We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting amber exhibit.”

Gdansk History Museum (Muzeum Historyczne Gdanska)
Ranked #41 of 152 things to do in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting amber exhibit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

As I had very little time in Gdansk on my trip, I only visited the Amber Museum, a branch of the Gdansk History Museum located in a separate building near the tourist information centre. With free admission on Tuesdays (when we visited), we decided to drop in, and I was quite impressed by the quality of the exhibits. It is arranged in a sort of chronological order, with natural and fossilised amber in the first room you come to, and historical through modern jewelry, sculpture, and decoration as you climb the stairs. In addition to some spectacular pieces, there is plenty of information (much of it in English) about the history of amber and the amber trade in Gdansk. Well worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fireontheriver9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worth a visit, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Super service, crew was exeptionally helpfull and this place was more interesting to see than we expected. Well maintained.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gdansk city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We visited Gdank in Jan 2013.

What a lovely city. We took the bus from the airport for just over £1 (5 zloty). We just followed most others. There is a machine outside the airport that takes credit card.

We stayed at Grand Hotel Cru; we can't fault it. Beautiful, friendly staff, and amazing bathrooms. 10-15 mins walk into town.

We took the skm train to Gdynia. It was just over £1 each way. We thought it would be very pretty here, but sadly it was disappointing, ghost town and not much open. It is probably different in summer.

Gdansk has free Wifi around the city. You see signs on lamp posts and no security code. Connection was excellent. Nearly every place we went also offered Wifi for free.

The Amsterdam Bar was very welcoming and lovely beer. Just around the corner (same owner) was a little crepe shop. Absolutely amazing; super quality and so big I could only manage 2/3rds of it. Pancake with banana, chocolate, nuts and drizzled with toffee + cup if coffee just 10 zloty.

The best find was Mont Balzac bar. In the centre with superb live music. The presentation and taste was excellent; the price very good. A main for two, bottle if wine, chips, garlic bread, dessert to share and couple of cocktails, just 219 zloty. Staff great, service fantastic, and setting was even better. You need to send an email and book in advance before you come here (we did). This bar is attached to Artus hotel. We would stay here if we visited against. Right in the centre, clean, classy and modern, didn't seem like just 3 star.

People all friendly here. A lively experience.

Linda

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hadley rille
Level Contributor
294 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Interesting history, poorly labelled”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Nice old building. Enjoyed my visit . Recommended. Loved gdansk in general. Nick walking around old town.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“rich history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

was impressed by the size and the tour that was given around the museum.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank KievApartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gdansk History Museum (Muzeum Historyczne Gdanska) also viewed

 

Been to Gdansk History Museum (Muzeum Historyczne Gdanska)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing