you wanted. Everything worked and were well looked after. Cleanliness was excellent with the bed and bathrooms being well cleaned everyday. The food at the hotel is excellent, lots of choice and everything we had was first class. It is more expensive than in town but the surroundings and staff attention are worthy of a 5 star establishment. The ground are well laid out and good for a stroll but the huge woodland is next door and can give you as much walking as you want. This is a spa hotel and since it is only 3 years old the facilities for this are cutting edge. Wonderful treatments, pool, sauna, steam room etc. Amongst the best we have ever used which is another plus for the place. The centre of Gdansk is around 12 kms away and costs around 32zl for a taxi. It would be a fair old tramp if you wanted to walk it but it is possible. Old Gdansk is a gem and one of the must see areas in Poland. One thing it is not is exploited for tourists. You are not hassled in anyway and pay local prices for whatever you buy. Eating out is reasonable and cheaper than the UK.
In short, a fantastic hotel in a much underrated city. Go soon before they discover rudeness and time share.

  • Liked — High standard of everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Go soon
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2006

We stayed at this wonderful hotel in Sept as our friends were getting married here. The staff, the facilities, the food and the whole experience was excellent.

The hotel was excellent and very reasonably priced for one of the small hotels of the world group.

Eastern European food is not always the best but the Dwor Oliwski was an exception. We ate in the restaurant and we were stunned by how nice it all was, we had had little luck with food before this stage. The only very minor criticism would be that the wine list was very short, this however we discovered is because Polish people are more likely to drink Vodka!!!!! And what a great selection of Vodka they have!!!!

The pool and facilities were top notch, I was however very surprised when I walked into the Sauna to find a very naked middle aged Polish lady. For her this was normal for me I was a little surprised. I kept my towel on much her to disappointment (I think).

We indulged in some of the Spa treatments and my massage was very relaxing and again very reasonably priced.

The rooms in the hotel were very comfortable and came with all of the little luxuries you expect from a good quality hotel. We would defiantly come back here and recommend it to everyone who reads this review.

Stay here its very good.

  • Liked — the whole experience
  • Disliked — a little way out of Gdansk
  • Tips/Secrets — Bison vodka with apple
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard2006/7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
6.2 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#8 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Almond Business & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwor Oliwski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwor Oliwski Hotel

Property: Dwor Oliwski Hotel
Address: ul. Bytowska 4, Gdansk 80-328, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwor Oliwski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dwor Oliwski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dwor Oliwski
Dwor Oliwski Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing