We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful cosy hotel - we WILL return!”
Review of Podewils Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Podewils Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy hotel - we WILL return!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here in October last year for a (lovely!) birthday trip to Gdansk. The hotel is about a half an hour trip by taxi from the airport.

It's actually on the opposite side of the canal (?) from the main part of the city, but that means if you stay in one of the front bedrooms you have an AMAZING view of the crane/krantor, especially after dark when everything is lit up. The walk to the town is only 5/10 minutes.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming (even after we turned up very early after a morning flight) and happy to help with printing maps/giving directions/calling taxis etc. Both the interior (lots of deep colours and wood paneling) and exterior of the hotel are beautiful - the bedroom had plenty of room to leave suitcases unpacked and half open everywhere. The room and bathroom were both very clean and, most importantly for Poland in October, cosy! (Loved the fluffy white bathrobes!) Beds were very comfy as were the pillows. Fresh flowers... Fully stocked minibar... TV with built in DVD player... What else do you need?! (We liked the little hand-written note left every evening informing us of the weather for the next day!)

The restaurant offers a pretty impressive breakfast buffet, although fish and cheese are always a bit much for me so early in the morning! They also offer toast and cereal and lovely fried mushrooms. I think we ate in the restaurant only once in the evening (but only because the city has SO many restaurants to try) and the food and wine were both good as was the service.

The hotel also possesses a sauna which is a nice luxury for a small hotel.

All in all, one of the best hotels we've stayed in, and I would definitely pick it as my first choice hotel if (hopefully when) we return to Gdansk!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    42
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
201
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

From our note written to the hotel after our stay: - "My wife and I would like to extend our special thanks to you and your staff for the wonderful stay in your hotel. We were made to feel very welcome and your staff went to a lot of extra effort on our behalf including a late breakfast upon arrival from Krakow, an early breakfast to enable us to leave for a tour the next day, and finally coffee in the lobby at 4:45 AM especially prepared upon our departure for the early train to Warsaw!!

We would like for you and your staff to know that thanks to your wonderful hospitality, our stay in your hotel and in Gdansk was very much the highlight of our tour of your country."

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessheim, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were a group of eight friends staying in this wonderful, historic hotel. The rooms were comfortable and charming and the service impeccable. The breakfast was sumptuous and also the four course luncheon we had at the River restaurant upon our arrival was so tasty and a wonderful start of a successful weekend in Gdansk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morten-norway-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This felt like I was a very important person, of aristocratic background. A wonderful hotel with big rooms and historic furniture. The staff were friendly, the location excellent. I do not think I could get anything similar in many other cities in Europe for the price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

There will be no surprise in my comment...

One of the best hotel I have ever stayed in, everything is far beyond your highest expectations, from service to furnishing, from the breakfast to the view...

So sad to leave this place !

Room Tip: The 102 has a great view on the crane, the furnishing is so romantic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lichterow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever been in all my life. Staff are extremely friendly, helpful and charming. Rooms are cozy, quiet and well furnished. A short walk to the old town.
Breakfast is excellent, very beautifully arranged buffet.
The day we left, we announced that we had to leave early, before breakfast started.
The reception staff arranged coffee for us in the room before our departure.
You rather feel at home than in a hotel. Dont miss this excellent place when you travel to Gdansk!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

A wonderful small hotel offering great hospitality. Excellent reception staff. Beautiful room. Lovely location, although a bit of a walk (or ferry ride) to the old city. Very good breakfast. Convenient, secure free parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suchot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#10 of 84 in Gdansk
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#11 of 84 in Gdansk
490 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Property: Podewils Hotel
Address: Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80-755, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#18 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing