We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of Dom Muzyka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dom Muzyka
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I stayed here for two nights in July. It was a fairly standard European room, bed with duvet (in my room’s case, two twins that were initially pushed together to make a double), nightstand, desk and table, television (mostly Polish channels, and BBC World News). Bathroom with shower, which had good water pressure, and rare from what I have experienced, the hotel even had miniature toiletries (like US hotels) vice the soap/shampoo dispenser in the shower that I have seen most other places. The weather was fairly mild, so I cannot comment on the climate control (or if there was any).

The buildings of the hotel were reportedly originally military barracks that have been turned into a music school, to which the wide halls and stairwells attested. It seemed pretty quiet, but I don’t believe school was in session. While the hotel is right off a main road, I did not notice much in the way of traffic noise.

The hotel has a restaurant, in English it is Raspberry Garden. It served decent food, although you could definitely eat more cheaply elsewhere. It did seem to be popular with tour groups, although the ones there when we were tended to be on the smaller side.

If I return to Gdansk I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

Pros:
- The price: $95 a night for a double room. Gdansk is a popular tourist city, so that is a pretty good deal.
- Free parking: The parking lot is limited access (i.e. there is a gate that you have to go through). The hotel will (essentially) validate your parking so that you don’t pay. Plenty of spaces, of course I was there in the summer, so when the music school is in full swing it might be more full.
- Lift: A small, but functional, elevator!
- Free breakfast: A nice buffet in the hotel restaurant. It contained the usual European breakfast items (cheese, meats, bread, muesli, yogurt) as well as some hot items (eggs, crepes). Breakfast started early enough so that you could eat in the morning without feeling like you were losing valuable sightseeing time.
- Location: Which may be a controversial “Pro” on my part. It is about a five minute walk from the main part of Gdansk, so it isn’t right smack in the middle of things, but right smack in the middle would be more expensive and louder. Some have commented that the area looks a little run down, but I didn’t find it particularly troublesome.

Cons:
- The hotel was a little difficult to find. I drove, so a taxi probably would have found it more easily. My GPS got me in the general area, and luckily there are plenty of signs once you get to the right streets.

- It is not a luxury hotel. It is a decent, basic place to stay with some nice extras, but if you want luxury you should look elsewhere

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hanna718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Dom Muzyka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

I think that location vs. price is perfect for me for my business trips. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCHOJNACKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just got back from fabulous girls' city break to Gdansk and stayed at Dom Muzyka. Everything about it was great. The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the main - and very beautiful part- of Gdansk, with a couple of convenience stores nearby.

We had twin rooms which were compact but in a nice way, as they were cosy. Bedrooms and ensuite shower rooms were spotlessly clean, and beds were extremely comfortable with good quality bedding. Shower was very good.TV channels include BBC World and Eurosport. The hotel rooms were very quiet and well insulated, despite it being by a busy road. I'm a very light sleeper but slept like a log.

Breakfast was good; very acceptable selection of breads, cereals, fruits, cold meats etc.

Above all, the reception staff were friendly, spoke excellent English, and were incredibly helpful, doing things for us like researching bus times, ringing the main city post office to check opening hours. When we were checking in, I even heard one of the receptionists giving some guests her mobile number in case they got stuck on a train journey. They really make an effort to help you get the most out of your stay. There's a computer in reception that guests have unfettered access to, so you can get internet access very easily.

All in all, a big success. Gdansk was a superb destination with something for everybody, and staying at the Dom Muzyka added significantly to our enjoyment of the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

i arrived to Gdansk and tried to use the in your pocket destination guide to Gdansk to find the hotel: DONT, the hotel isnt where it is marked and i struggled initially to find it but there were road signs designed for drivers, which you can follow on foot........ if you spot them! The hotel is quite a few minutes walk from the centre of town and enclosed in a large walled area which you have to skirt around from the centre to get to the main entrance, as such the hotel isnt really very central.
My room looked out onto a fairly busy road which also carried trams so was quite noisy but the room was bright and had nice high ceilings. I had one window without blinds/curtains so the room was bright all the time so probably wouldnt favour light sleepers.
The room was furnished fairly basically but everything was functional and perfectly adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok.
For the price, the hotel was fine but i might try one closer to town if i were to visit Gdansk again in the future

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-Head
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This hotel seemed to good to be true when I booked it because it was so inexpensive and close to Gdansk; however, it lived up to all of my hopes! The room itself was small and sparsely appointed but I didn't care because I literally only slept there and spent the rest of my time ogling the beautiful Gdansk, Sopot, Gniew,Malbork Castle, etc. sights. The room was very clean, with a steaming hot shower, small TV with cable. Breakfast was OK. The staff at the front desk were very helpful. The breakfast staff didn't speak English so well and I struggled a little bit with my orders. The location was outstanding - literally a 6-7 minute walk to the heart of Gdansk Historic Old Town. Free parking! Another benefit I stumbled on was the Student Grill located next to the hotel. I ate a home cooked hot meal with desert and beverage for about $4.50! If I ever go back to Gdansk I am staying here again! PS...difficult to find with GPS but they have signs so look for them as they are a big help.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BiginOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Quite close to the Old Town, good clean rooms and facilities. And a bargain. Will use it again next time I'm there.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russ2000_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

The hotel is located close to the Old Town but the neighbourhood is a bit worn. We could walk each night to town, but a solo traveller should maybe take a taxi when it is dark. The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean, but quite small. We think this is a good hotel for the money and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CissiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.7 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
1.9 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#37 of 85 in Gdansk
107 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#44 of 85 in Gdansk
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 85 in Gdansk
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dom Muzyka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Muzyka

Address: Ul. Lakowa 1/2, Gdansk 80-743, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range: £37 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dom Muzyka 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dom Muzyka [Musicians’ Home] represents more than a charming hotel in the centre of Gdańsk. It is an uncommon and calming refuge arranged in a listed 19th century building of the Musical Academy. A stone throw away from Dom Muzyka stretches the Old Town of Gdańsk offering a wealth of attractions. The nearby public transport node links our facility to the entire Tri-City. Even very demanding Clients will certainly find a night at Dom Muzyka their cup of tea. Advantageous location:•7 minutes on foot from the life-ringing Old Town•on the E7 road from Warsaw, at the entry to Gdańsk •3 minutes from a bus stop and tram stop We offer you a comfortable night in cosy and lovingly tended rooms, each of them different. High ceilings and tall arched windows add to the specific air few other hotels in Gdańsk can share. Dom Muzyka is renowned for its chic interiors, atmosphere unmet elsewhere, and kind and professional staff. Those who love music could hardly find better accommodation in Gdańsk. Our offer:•87 high standard, comfortable and well fitted rooms in Gdańsk•8 conference rooms, including 1 at Dom Muzyka, the others on the premises of the Academy of Music•Malinowy Ogród [Raspberry Garden] restaurant•free, unattended car park within the enclosed estate of the Academy of Music•interesting concerts arranged by the Academy of Music ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dom Muzyka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dom Muzyka Gdansk
Dom Muzyka Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing