We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic hotel for a romantic city”
Review of Podewils Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Podewils Hotel
Ranked #3 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic hotel for a romantic city”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you want to spend a few days in a lovely place perfectly matching with a lovely city, this is the hotel to choose! :-)

+ The staff is really friendly & helpful.
+ The building (out & inside) is so stylish.
+ Generous and tasty breakfast.
+ Good location (10 minutes walk to the very centre but try once the little navette from the hotel to other side: cheap & fast, less than a minute, till 4 pm). Some good restaurants and cafés are already in the Hotel street.
+The bathroom is spacious and covered with marble.
- Open window from time to time as the rooms are so well and cutly furmished that fresh air may be missing at night (but it maybe my problem).
- The noise isolation from the main door room is not that great and you can hear sounds as door opening... from the corridor during the night. Just a bit annoying but you'll survive. :-)
If you can, may be better to take a taxi from the airport (around €15, 50 PLN)

REALLY GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY! WARMLY RECOMMENDED! :-)

Room Tip: It is worth taking a room with view on the river side (direct sight on the famous crane).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joonatan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    42
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
198
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

From the moment we arrived, for a long weekend with some friends,the staff and service were excellent. This hotel is very good value, if it were in the UK would be at least twice the price.
Poland is a good value destination. We choose the standard room which is up several flights of stairs, ok for us, but no lift, so not for everybody. Spacious bathroom with nice toileteries, dressing gowns and slippers.. Breakfast is served downstairs in a very pleasant room and the choice and quality of food was very good. The hotel is very peaceful and is furnished in the grand country house style, it was a former wealthy Merchants home. It is well situated for the Old Town which is a short walk away. We didn't eat in the restaurant, as we wanted to try some of the many local eateries, but the food looked excellent. If Gdansk is your destination then this hotel would take some beating.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the hotel may not suit everyone as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This hotel is beautifully furnished, cosy and warm even in very cold winter. We appriciate the kindness, profesionalism and courtesy of the hotel staff who served us breakfast to our room every morning. (We have been told that the dining room is under reconstruction). However this ment we were very limited in amount and choice of the food and since my husband is vegetarian, he had everyday the same: bread and yellow cheese - in a 5 stars hotel.
We booked deluxe room with view on marina and crane but unfortunatelly from the room no. 103 the view is not so good. (Rooms 101 and 102 seemed to be much more better in this way) But this room has a good spacious bathroom with a big window. I only didnt understand why they were so short with bath cosmetics - on the 3rd night we had to ask receptionist if we can get some more shower gel.
Location of this hotel shouldnt be a problem in summer, when there is a ferry to the city centre but during the winter time you have to walk around 20 mins in narrow and dark streeets untill you reach the downtown.
Nevertheless I would like to reccomend to visit Gdansk, it is an extraordinary, beautifull and special city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife, my sister and her husband stayed at Podewils Hotel last weekend and we had a really nice time. I was concerned at the review below which states there was renovation underway at the Hotel but my concerns disappeared as soon as I arrived. We were greeted by wonderful, friendly, smiling staff and there was certainly no renovations underway. The Hotel was clean, peaceful and the staff very welcoming.

The lady on reception, I think her name was Hanna, was so friendly and helpful, a really nice person and is a real credit to the Hotel.

This is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Gdansk, don't hesitate, just book it :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynheulwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel in January and it was lovely and cosy. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the views from across the river are gorgeous. We liked the fact it wasn't right in the middle but in walking distance for everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harstad, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Im Sorry to say, that this hotel was a big disapointment!! The view was not that good. The room was dusty and the bathroom partially not clean. People could see in to the bathroom from the street. When we arrived they startet restoring the hotel, and the climate inside became terrible, and made me sick. They were still working at 00.30 in the night.. Noisy and dusty, and we had to move! I will not recommend this hotel, and cant understand how they got 5 stars....!?

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Interiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Faultless! From the greeting upon arrival, the service, the room, the breakfast, the staff to the hotel building itself, everything was absolutely perfect. A short stroll along the water to the town square, it is perfectly placed. I hope to go back to Gdansk and when I do I will not even look for another hotel, it will be straight back to Podewils. Thank you to all the staff, and if the owners are reading this may I make one suggestion?.....Don't change a thing!

Room Tip: Room 201, excellent view from multiple windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
1,501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#9 of 84 in Gdansk
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Property: Podewils Hotel
Address: Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80-755, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#18 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing