We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous city”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$91.28*
and up
Gdansk Walking Tour Shore Excursion from Gdynia
Ranked #1 of 152 things to do in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous city”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Recently visited gdansk for a wedding and had a look round the old town part and fell in love with it straight away, so much detail to look at can't wait to go back

Helpful?
Thank Natalie425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,616
    838
    86
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Like all old towns I didn't like the cobble stones, but that's because I am disabled, everything else I loved, well worth a visit

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank martyng1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
311 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We visited during the Dominican Festival in late July. The area was FILLED with tourists, to the point where it was almost too many people but there was a great ambiance. There are many little streets to explore and lots of dining options for all budgets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“This is one of the best places to visit in all of Europe”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Gdansk simply has everything and I fail to see how anybody could ever be disappointed in giving this place a visit. New, buildings, shopping, museums, beaches, river trips, tours, fantastic bars and restaurants, nice, friendly people and then the beauty, culture and heritage of the Old Town which has been so patiently and beautifully rebuilt after the dark days of WW2. I have visited many parts of Europe including 3 other cities in Poland and I cannot speak highly enough about Gdansk which we have done now twice and have a 3rd and 4th visit already booked up, it is quite simply the nicest place we have been to. You would need more than a week to get even close to seeing everything and it does not matter if you turn left, right or carry straight on, you will always find a very good bar or restaurant. The prices are incredibly low and you just get so much for your money and I suppose that is why I have been reluctant in giving a review, because if the place keeps gaining in popularity then prices will only go up!! Everybody should visit Gdansk and in particularly the Old Town and take in the history and beauty of the place.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cobblersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
199 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to bide some time”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Old Town is colorful and charming, the streets narrow and busy. The architecture is photogenic, the restored buildings a delight to the eye. There are myriad restaurants, souvenir stalls and a heavy flow of tourists (at least during summer holidays and festival time!). The best part was the harmonious atmosphere created by the melodic music found throughout Old Town; live performances of mostly classical music in hidden archways, buskers set up in the middle of the pedestrian zones, tunes flowing from unseen speakers. It is a peaceful, safe and wonderful place to see, both during the day as well as the night.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank theladylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing