We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and great location”
Review of Gotyk House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gotyk House
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Donegal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Staff very friendly and informative. Room was quiet as I requested and very comfortable and clean. Location of Hotel was also excellent as very close to all attractions.
Owner of Hotel studied in Dublin and is very enthusiastic about his Copernicus Museum.
Overall, a great place to stay and will return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antrimhurler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    71
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
139
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I spent a very pleasant couple of nights staying at the Gotyk Hotel. The service was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel itself is very small as you will see as you enter the reception area. My room was very cosy, being a single, but when you are staying in what is a 16th century townhouse you cannot expect huge rooms.
Without doubt, the location of this hotel, on the most beautiful street in Gdansk (Mariacka) is the biggest plus point. All amenities and attractions are walkable from the hotel. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheepster1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

This was a very nicely decorated, clean guesthouse in the shadow of the enormous Church of St Mary and on the Mariacka - a prime street for amber shopping and beautiful to stroll down. The room was very large, light and pleasant, with a couple of comfy chairs and coffeetable, an entrance hallway for hanging clothes, and a pretty view of the little park behind the guesthouse. The bathroom was very modern and clean.

Special mention must be made for the staff, who were very friendly and helpful - ringing a museum to find out its opening hours for us, and researching and giving us advice for dealing with the transport chaos caused by the Icelandic ash cloud.

We hope to go back to Gdansk, and wouldn't bother to look for another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jir_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

This hotel added that 'something extra' to another fabulous trip to Poland. The staff were friendly, polite and amazingly helpful... they spoke perfect English and even helped us to arrange a boat trip to Westerplatte by ringing the company when the details couldnt be found on the internet. Breakfast was lovely... we were asked exactly what time we would like this and food and orange juice was laid out ready for us .. with coffee served on our arrival. Be sure to sample the gingerbread from the attached shop that is in the bread basket!! When we had to catch an early flight home in the morning, they suggested making us a 'pack-up' to take with us - a wonderful gesture. There were even two steaming coffees waiting for us!
Each day the bedding/towels were changed and chocolates and water were restocked! could not have been happier with the rooms - very comfy bed and ikea furniture .. clean and modern bathroom with all the necessary shower gels etc restocked daily.

I would highly recommend this hotel to all who travel here.. and remember to take some gingerbread home with you too!! It is located on the 'prettiest street in poland' - where better to begin your exploration of the beautiful Gdansk ... and be sure to stop for some mulled wine or cinammon lattes along the way in the many quirky cafes that the city has to offer :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura_corby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Gotyk House was the last stop on our 2-week Polish honeymoon. We arrived on Friday night to find that our name was not on their roster, though we'd paid in advance and booked a double room. Andrzej, the manager, was quick to realize the error, and then even quicker to give us the correct room and make our stay as comfortable as possible. He was an entertaining host with lots of stories and information about Gdansk, Copernicus, and Poland in general, and he did his best to make us feel welcome. The hotel even packed us a breakfast to go on our last morning when we had to leave at 4 am to catch a flight. The rooms are small but clean and pretty, the bathrooms are modern, and the house is on a wonderful old street right in the center of town. We would both return in a heartbeat, despite our rocky start.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank writingstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Gotyk House in Gdansk. I stayed with an elderly friend who required a downstairs room as there is no lift in the hotel. This was provided without question and the service throughout our stay was impeccable. The staff helped with making reservations for concerts and travel plans, had excellent English, and could not have done more to make our stay enjoyable. Our return flight to the UK was at the dreadful time of 6am yet the reception staff suggested a breakfast time of 3.30am !!! The location is terrific and the city is a wonderful place for a mini break. Affordable and well worth the awful flight times.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I stayed here for three nights and would highly recommend it. The manager had a wealth of knowledge about local history and really points you in the right direction about things to see and do in Gdansk. Almost like a tour guide!

The staff were very pleasant and made you feel welcome. The breakfast was nice, and it's located on the nicest street you're ever likely to walk down!

Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jer137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 84 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk House

Property: Gotyk House
Address: ul. Mariacka 1 | Stare Miasto, Gdansk 80-833, Poland
Phone Number:
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotyk House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotyk House is located in the very heart of the old town, in the most beautiful street in Gdansk. The oldest house A.D. 1451 was transformed into comfortable old styled hotel. Gotyk House is the place where modernity unites with history. The care of each and every detail of the house helps reflect the spirit of the past of old Gdansk in the interiors of Gotyk House. According to the legend this is the house where Nicholas Copernicus and Anna Schilling met and fell in love... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gotyk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotyk House Hotel Gdansk
Gotyk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing