We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend”
Review of Lival Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lival Hotel
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Reviewed 27 June 2013

What can i say i am a nornal Brit Fussy and i like what i like.
I usually stay in Marriott or Hilton BUT this hotel blew me away it could hit 5 star in costome service now. Everything for our wedding was first class the manageress was super she worked 14 hours on our wedding day and even served our guests that goes above and beyond as far as i see the job she has. The beds were so comfortable some of the best nights sleep i have ever had. Food was such a hit all my guests are looking to make this hotel a yearly venue.
The price may look higher than others but you pay for what you get. Also i checked this out on here and i see some bad comments, i think this was down to management as we stayed in the hotel with the last manager and were not too impressed either lack of control and i think the winter months there are not so many staff. My last words are i`ve been to so many places this is my top place by far. head to the beach turn left find Meraks bar pay about £1.30 a pint jet ski have a laugh enjoy the soft golden sand and food to die for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

I spent here two nights in April 2013. We had a small business meeting with around 15 people. Hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood, almost just on the beach, you need to cross the jogging path and you're there! It is fairly close to Hellera street where you can find bars and restarurants to have a decent fish. On the beach you can also find a bar and have a beer. If you want to hit some city it would be better to take the taxi or just walk by the beach but it's around 15-20 minute walk to the pier. Actully location is a key factor to visit this hotel. They really need to work on rest of the things.

Rooms are average, well it's a three star so don't expect too much but I saw many better ones. Beds are really soft so if one does not like it there might be problems with a good sleep. Be sure to choose a room with a sea view - I did not notice if there is a price difference. However prices are high here. 400-500 PLN (around 150$) for a nigh is way too much, it's a price of a 5 star in Warsaw !! Hilton Gdansk is 550 PLN !!!

The breakfast is nothing special, scrammbled eggs are done not the right way, too watery, yuk. They do need to improve here !!! Especially for such a price !!

If you want to have some drinks in the bar in the evening it is usually closed after 11-11.30 p.m. however if you catch the bartender they will open again, he was really communicative and we managed to get this working. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pawel_Lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is good , nice hotel . The best part for me is the location, just on the beach, so you can go to swim in the see before breakfast. It is good place to visit in summer time, you are in Gdansk, but in the some time you are on the beach. Nice , friendlly staff, good food, many litlle restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorota K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Do not bother to visit this place. We are with the familly for the long may week-end and we could not imagine worst place to stay. I do agree that the location of the hotel is great though - right on the beach in quiet single dwelling neibourghood.
Everything else is just below expected standard. The breakfasts are pure disaster just to start with. Staff of 5 people is not able to manage buffet breakfest for approx. 20 guest. Everyone is running wild around the dinning hall while tables are not made, cups, spoons, coffe, hot water, etc. are missing. Our appartment was not heated and inspite of constant remainders only the third day someone was kind enough to provide us with an electric mobile heater.
I admitt that the staff is friendly and willing to help in any circumstances, but what is obvious is a complete lack of management in this place. Waitresses and room maids just seem not to notice that anything is wrong... It is just like nobody told them that they must put attention to some tiny details like : bed to be made every single day, missing cuttklery at the tables, you name it.
We will definetly not come back to this place, as Ia m sure I'll find something much better around Gdańska area.
This hotel is not worth the money we paid for the stay...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Mmm interesting one this.

We arrived at Gdansk train station and my other half commented that we were driving through Beirut to get the hotel but once you get there it's worth the wait.

It was quite quiet (late Sept) but still decent weather. Reception staff we were fine, not massively helpful = we didn't get offered any tourist guides in English.

Room view was AMAZING! We were on 3rd floor, room facing the beach. Peaceful, you could hear the waves in the morning, really lovely.

The room itself was fine, bed wasn't great and only one saggy pillow! And my bedside light was plugged in in between the beds and as a result the plug had broken so there were loose wires, I just swapped it over with the desk one.

We didn't eat breakfast there seemed massively over priced for a breakfast. We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of nights, lovely food, reasonably priced. As was the bar. I think it was the time of the year that the hotel was quite quiet so the staff made it quite obvious that they wanted us out of the bar after 11! but that was fine.

Hotel does bike hire, definitely recommend a cycle to Sopot and beyond, the cycle path runs right outside the hotel so you can't go wrong. Or take your roller blades!!!

More choices of places to eat just up the cycle path. The put next door was a bit run down but it was only 10 zl *(£2.20) for 2 large beers! Result!

Bathroom was big with a good shower.

Not a hotel if you want a lively resort but for a couple of peaceful days chilling out - perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the beach, you wouldn't want one stuck out the back with no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerGirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My daughter and I just spent 4 nights at the Lival Hotel. It was clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast just OK and the dinners very poor and expensive. Considering all the costs for taxis to get anywhere it was expensive. We did however enjoy the beach promenade with beautiful walking and bicycling lanes. The Poles are very outdoorsie - all ages are walking, rollerblading and bicycling in the latest trendy sports clothes and kit. Beautiful mothers race after their biking children on rollerblades. We rented bikes near the hotel and went to fantastic Sopot. Im sure its another experience in the summer but not good for off season as centrally located hotels are in the same price class

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel has a great holiday location, just steps from the beach and a few minutes from the tram into the city centre. The staff were really helpful.

The only improvement I could suggest was that the Air Conditioning did not work too well and the extra childs bed was a little flimsy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeceedee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Lido Dom przy plazy
Lido Dom przy plazy
#60 of 85 in Gdansk
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dal Hotel
Dal Hotel
#76 of 85 in Gdansk
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Pascal
Villa Pascal
#71 of 85 in Gdansk
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Marina
Novotel Gdansk Marina
#22 of 85 in Gdansk
653 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Posejdon
Mercure Gdansk Posejdon
#21 of 85 in Gdansk
294 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Bartan Gdansk Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lival Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lival Hotel

Address: Ul. Mlodziezy Polskiej 10/12, Gdansk 80-512, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range: £42 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lival Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lival Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lival Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing