We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base from which to explore Gdansk”
Review of Hotel Bonum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonum
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great base from which to explore Gdansk”
Reviewed 17 March 2010

The hotel is well and quietly located, within walking distance of the historic sites, the railway and bus stations and numerous restaurants. Staff are friendly and welcoming, breakfast is plentiful and the rooms are a good size and well equiped. I would chose to stay there again if I return to Gdansk, which is a great place for a weekend visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipflogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torese, e-marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 19 March 2010
Hi flipflogg
Thank you very much for such positive opinion. We are very glad to hear, that your stay at Hotel Bonum was excellent! We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    138
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
34
156
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Lovely&beautiful hotel, but needed a little walk and the neighbourhood was'nt so pleasant. But still felt safe and calm. You can walk in 10min to the center and to the other way to shopping.Breakfast wasn't so grate: almost every morning something was missing. But all we had was good and fresh.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jooppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torese, e-marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 19 March 2010
Halo Jooppo
Thank you very much for your review. As I could see, there were some areas we could improve, and I can assure you, we already work on that, to make our breakfast more complete. You could actually see some positive feedback in the next review, dated 11 days after your check-out. Regarding the location, we are not able to move houses, but will try to be more specific about it.
Greetings from Gdańsk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Modern interior, good location, good price, clean. Staff at the reception could have smiled more often, but all in all we enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teo65, marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Annike, thank you for your review. We appreciate your positive feedback, and would like you to know, that our new name is Hotel Bonum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Me and boyfriend stayed here for 4 nights and we found no problems with it at all. It was freezing in Gdansk when we were there but there was no heating problems with our room it was lovely and toasty. The hotel is decorated lovely and we found our bathroom (shower no bath) was perfect for what we wanted. We didnt ever have any problem with hot water. We went for breakfast every morning and there was always a good selection of meats, cheeses, bread, cereals, scrambled egg and sausages. There was occasional fruits and also yoghurts everyday. Everything I had was nice although the milk for your cereal is full fat so tasted like I'd poured cream on my museli!!
THe hotel location is good, just 5 mins walk if that to the main streets of Gdansk, we used to walk back past a lovely bakery that always had men making bread etc in the window at all hours of the night. Its located just in a typical polish street with flats etc. It is also ten steps away from the post office where ww2 began and the monument for it is there. Not many places you can stay so close to history like that. It was a short walk to the marina and the train station. If you want a taxi to airport from hotel tell reception the day before and they can arrange for their driver to take you for cheaper fare than a normal taxi would cost. Reception are generally very helpful which you dont find often these days! Gdansk is a lovely city with a lot to do and going back to a comfortable bed after a long day out is important to me and they definately gave me that!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teo65, marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Babs85, thanks for your feedback. Good to hear, that you had good time in Gdansk and in our hotel. We hope to see you back soon. Please note, that our new name is Hotel Bonum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

Had several problems with our stay here. I went to take a shower at 8am and had no hot water. Went down for breakfast and had to wait for a seat as the small breakfast room was full. Also, the breakfast selection was not huge. My Polish wife, who is very comfortable with the typical Euporean breakfast offerings, even found the offering very limited. Room was cold at night as they had not turned on the heat in the building yet. We left after 1 night of our 2 night stay. Rooms and furnishings were generall freshly renovated and clean. Location is very good, close to the historical churches. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teo65, marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Schombo, it is a pity, you have such bad memories, but I would like to let you know, that we are new management company, which took over this hotel, and work hard to improve the quality. We also changed the name to Hotel Bonum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Had been a water leak, so first night had to be put up in another hotel - Wolne Miasto (which was pretty good but who tried to charge us!).
Then upgraded to an apartment room which was really great – though on 4th Floor and lift not working - not a huge problem for us but no-one to help with bags, etc
One day they had a conference going on in the foyer which was fairly obstructive
Reception unfriendly
Good location, breakfast OK

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teo65, marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Mike 707- as you know such things happens, but I would like you to know, that we are new management company, taking care about this hotel. We also changed the name to Hotel Bonum, and work hard to improve the quality.
Hopefully see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Aureus for two nights. It's built in two different houses and that makes it very charming. It has nice old brick walls which gives it a cosy feel.

The rooms are nice and quite roomy with comfortable beds, a modern bathroom and a flat-screen tv. The walls are quite thin and you can hear the neighbours roam their rooms at night or in the morning. That's the only reason for the 4 points of the room rating, the rest is really good.

The breakfast is included in the price of the hotel. There is a buffet in the cellar and it is surprisingly good. There's nothing they didn't serve and the variety of breads is quite amazing for a 3-star-hotel. Top notch.

The location is good as well. It's a little bit north of the shopping street but still within the original old town walls. It's a five minute walk to the shopping street, a 8 minute walk to the big shopping mall and about 10 minutes from the railway station.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberbob2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teo65, marketing manager at Hotel Bonum, responded to this review, 10 December 2009
Cyberbob2000- we try harder to make our guests happy. As new management company, we introduced new name- Hotel Bonum, so if you ever plan to return ( i hope you do), please search for Hotel Bonum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arkon Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#10 of 84 in Gdansk
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#40 of 84 in Gdansk
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.5 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 84 in Gdansk
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonum

Property: Hotel Bonum
Address: Sieroca 3, Gdansk 80-839, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonum 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureus Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing