We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy”
Review of Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Angela
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a nice time at this small little hotel. The room we had was small but clean and cozy. It is about a 30min walk to the center of town, has a decent supermarket very close also. The receptionist was very polite and kind explained all the useful information. I would point out to those who intend to arrive late it is not advisable since we arrived before 8p.m. and the worker said it was good that we came otherwise nobody would be there to check us in. Breakfast was great we had the choice of eggs or sausages. We paid $59 for the two of us which included breakfast so I think it was a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebekahAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night unfortunately. We booked late, and when we arrived, they upgraded us to the top floor suite, no extra charge. It was beautiful, immaculately clean with comfortable beds and linen, plus a huge bathroom. The bus stops out the front (4 minutes to town, buses and the train station), and the supermarket is 1 minute away across the street. Staff were excellent. They were young and vibrant and spoke English perfectly and were thus very helpful. Only downer was there was no lift, but I need the exercise lugging suitcases up the generous stairs, so it was only a minor inconvenience. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and reasonably priced.
Would I stay here again?
You bet I would.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

$92 for two per night. In addition to taking the bus to Old Town one can also take a bus from the airport to reach this hotel. Tickets are about $1 per person.

The area is green and wooded and there are two grocery stores close by.

The staff are quite friendly and helpful. I would agree with a previous reviewer that the showers are a bit small and that the walls are rather thin. We did not have any problems with the wifi and found it quite fast. The rooms are comfortable and clean and are good size with balconies. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

It is the little details that turned me off, so I am not coming back to this place for certain:

- in the room:
-- thin walls (I could not sleep until 1am because of two chatting ladies next door)
-- the minibar is so noisy that I had to switch it off (it was empty anyway)
-- the shower cabin has a very uncomfortable shape leaving little room to move around and making it easy to trip
-- the bed has pillows that are too thick, there is a water resistant under-sheet which is too small for the size of the mattress making it rather uncomfortable to sleep on

- the restaurant:
-- in the evening it features rather laud and unpleasant music together with a big screen showing movie clips - you would not want to bring your children for dinner
-- in the morning, if you come past 8.30am, very little is left on the buffet. Be prepared to dilute coffee 1:1 with water to make it drinkable.

- the wifi
-- free and working throughout the building but user experience is not great - one needs to manually switch between networks when moving between floors

Room Tip: Do not stay in the ground floor (I have heard that the noise levels are unbearable)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank podroznik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa A, Front Office Manager at Villa Angela, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

We are very sory that You had unpleasant stay in our Villa.
We'll try to fix the problems.
We'll try to soften the wall's and planing to change the doors.
We are just eliminating the rest of plasic mattres.
In some of the rooms we have bigger cabins, and in some smaler.
Also we have two kinds odf pillows so guests can ask for bigger one.

With best regards and one more time we are very sory,

Damian Chrupek / Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

A little cosy hotel 10 min with the bus from the heart of the Gdansk city. Very clean, nicely decorated, offering discount for its restaurant menu and taxi service. We had funny situation finding someone's underwear under one of the beds on the floor. Obviously we didn't want to report this fact to manager. The cleaning staff might be scolding. All staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfast various and tasty, rather standard with few polish specialities. We stayed only one night waiting for our flight in the morning. We will recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jendrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This hotel is a little out of the city center, although the bus stops almost right in front of it if you don't have a car. It is quiet and peaceful and the staff is helpful. It was only a 10 minute bus ride into Gdansk which is a great city to visit in Poland.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svansoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our last visit to Gdansk was years ago, but we liked Villa Angela so much we came back for a longer stay. Our room was spotlessly clean, well furnished and comfortable, staff were really helpful and took the trouble to get information we needed. Free WiFi was an added bonus, and a quick, efficient laundry service was very reasonably priced. There was a very good and varied breakfast buffet, including hot dishes, and packed meals were available on request. The evening menu was reasonably good. The hotel is on bus routes to the city centre and airport, and travel to neighbouring towns and beaches was easy. The reception entrance is up a flight of steps, and there are stairs from bedrooms to the restaurant, so this wouldn't be suitable for guests with limited mobility, but otherwise this is a super little hotel and excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#41 of 85 in Gdansk
110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#25 of 85 in Gdansk
167 reviews
4.3 mi away
Stara Karczma Pension
Stara Karczma Pension
#45 of 85 in Gdansk
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Petite B&B
La Petite B&B
#54 of 85 in Gdansk
110 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 85 in Gdansk
780 reviews
0.7 mi away
Akme Villa
Akme Villa
#48 of 85 in Gdansk
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angela

Address: ul. Ludwika Beethovena 12, Gdansk 80-171, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £28 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Angela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Villa Angela you can find 22 cosy rooms, individually designed, equipped in bathroom, TV Sat and free of charge internet access. You can also smoke on the balcony in some rooms. City centre is easily accessible by public transport, around 7-10 minutes or walking distance of 30 minutes. It is also 30 minutes to the airport, which is connected with Villa Angela by bus 210. Start your day with our rich and tasty breakfast buffet in restaurant of Villa. In the restaurant, which is open every day from 3 p.m. till 10 p.m, you can find also a bar. Our Chef will serve you a gourmet European and traditional Polish dishes. Villa Angela provides free and safe parking also for turist bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing