We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely welcome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willa Albatros

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Willa Albatros
Ranked #47 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A lovely welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

We only stayed one night but Bartosz at Reception made us very welcome. We liked the small touches like apples at reception, fluffy bathrobes & complimentary soft drinks(albeit a limited selection). The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. It is a short walk (10 mins) to the Oliwa PKP & 20 minutes into town but frequent trains & only 6.4zl return. Also well sited for Oliwa Cathedral (20 minute walk) and the delightful park around the cathedral. The room was good and best bed we slept on in Poland. Good value for money - and really nice to be made so welcome!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S.E.4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
38
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodhaven, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2009

We were looking for an affordable stay in Gdansk, and Villa Albatros fit the bill. The hotel is a short walk from the Gdansk-Oliwa train station. We found the staff friendly and helpful. We paid 170 PLN per night for a Friday-Saturday stay.

My fiancee and I were surprised to find three small beds in a room that we expected one in. We decided not to trouble the managment, and just rearranged two together.

The bathroom in our room was very narrow and odd to move around in. Right outside of our room their was a water cooler that dispensed hot water and a wide selection of teas and coffee. The room was also well furnished and the television received many channels, although everything but CNN was in Polish. Free Wireless internet was also available, but required a password from the hotel staff.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room, depending on where you book, but our reservation did not include it. We decided to pay the 12 PLN, and found the breakfast to be tasty and a good value. I'm a bit partial to Polish style breakfasts myself. This include a variety of bread, meats, cheeses, salads, and juice and tea. Definitely recommended.

The hotel isn't especially close to attractions in Gdansk, but the SKM train at the nearby stations allows easy and affordable access to the tri-city area.

  • Liked — Good service, good breakfast.
  • Disliked — Awkward room with three beds. Location could be better.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We only stayed here one night, but we were so impressed with the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff members. Bartik is a delightful young man who seems to be the head "jack-of-all-trades." He suggested movies for the kids, and a local pizza restaurant that was nearby and easy to walk to. The rooms were small, but adequate--the bathrooms tiny, but we were able to manage. We were very fortunate that we found this nice facility and enjoyed it very much. We only wished that we could have stayed a few more days. Only one word of caution--if you have mobility issues, there are a lot of stairs. This was once an estate house, and there are stairs everywhere.

  • Liked — The staff, the way the rooms were set up.
  • Disliked — the bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlbkwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

WE stayed here at the end of Feb * would like to thank the 2 Bartek's and the rest of the team for an excellent friendly stay. We both felt very comfortable at all times, the location is perfect for tourists and the breakfasts are amazing! This charming family run B&B is excellent value & we could not recommend it more highly. Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Liked — The breakfasts
  • Disliked — Cold weather
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackoHorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2007

An excellent choice for a b&b alternative near Gdansk. Friendly, family run with an amazing breakfast that will keep you going all day. The staff are cheerful and helpful and will do anything they can to make your stay happy. The only downside we found was our bathroom was suitable only for contortionists or midgets. Great transport links almost outside the door and shops/trams/restaurants withing 300 yards. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2007

We decided to stay at the Willa Albatros while in gdansk after reading other traveller reviews on the place. It is situated in the suburbs, but there is a train station nearby. However we used taxis to get around as they were very cheap. The staff were extremely helpful and booked taxis for us whenever we wanted. Breakfast was a feast. The bedroom was quite small however it was cleaned every day. Fresh towels and complimentary bottles of water and minerals were left in the room every day. There was also complimentary tea/coffee throughout the day. We found the beds very comfortable. The only downside was that we were awakened at half six every morning by the builders outside our bedroom window, but this did not spoil our holiday. This hotel was very good value for money. If you are looking for a cheap and cheerful weekend away, I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Great breakfast, great staff
  • Disliked — Builders working early in morning, location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ellaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

My husband and I have just come back from 6 days in Gdansk. We stayed at Willa Albatros, a charming family hotel in a quiet suburb, 10 minutes from the city. It was largely due to the good reviews here on Trip Advisor that we chose the hotel and we were not disappointed.
We had a lovely double room with bathroom and a large balcony. As everyone else has commented, the breakfasts were more than generous. What we didn't know was that the evening meal was included in the price. To come back to a home cooked meal after a hard day's sightseeing was truly wonderful. The food was very good and varied. The staff were friendly and helpful.
If you're planning a visit to Gdansk you should definitely stay here!

  • Liked — Comfortable, warm and friendly
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Oskarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
5.1 mi away
Akme Villa
Akme Villa
#44 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa Palladium
Villa Palladium
#71 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Czarna Perla
Hotel Czarna Perla
#67 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Moris
Moris
#59 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#46 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stara Karczma Pension
Stara Karczma Pension
#43 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willa Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willa Albatros

Property: Willa Albatros
Address: ul. Leszka Bialego 12, Gdansk 80-353, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Willa Albatros 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Willa Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willa Albatros Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing