We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of character”
Review of Gotyk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gotyk House
Ranked #30 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March. Very nice historical building right next to the main attractions. The hotel management were very helpful and obliging. They served a very traditional Polish breakfast which consisted of cold meats, yoghurt, cheese and bread, along with coffee and some polish ginger bread. Definitely a place to stay. Only complaints would be the not so thick curtains and the hot/cold shower but these were only minor items compared to the overall experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonOfFatBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

Stayed here at the recommendation of Rick Steves. Great location next to St. Mary's Church at the end of ulica Mariacka, a very pretty street in which to browse for amber and other treats to take home. Our room was on the top floor. There is no elevator so be prepared to lug your suitcase up several flights of stairs. But once there, the room was large, clean and very pleasant. Breakfast can be served outside on an old-fashioned balcony. You can eat and smile at all the tourists who stop to see the oldest building in Gdansk where Copernicus visited his long time lover. It is easy to walk to all of the sights in Gdansk from this hotel. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oliverpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotell , with only 7 rooms , is perfect situated , regarding all type of facilities.:Communications, culture, restaurants,cafés, and museums. . The rooms were very tidy and clean, the beds were made every day and towels changed..Staff was polite and professional , helpful and in every aspect perfect. Good quality for money ! Right acroos the street is a lovely little café, in which they serve many types of wine by the glas. . You can also have a small dish , if you are a bit hungry.

Room Tip: We had room nr, 5 , overlooking the street, some noise from outside , but not a problem !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morty56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Amazing location at the top of Gdansk's famous "Amber Alley", right beside St. Mary's Church. This gorgeous B&B is a stones throw from all the sightseeing musts of Gdansk and it's Old Town. Staff were extremely polite and helpful and spoke good English. Rooms were cosy and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious... It just couldn't of been better!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlrsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We visited here as part of a motorcycle trip around the Baltic and Poland, turned up out of the blue and were greeted with a friendly smile, the available rooms were all spotless and nicely appointed , needless to say we looked no further and quickly booked our two nights stay. The hotel is well situated for sightseeing and we took breakfast on the small terrace at the front of the hotel, a nice small friendly hotel well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

What a lovely lovely hotel, everything was just perfect for our stay. the rooms were clean & newly decorated and the staff bent over backwards to help in anyway they could. My husband and I stayed three nights, nothing was too big or small for the friendly english speaking staff, we only had to ask once and it was sorted for us. Due to the weather conditions in Leeds Bradford airport on Monday the 21st we were unsure as to weather we could return back to the Uk, but the girls on reception were on the ball and constantly checked both airports & the flight company to keep us informed everytime we came back to the hotel to check, even making a few calls to keep our minds at rest. We had breakfast in our room each morning with was different meats, cheeses, breads and salad with plenty of spreads and even traditional ginger biscuits. Always had plenty to eat every morning which started you up for the day ahead, we are going back hopefully in June and we would recommend the Gotyk house to everybody, a very warm, welcoming hotel situated perfectly just off the main street, although only six rooms the staff and their attitude make you feel so welcome just like a home from home. Well done to all at Gotk House and thank you for making our stay a very wonderful and pleasant experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Following comments on this site, we stayed at the above quaint little Polish B&B. To say it was fantastic, would be a gross understatement. The staff, couldn't have been more helpful, in particular, Agnieszka, she was wonderful, so helpful and tended to our every need. The rooms were very cosy (Attic Room), listening to the bells of St Marys was so romantic. Our 2 year old was catered for and 'nothing was too much' Will recommend this house to all my friends/relatives. If you want a romantic place, in the heart of true Poland, then this place is a must. Centrally located and nowhere is too far to walk. Dlugr Targ (main street) is 5 mins walk.
A big thank you to all the staff for making our visit so easy, but above all special.

Gary

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, the house just lends itself to charm and a trip down memory lane. Don't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Urbantiger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Krolewski Hotel
Krolewski Hotel
#35 of 85 in Gdansk
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 85 in Gdansk
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#1 of 85 in Gdansk
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 85 in Gdansk
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamienica Goldwasser
Kamienica Goldwasser
#60 of 85 in Gdansk
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk House

Address: ul. Mariacka 1 | Stare Miasto, Gdansk 80-833, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £37 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotyk House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotyk House is located in the very heart of the old town, in the most beautiful street in Gdansk. The oldest house A.D. 1451 was transformed into comfortable old styled hotel. Gotyk House is the place where modernity unites with history. The care of each and every detail of the house helps reflect the spirit of the past of old Gdansk in the interiors of Gotyk House. According to the legend this is the house where Nicholas Copernicus and Anna Schilling met and fell in love... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Gotyk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotyk House Hotel Gdansk
Gotyk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing