We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've been to - highly recommended to all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Bonum Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best hotel we've been to - highly recommended to all”
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Absolutely gorgeous hotel. Very modern, beautifully furnished and decorated. Can't believe it is only 3 star. Our bedroom was easily comparable with that of a 5 star hotel. Staff were so helpful and friendly (reception staff, cleaners, waiters) and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel is located between the old town and the new town and if you walk out of the hotel, down the short street and turn left (a 2 minute walk), you will find yourself on the main street that runs along the river. You can't ask for better than that. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of hot and cold foods, fruit, nuts, cheeses, teas, coffee, juices, breads, etc. There are also free banana/coconut muffins provided at the reception area, which was a nice touch.

Our room looked on to the famous post office which was attacked at the same time as Westerplatte, on the first day of WW2. Incredible war memorial there (huge steel angel with doves).

There was a modern lift (we were on the third floor) - I think there were 5 floors.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everyone looking for a classy, modern and friendly hotel in the city.

I would definitely recommend a 2 or 3 day city break in Gdansk. The people are friendly and there are lots of interesting sights, particularly the old churches, various museums, the shipyard and Solidarnosc exhibition, war memorials, Westerplatte (you can take a return boat trip there on a galleon style ship for 40PLN each). The restaurants and bars we visited were all excellent value for money and the food always good.

You can get good exchange rates at the many Kantors dotted around - just be sure to check the rate before you hand over your cash. (One we went to advertised 4.7pln per GBP on their board outside but it was infact only 3.4pln per GBP - which we didn't realise until it was too late). Also, I wouldn't bother with a visit to the National Museum - not much to see and for some unknown reason the staff were incredibly rude to everyone (we even got a huge telling off for pointing at a painting whilst standing at least 10 feet away from it.... Just ridiculous, but there you go). Thankfully this museum was not a reflection on the other exhibitions we visited and the people we met.

Oh, take an umbrella and a thin waterproof jacket as the weather is unpredictable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveChups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    134
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
34
151
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Have just come back from a week in Poland.
Stayed at the Bonum after reading the review on trip advisor.
The staff could not do enough for you Conrad on reception is very friendly and very helpful. We needed to get the train to Puke as my cousins daughter was sailing in the Cadet World championship. He went on the internet and sorted out the best way to get there and printed out the timetable. Very knowledgable about the area and recommended a good place to eat and gave us instruction on how to get there. Was always interested in our day. The staff booked us our taxi to the airport and also printed out our boarding passes. The hotel is very clean and in reception there is always a supply of cakes which we would take back to our room to have with a cup of coffee. Plenty of choice for breakfast and this is available from 7 till 11am. The maps supplied in the hotel also give you places to see and also places to eat in both Gdansk, Sopot and Gydinia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed at the Bonum for 3 nights mid July.It was a mini heatwave they were experiencing.It was a shame the hotel was not air conditioned as 33c is very hot.They did provide us with a fan which helped somewhat. The rooms are lovely very modern with great interior design.Good toiletries with the added bonus for us English, of Tea and Coffee making facilities.On our last day the staff put a fruit basket in our room.They were very helpful and provided us with 2 extra pillows and the fan as mentioned.The Breakfast was lovely full English but we opted for the more Polish styles food,which is very tasty.We definatley reccommend the Bonum with just a 5 min walk to the Old town.Gdansk is a great very cheap city break.with the addedd bonus of a beach 20 mins away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed at Hotel Bonum with my mother during a one-week sightseeing holiday in Gdansk and the surrounding area.

This was our third trip to the area and our first stay at Hotel Bonum. We chose this hotel because of its central location and we weren’t disappointed. The hotel is literally opposite the Polish Post Museum, a 5-minute walk from the Motlawa River and St. Bridget’s Church and about 10 minutes walk from the Long Market, tram stops and train station.

Reception/Service – A few days before our arrival I asked reception to organise a taxi to pick us up from the airport, which they did promptly and efficiently. Throughout our stay all reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room - Our room was a standard double/twin on the third floor. As we first arrived there was an unpleasant drainage smell in the room, not a big deal, we just left the window tilted when we went out so that was under control after a day or so. On the plus side, housekeeping was excellent, everything was always clean and toiletries and tea/coffee supplies were replenished daily.
On the minus side, the room was very small. Two adults with a suitcase each pretty much filled the available space, so after a few nights we just wished we’d been given one of their bigger rooms. The main problem, however, was that there was virtually no sound barrier between the room and the corridor. The doors looked solid enough but you could hear every conversation or slammed door in the corridor as if it happened within your room. This meant that for 2 nights during our stay (the weekend nights), we really didn’t get much sleep. Sound proofing to the outside and to the neighbouring rooms was fine, just to the corridor it was really poor.

Breakfast – the choice and quality of food was very good, way above 3-star average. Staff were very helpful, maybe at peak times struggling a bit to keep up with the flow of guests.

A particularly nice touch was the cakes-to-go basket in the reception area. These cakes were among the best homemade cakes I’ve ever tasted and made an already plentiful breakfast last comfortably until dinner.

All in all we got exactly what we had asked for, a good quality city hotel with friendly service in a central location and all of this at a fair price. I would recommend Hotel Bonum for short stays in the beautiful city of Gdansk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lntreblefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alhama de Murcia,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

From the moment we entered Hotel Bonum we knew we had chosen the right hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was excellent - brand new and spotlessly clean. We looked forward to breakfast each morning where there was a great selection to suit all tastes.
The hotel is tucked away in a quiet street, across the road from the famous Post Office Museum and about 5 minute´s walk from the waterfront.
We dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and were impressed at the quality of the food.
All in all a fabulous first stay for us in Gdansk and we shall definitely stay at the Hotel Bonum when we return, which we intend to do as there is so much to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slabodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Room: Our double room was located in the attic and of a good size. Slanted walls with windows facing the sky and if you stood by the window you could see Gdansk from above. When you lie in bed you can see the sky. Amenities were quite complete: one sofa, one small round table with 2 chairs, one table with one chair, 2 wardrobes, 2 small bedside desk and water kettle.

Bathroom: Big in size with a corner tub. It had a slanted wall with a window facing the sky/rooftops.

Staffs: The girl on our check-out day was very friendly. There was also a woman working during the breakfast hour who was also friendly.

Breakfast: Good selection - bread (even sweet cake), boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, sausages, ham, bacon, cereals, fruit juice, coffee, tea, yoghurt, fruit, etc.

Location: 10-15 minutes walk to the main street (you can walk along the river) and 10-15 minutes walk from the station. Hotel is located near the Post Museum and there is a mini market on the corner of the street. The Madison shopping center is about 10 minutes walk.

Other: free cable internet (ask for cable at the receptionist if you don't have one).

On the other hand:
- No fridge in the room (was not a big deal though).
- Bathroom amenities (soap/shampoo) were not replenished (it was not a big deal
either as there were soap dispensers in the bathroom but then why give those little
bottles of soap and shampoo?).
- No orange juice for breakfast.

If it maintained the quality & service, I would definitely consider this hotel if I plan to visit Gdansk again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torese, e-marketing manager at Best Western Bonum Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2010
Halo damsca
It was really a pleasure to to read your comment. I can imagine there will be always some things we can do better, and you can be sure we will do our best to be better.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I stayed in this hotel at the beginning of April (seems like I was the guest in the same room the 4 nights before the previous review).

We stayed in room 501. This room is the only room on the 5th floor and it's the attic room. The room has large roofwindows and when you lay in bed you can see the sky and birds fly by. It's nice to wake up and see the clouds drift over. If you privacy you can always close the rollers that are on the windows.

The bathmroom is very nice and it has a huge tub that can fit 2. The room also has a couch in a corner, a small desk and a flatscreen tv with only non-english channels. The room doesnt have a fridge.
There is free internet in the hotel with a cable you have to plug in the wall. Speed was good and it was perfect for watching the news on the laptop at night. I didn't pick up any wifi networks. Some of the lamps in the room are on touch.. so if you touch the lamp it will go on or off.. this is a nice 'touch' ..
The room had 2 bottles of water and the reception has a bowl with sweet snacks next to it. It was never clear to me if this was complimentary or now. So both the water and the snackbowl we didn't touch.

Breakfast was really good. A large buffet with scrambled eggs, saucages, bacon, salads, fruit, bread, mini croissants, coffee, tea, cakes.. and it was kept well up to date during the breakfast.

There were only 2 downsides to the hotel I can think of.. The locked in the bedroom is not screwed to the wall.. so you can close it and lock it, but in theory you could take the locker out of the room (it's bulky however). And the other thing I noticed it that the runner on the bed was not put back on the bed after the 1st day? But these things are very minor. Overall the staff is friendly and the room is very clean. It felt like we were the first guests.

The hotel is about 10 mins walk to the waterside where you can find restaurants. There is a small mini supermarket right next to the hotel and the openinghours seems to be 8-20hrs.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icepick80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torese, e-Marketing Manager at Best Western Bonum Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2010
Hi Icepick80
That was very useful remark about the locker- thanks for that :-) We will make it more clear about snacks and water in the room, which is complimentary. And we hope you will have more good memories from our hotel, a.e. romantic sky- view.
Take care and hopefully see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gdansk
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Arkon Park Hotel
0.8 mi away
Dom Muzyka
Dom Muzyka
#23 of 84 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
16.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Business Faltom Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bonum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bonum Hotel

Property: Best Western Bonum Hotel
Address: Sieroca 3, Gdansk 80-839, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Family Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Bonum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bonum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureus Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing