We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel in a beautiful city”
Review of Hotel Szydlowski

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Szydlowski
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Haifa , Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dated hotel in a beautiful city”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was very disappointing. It faces a main street, which is obviously noisly throughout the day. It has a very small parking, which makes it difficult for buses.
Even though it is clean, the furniture is dated and many of the appliances (like the T.V. in my room) don't work.
The dinner served at the hotel was one of the worst I have eaten at any hotel
Gdansk has so much to offer, so why spoil the experience with such an accomodation? I am sure that for the price you can get something much better

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TzviaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    11
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
9
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Excellent Stay, this is a very efficient Hotel with Perfect Service from ALL the friendly & helpful staff. Bedroom fine, bathroom clean modern with fantastic power shower. The nice buffet breakfast had a very good choice & great coffee. We had dinner each evening in the Restaurant/Bar - Food was excelient - great Chef & bar service! Hotel situated close to Galeria Baltyka shopping center. Tram to the old town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LUXESHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Bussiness trip ,the hotel its not amazing at least from outside but quite good location with some restaurants ,casinos etc.food is ok ,service as well, there is a room to improvement but still quite good .

Room Tip: L don't like the look of the back parking area does feel like Bronx ruff area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feditalchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stayed only one night and had really good stay there, nice spacious room with comfortable bed, clean bathroom and great shower. Breakfast was good too, free wifi and private secure parking. Had dinner at their restaurant as well and it was really good food for great price, not sure how far was city centre but the area around hotel looked really bad, nothing to see or do. If you looking for something to just stay overnight this hotel is really good.

Room Tip: It may get noisy if you have room with window facing the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatyasS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The people who work here were great to encounter after a long day travelling. I arrived with a group of British pensioners and everyone was happy with their rooms. Some of the group ate in the restaurant and they didn't complain. If you have never travelled with British pensioners, then you won't understand that this is an amazing feat, because British pensioners can complain about anything. The fact that they didn't complain leads me to believe that this is a great hotel.
I stayed in room 40 and had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was varied and filling.
The only problem is that it's a bit far from the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezdomny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I have been there for business trip. I arrived at 2 pm and got possibility to have lunch and the restaurant was good. The hotel stand in front of a busy street and the place is not very amazing. Double Room was large and cleaned and if you are free of choosing better the position on the back side facing the internal parking (front side=busy street). The breakfast was not so plenty of choice.

Herewith below the main features:
-you can check-in at 2 pm and check-out till noon
-additional bed for children up to 8 years old is free of charge
-restaurant pub and bar
-restaurant available for lunch till 3 pm
-wi-fi internet access in all rooms
-close to Lech Walesa airport at about 10 Km, anyway it takes about 30min depends on the trafic.
-very close to very nice new shop centre at about 1Km and about 4-5 Km to reach the old city centre with interesting churches to visit.
-public transportation are just across the street
-70/90 Euro for single/double room

In general my evaluation is good but I think the three star rating are right.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Szydłowski for one night as it was more convenient to the airport than the city centre hotels. It is a good hotel with free parking, free internet and bar and restaurant. It is a bit of a distance from the old city centre, but there are trams stops just outside of the hotel. I think it was listed as a 3 star hotel and it deserves at least that rating. Rooms were large and comfortable with air-conditioning and despite having a room next to a busy street, it was quiet once the windows were closed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#42 of 84 in Gdansk
76 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Oliwski
Hotel Oliwski
#33 of 84 in Gdansk
103 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Arena Expo
Hotel Arena Expo
#62 of 84 in Gdansk
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#38 of 84 in Gdansk
95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Faros
Hotel Faros
#40 of 84 in Gdansk
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#25 of 84 in Gdansk
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Szydlowski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Szydlowski

Property: Hotel Szydlowski
Address: al. Grunwaldzka 114, Gdansk 80-244, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Szydlowski 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Szydlowski is situated in the center of Gdansk-Wrzeszcz at Grunwaldzka 114, which is a main communication artery of Tri-City. We are located in close proximity to the railway station Gdansk - Wrzeszcz (300m) and close to Lech Walesa airport (9km). The hotel is decorated in a warm, classic style which creates a homelike atmosphere, so that each of our guests could enjoy the comfort of peace and relaxation. We offer 35 comfortable, air-conditioned rooms, including 21 double rooms, 9 single rooms, 2 double superior rooms and 3 luxurious apartments. Each room has a separate bathroom and is equipped with telephone, air conditioning, mini- bar, free Wi - Fi, radio and satellite TV. At any time, you can take advantage of the hotel's sauna or massage services in our wellness studio. Restaurant, cafe and conference rooms are also air-conditioned. In the hotel restaurant, in order to meet your expectations, we offer the organization of receptions, banquets, meetings with friends and other gastronomic events. We also have experience in organizing outdoor events. In the cafe you can have a good time with a good cup of coffee, a sophisticated drink, eating a delicious dessert or own baking products. A big attraction is the pastry shop located in the hotel building where our Guests can buy freshly baked traditional bread and cakes, cookies and other sweets. In addition, we have compact conference facilities in the form of two conference rooms suitable for 14 and 35 people, equipped with the equipment necessary to organize trainings, meetings, company presentations, etc. We invite you to visit our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Szydlowski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing