We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Clean, Very small room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Location, Clean, Very small room”
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Stayed in the "new' wing, opened in 2009. Very clean, quiet, elevator, pleasant service, excellent location, nice bathroom, good breakfast, however, the room was tiny, All in all, at the price, we would have expected a more comfortable room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    195
    48
    8
    3
See reviews for
57
189
33
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed in the hotel for seven nights in July 2008.

The location is excellent for visiting the area being in easy walking distance of the Main Town, rail and bus stations and the waterfront ferries.

The hotel is clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff.

Whilst there is some street noise from late night revellers, this is only to be expected in such a central location.

Breakfasts are good but do not expect a full English fry-up. This is Poland after all.

We had one dinner in the restaurant. Again the food was excellent though the restaurant lacked the atmosphere of some of the main tourist spots.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Late night street noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2008

Right in the heart of the Old Town, this hotel is a gem.
Well appointed room, with a comfy bed and a circular bath in the en-suite,( to die for) this is superb accomodation for the price - booked direct on-line.

The staff were excellent - the chap on duty booked us a taxi to the airport even though we had checked out and had only come back to retrieve our luggage.

The food in the hotel is v good. Our breakfast ( included in the price) was more than adequate and the evening meal , which we had not booked in advance , was a revelation. Enjoyed great food at a fair price.

However, the bottle of wine we ordered ( vin ordinaire) was over priced at 45 zlt.

Downside is the sound of the garbage collectors at 5am - but I guess I was disturbed because I sleep with the windows open.

Would I return ?
Yes.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank janey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

Fantastic location, in the main town (which is the very pretty old bit of Gdansk) and very close to the main transport interchange around the central station. Helpful friendly efficient staff in a nice reserved European way. Decoration in good order. Clean spacious room (we paid for a luxury room) on the first floor. Photos of Old Gdansk in the corridors were better than those in the Museum. Check in and out (at 4.30am) quick and easy, taxi arrived as requested.
Its hard to judge value for money because I don't know quite where they are pitching themselves, I guess you just have to compare their prices to the opposition.
Niggles. Wiff of smoke in our room when you came in from the fresh air. The complimentary coffe/milk in the room wasn't replaced daily, I don't think the TV (wall mounted flat screen) was tuned in properly. Breakfast buffet was rather sparse, no fresh fruit, there was a notice offering cooked sausages on request but they had none when I requested them, the only cooked breakfast was eggs, hot chocholate was charged extra. I didn't ask for any of these niggles to be remedied during our stay.
As you can see a lovely hotel in a great location let down by some small things.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sparse breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris_NYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEXAMSTERDAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2007

I was there with my wife. We had problems from the very beginning:
- we received smoking in stead of nonsmoking room although we had booked nonsmoking room (we were explained they did not have any available)
- the bedclothes had lots of stains (not washed properly)
- lamps in our room did not work properly (problems with electricity),
- it was pretty noisy outside since the dancing club is just below and there were a lot of drunk young people screaming in front of our windows all night long.

If you need peaceful environment forget about it in this hotel.


The hotel is definitely overpriced ….we should have booked a room in a different hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ALEXAMSTERDAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2007

The Hotel Wolne Miasto is a very nice hotel. It is in a great location, has a nice restaurant (great beer). Absolutely no complaints. Free bottle of water, complimentary breakfast, very clean and sophisticated. I was in a small single room in a corner on the 3rd floor. I was a "walk in" and the rate for a single was 340 PLN per night. I price compared with the Holiday Inn by the train station and Wolne Miastro was less expensive. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poland-or-bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

Have just stayed in this for one night before a transfer to Gotyk House. We paid 350 zloty for a twin room (about £70) a discount rate , the usual price being 400 zloty. The hotel is very well decorated and done out but for this price you expect a little more. It is in a very convenient location and room was immacualtely clean, the bathroom was lovely with a lovely big bath with lots of hot water. TV has limited English Channels and no kettle ( we always take our own when we go to Poland)
The breakfast was plentiful..bread, cheese, meat, cereal, yogurt, bread etc..eggs and sausage could be ordered as required.
Very nice but a little pricey.
The highlight of the stay was a meal in the hotel restaurant, the Restarany Zeppelin..We had tapas a steak, greek salad and beer, all for under £20..excellent food, nice atmosphere, excellent staff, couldn't be faulted.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amonty1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.4 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#9 of 84 in Gdansk
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk

Property: Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Address: Sw. Ducha 2 Street, Gdansk 80-834, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Gdansk
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#10 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#14 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-star Hotel Wolne Miasto is charmingly located in the centre of Old Town Gdansk, just 600 metres from the Gdansk Railway Station. It offers stylish rooms with elegant bathroom and free Wi-Fi. All rooms at Wolne Miasto are spacious and elegantly furnished. They feature free mineral water, a fully-equipped marble bathroom, a flat-screen TV and a private safe. Some rooms offer tea and coffee-making facilities.The hotel's restaurant specialises in traditional Polish dishes. There is also the Lobby Bar serving a wide range of coffee and tea. Wolne Miasto Hotel's attentive staff is at guests' disposal 24 hours a day and will gladly offer tips on what to do and see in Gdansk. Massage service is available. Lech Walesa International Airport is located 15 km from the hotel. Major museums, restaurants and cafes can be found within a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolne Miasto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing