We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a bit off the city”
Review of Dwor Oliwski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dwor Oliwski Hotel
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a bit off the city”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Nice hotel in the silent part of the city. Clean big rooms, well designed. The only objection I might have is not really friendly stuff. All the other things which make a stay worth remember are on the proper level.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xesselte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    91
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
67
140
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is not a 5 star hotel.

Rude reception staff. VERY noisy beds. Hotel showing signs of fatigue. Minibar not working. Had to complain twice for them to fix it. I was always lacking toilet paper. Had to call reception several time for more toilet papir.

I also found several dead insects under my bed on arrival. Had to complain twice again to get it removed.

They also try to charge you for everything.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bobby_3271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed for 2 nights with my wife and 10 year old daughter recently and enjoyed it very much. Staff are real friendly and the SPA our daughters favorite (and our´s too).
The quiet location a bit from Sopot beach was a plus for us, because we slept like babies in a nice and clean room with individual AC (this was during the heatwave in july with temperatures up to 35 degrees in the Gdansk/Sopot area). Breakfast was included and very good. Could go on and on about positive things but will sum it up with, EXCELLENT HOTEL, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kriwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Just returned from a 3-night break here. This is our second visit to this hotel having been so impressed with it the first time round. All in all, this is still a great hotel although it is showing a few signs of fatigue since our last visit. The spa area has excellent facilities including a great jacazzi, sauna, steam room, pool and 'sun-beds' and is kept immaculately clean. The breakfast was still superb with a wide range of cold meats, cheese, fish, salad, fruit and breads. As well as a chef on hand to prepare hot food to order (eggs, sausage, bacon, mushrooms etc.). We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and enjoyed huge portions of hearty, meaty food. It was tasty if a little unsophisticated and came at a high price in comparison to other eateries we visited. The restaurant is perhaps is not quite worthy of the gourmet status it receives in many guidebooks. Also, wine extremely pricey considering what is on offer (Mouton Cadet???).
Our room was spotless and freshly stocked with mineral water each day which was a nice touch. The hotel has been extended since our last visit; an additional lounge and more suites have been built on the end. Depsite now having more than one lounge (both with comfy sofas, kettles, cups, sugar and reading materials), teabags are sorely missed. Never before have we stayed in a hotel without tea-making facilities (even Travelodge manage this!) and despite requesting the necessary from Reception, no tea appeared duirng our stay. Although this did not ruin our holiday, it was still rather irksome!
Overall, we had a wonderful, relaxing break and would compliment the staff in the hotel in providing largely excellent service.
Would we go back? Maybe, in a year or two to see how Gdansk and Sopot are developing.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsvinger
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The hotel is located between gdansk city centre and Sopot. You will need taxi to get around from the Hotel. It's not perfect if you wanna walk directly on to the street, but it's perfect if you would like to travel a little around to Gdansk, Sopot and Gdynia. All this areas are reachable from the Hotel in 10-15 minutes. It's also cheap to use taxi.
It's in a very quiet place which gives you good opportunity to relax. The hotel is very modern and nice. Very good relaxing with jacuzzi, steambath, sauna, pool, solarium and also a area for spa which you will have to pay for.
The rooms very spacious and very nice. The claningstaff does an excellent job, and the people who works there are very friendly.
If you will have to pay for breakfast separately, avoid it. They charge you 80 zloty (20 euros) for one person at breakfast. For that price you can eat breakfast for 4 persons everywhere else in the area.
We also tried the restaurant at the hotel. Even if winter may not be the best time to go there, there is no excuse to have only a few of the wines in the winelist.
The price on the restaurant is definitely one of the most expensive in the area, and it's far away from the best.
So I would say - avoid....
Try instead Petit Paris in Sopot (7-8 minutes in taxi).
So if you don't have to eat there, I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vingeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

Ok, it's located a little bit far from Gdansk city center and OId Town, but it's definitely worth a visit. Hotel is located in the quiet, hilly area and I can't imagine better place for romantic weekend, although it's quite popular among business people who cherish privacy, comfort and a touch of luxury. There are three reasons to choose Dwor Oliwski - very big rooms with Tuscanian touch, excellent restaurant and very nice SPA. Staff was always very nice and attentive - I spent there couple of nights and it's always my first pick when I go to Gdansk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EgonOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Fantastic place to get away from it all, about 30 mins drive from the centre of Gdansk. The spa and indoor pool were excellent. Our view from the bedroom was woodlands with a babbling brook outside the french doors. Bedroom were spacious and well equiped. Never had a chance to eat there as we discovered Sopot which was buzzing and lively on Saturday night. Trains from Oliwa to Gdansk Sopot and Gydinia were frequent and very cheap. Taxis around 40 PLN £8. Look forward to revisiting one day. The fitness centre was the only let down a bit basic but there are nordic walking classes available and penty of woodland walks close by. On a hot day expect the boat from Sopot to Hel to be fully booked so get a ticket in advance if you want to go to Hel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Tempete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Almond Business & SPA
6.3 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#9 of 84 in Gdansk
477 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Gdansk Residence
6.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
6.2 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#1 of 84 in Gdansk
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dwor Oliwski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dwor Oliwski Hotel

Property: Dwor Oliwski Hotel
Address: ul. Bytowska 4, Gdansk 80-328, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#14 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dwor Oliwski Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dwor Oliwski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dwor Oliwski
Dwor Oliwski Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing