We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite for sure!”
Review of Gotyk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gotyk House
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I Couldn't have asked for better location! You are right there. The rooms are absolutely beautiful.
This place is full of original character.
A really nice breakfast was prepared for us! Fresh cheeses, coffee, fresh baked breads and yogurt.
Also, a very helpful staff. They helped us a few times with directions.
An excellent, excellent stay! I'd recommend the Gotyk House anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heidianderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a good stay in this delightful hotel. The staff are few and they attend to everything including preparing the breakfast so it feels very personal. The room was an adequate size and had a comfortable bed, plus two comfortable lounge chairs. The rooms were serviced every day although in the four days we were there the towels weren't changed at all. Breakfast was adequate with bread, meats, cheeses, tomato and cucumber, plus coffee and sweet biscuits. When the weather allowed we sat on outside on the little terrace in the sun.
The hotel is very central to the main street of Gdansk and we could walk everywhere, including the train station on the day we left.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Halcyontwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This little hotel is just across a narrow street from the St Mary's Basilica and at the head of the best amber vending street in old Gdansk. The hotel is very small but wonderfully charming. We stayed in the front room of the third floor, facing Mariacka street. This street has many amber jewelers. Most have an outdoor booth plus displays on their porticoes in addition to the indoor store. The hotel is proud to have a history connected to Copernicus. Copernicus is believed to have had a romance with one Anna Schilling, his cousin or housekeeper or both, and they stayed in this house, though I am unclear as to whether this is the house she was housekeeper to. There is a little museum in the basement dedicated to Copernicus and Anna, which describes his life as a poet, astronomer, and cleric, and has some artifacts from a trunk that may have been Anna's. A short movie explains their comings and goings and ups and downs. The hotel provides tea upon arrival, and breakfast on the patio, both of which were lovely.

Room Tip: stairs are steep so try to get a room on the first (that is, the first above ground) floor. we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Very clean and historical cosy hotel in the heart of very old Gdansk. Rooms are big, atmosphere is very nice, just corner of the big Mariacka chirch. There is also an extra electro- heating :) brekfast was nice also with cheeses and ham and breads and tea and coffee. Ask serving at the terrace! Location is the best in Gdansk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Gotyk House itself is great. The staff spoke English well and were very accommodating. Breakfast is plentiful and we were gladly served afternoon tea when requested. We left very early on our last day and the receptionist offered to pack breakfast for us to eat on the train; we were very happy to find that she had packed several sandwiches and they were ready to pick up when we left. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are very modern and the house itself is incredibly charming. It looks like they really tried to maintain some history to the house while providing modern amenities. The location is wonderful - it's on a beautiful street and within walking distance to the main area of Old Town and the train station.

The only downside to our experience was that we didn't have a full night of sleep due to how loud the area became around 2:00am. We stayed in the Town Hall room, which is on the second floor in the back of the house, but it sounded like people were talking and yelling right outside our window as we could clearly understand every word they said. This happened every night we stayed there, which were all weekdays.

Overall, I would recommend staying at Gotyk House, but definitely bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tenthlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have only praise for this little gem. My great experience started from emailing the Gotyk prior to traveling and i received a prompt and informative response.
The Gotyk is perfectly located and is situated just a small stroll from the main street and Neptunes Fountain.
On arrival we were greeted warmly and shown to our room - this was a lovely surprise. Room was spacious, clean and fresh. It was a pleasure to stay here.
Staff were friendly and welcoming and knowledge of English was good.
Breakfast was perfectly adequate and sets you up for the day. (breakfast was bread / cold meat / cheese/ jams / yoghurt and tea or coffee) I would recommend if there in summer months to have on the small patio area in front of the hotel as quite warm in the reception area.
I would rate this accom very highly and would look to stay here again This is our forth visit to Gdansk and this was probably the best hotel we have stayed at for the price.
My only suggestion i would have is tea / coffee making facilities in room ( would not be a big outlay for the hotel but would be a welcome advantage.
Keep uo the good work everybody at the Gotyk and hope to see you again.

Room Tip: Website shows all rooms and they are very much as pictured
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yvonnee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Gotyk House claims links to Copernicus and Anna Schilling and a small basement museum explains the basis of the claim - whether true or not shouldn't detract from the beautiful building, which dates from the 15th century and is full of quaintness and charm. We stayed in separate rooms, although one of these was situated in the basement and required the use of a separate entrance. The rooms were tastefully decorated and of a good size and the breakfast comprised a selection of breads, cheeses and cold meats - with the offer for this to be served in your room if requested. A warm component would have been a welcomed addition - maybe some eggs? The beds in the twin rooms were somewhat small. The staff in the hotel were knowledgable, friendly and spoke extremely good English - a very welcomed additional benefit as they were able to provide excellent advice on restaurants, shops and general directions. Definitely the choice hotel for Gdansk - particularly if you book a double bed or they increase the size of the twins...

Room Tip: Room 7 is accessed via a separate entrance at the back of the house - this is fine if you know about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deMerclesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Krolewski Hotel
Krolewski Hotel
#34 of 85 in Gdansk
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kamienica Goldwasser
Kamienica Goldwasser
#58 of 85 in Gdansk
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#11 of 85 in Gdansk
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 85 in Gdansk
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#19 of 85 in Gdansk
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk House

Address: ul. Mariacka 1 | Stare Miasto, Gdansk 80-833, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £37 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotyk House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotyk House is located in the very heart of the old town, in the most beautiful street in Gdansk. The oldest house A.D. 1451 was transformed into comfortable old styled hotel. Gotyk House is the place where modernity unites with history. The care of each and every detail of the house helps reflect the spirit of the past of old Gdansk in the interiors of Gotyk House. According to the legend this is the house where Nicholas Copernicus and Anna Schilling met and fell in love... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gotyk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotyk House Hotel Gdansk
Gotyk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing