We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Wonderful”
Review of Hotel Bonum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bonum
Ranked #29 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I am thoroughly surprised by the previous reviewer, and in complete agreeance with everyone else, this hotel is a GEM! We just got back from 3 nights at the Hotel Bonum, exploring Gdansk and surrounding area, eating delicious food and relaxing in a hotel that goes above and beyond what one expects from a 3 star European hotel. My husband and I have travelled throughout Europe staying in lots of hotels, both chain and boutique and usually stick within this budget. I have to say, this is one of the best hotels we've stayed at, if not the best. The rooms were really generous, big bathrooms with shiny, so close to brand new fittings, a big desk and wardobe with lots of room for luggage, sitting and relaxing, even a meal in the room! The previous reviewer is wrong - room service is available, and at no extra charge, from the hotel's very busy and popular restaurant. There IS a bin in the room, it is in the bathroom. There is no mini bar, but there is a kettle, teacups and saucers, a selection of fine teas, free bottled mineral water and amenities, all of which we have often found to not exist in hotel rooms in Europe. Internet access is free for all guests and there are fresh baked cakes and muffins in the hotel foyer all day, just because. The reception staff were really helpful and had plenty of great information about the area, maps, suggested walking routes, etc. They even helped us book a very inexpensive airport shuttle bus back to the airport, and printed our confirmations for flights, etc free of charge. The reception desk is manned 24hrs a day. I have saved the BEST for last. BREAKFAST. I am a fairly picky guest, especially when it comes to buffet breakfast, possibly my favourite part of a hotel visit. This breakfast was OUTSTANDING. I will add photos at a later date, but the selection included bacon, eggs (scrambled and hard boiled), sausages, three types of salami/kabana/cabanossi, four or five types of meat including ham, turkey, pork with apricot stuffing, pork belly with herb stuffing, pasta salad, greek salad, green salad, rye break, fresh white rolls, white bread, four types of jam/preserves, mini tubs of yoghurt in various flavours, pourably natural and berry yoghurt, a selection of cakes and muffins, pickles, olives, sliced cucumber, tomatoes, a massive pile of swiss and ble cheese, special white chocolate mousse/yoghurt desserts, fresh and dried fruit (including persimmons, melons, nectarines, grapefruits, prunes, apricots, etc), delicious coffee and teas. I will say, the least attractive part of the breakfast on offer was definitely the bacon and eggs...I think most people left them because everything else looked too good! The ONLY downside of the hotel is that whilst it is in the 'old town', it's not as central as some of the other hotels down on the waterfront. But, Gdansk is tiny and it will take you about five mins to walk to the waterfront! Finally, if you're after a great meal (about five mins walk), head down along the waterfront and you'll find a gorgeous little pizzeria and another little traditional Polish restaurant with outdoor seating. Both have incredble food at excellent prices. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank livingherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed at the hotel Bonum for three nights. On a positive note the location was good near the river and good restaurants. The hotel in my view had the potential to be a gem, but didnt make it. Had to move rooms the first night, as placed nxt to a conference room which was noisy from early on. Had to say the accoustics in the hotel were not good, either the walls were too thin or not well soundproofed. The second room was smaller and when the guys next door got noisy you could hear everything.
The rooms were modern and well presented. No mini bar tho and no bin! . I was also disappointed about the breakfasts. good that they were served till 11.00 but by ten, all a bit dried out and sad. No fresh juice.. orange squash and a lot of fishy products rather than continental.
Didnt go to restaurant, no room service but restaurant prices high, wine ridiculously so 160 zlts about forty pounds?? Having stayed in poland before, I found this ridiculously high for the type of hotel this is. No guides in room about the city or any suggestions of where to go etc. Quite basic facilities for a hotel that in my view should be cheaper and more user friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColchesterEssexWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Very nice hotel with short walk to every interest place and very near the city of the old town. Hotel was comfortable with only 32 rooms, not so sterile as many bigger ones. Splendid service, the whole staff were wery helpful with any on my problems or questions. The breakfast was amazing with many local dishes also, and it last for long to the afternoon.
The price vs. quality was very good.
The street was quiet with no traffic but the sound-prood could be better at the mornings from the corridor

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarryFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Absolutely gorgeous hotel. Very modern, beautifully furnished and decorated. Can't believe it is only 3 star. Our bedroom was easily comparable with that of a 5 star hotel. Staff were so helpful and friendly (reception staff, cleaners, waiters) and couldn't do enough for you. The hotel is located between the old town and the new town and if you walk out of the hotel, down the short street and turn left (a 2 minute walk), you will find yourself on the main street that runs along the river. You can't ask for better than that. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of hot and cold foods, fruit, nuts, cheeses, teas, coffee, juices, breads, etc. There are also free banana/coconut muffins provided at the reception area, which was a nice touch.

Our room looked on to the famous post office which was attacked at the same time as Westerplatte, on the first day of WW2. Incredible war memorial there (huge steel angel with doves).

There was a modern lift (we were on the third floor) - I think there were 5 floors.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to everyone looking for a classy, modern and friendly hotel in the city.

I would definitely recommend a 2 or 3 day city break in Gdansk. The people are friendly and there are lots of interesting sights, particularly the old churches, various museums, the shipyard and Solidarnosc exhibition, war memorials, Westerplatte (you can take a return boat trip there on a galleon style ship for 40PLN each). The restaurants and bars we visited were all excellent value for money and the food always good.

You can get good exchange rates at the many Kantors dotted around - just be sure to check the rate before you hand over your cash. (One we went to advertised 4.7pln per GBP on their board outside but it was infact only 3.4pln per GBP - which we didn't realise until it was too late). Also, I wouldn't bother with a visit to the National Museum - not much to see and for some unknown reason the staff were incredibly rude to everyone (we even got a huge telling off for pointing at a painting whilst standing at least 10 feet away from it.... Just ridiculous, but there you go). Thankfully this museum was not a reflection on the other exhibitions we visited and the people we met.

Oh, take an umbrella and a thin waterproof jacket as the weather is unpredictable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBurnsLovesChips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Have just come back from a week in Poland.
Stayed at the Bonum after reading the review on trip advisor.
The staff could not do enough for you Conrad on reception is very friendly and very helpful. We needed to get the train to Puke as my cousins daughter was sailing in the Cadet World championship. He went on the internet and sorted out the best way to get there and printed out the timetable. Very knowledgable about the area and recommended a good place to eat and gave us instruction on how to get there. Was always interested in our day. The staff booked us our taxi to the airport and also printed out our boarding passes. The hotel is very clean and in reception there is always a supply of cakes which we would take back to our room to have with a cup of coffee. Plenty of choice for breakfast and this is available from 7 till 11am. The maps supplied in the hotel also give you places to see and also places to eat in both Gdansk, Sopot and Gydinia.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineMapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed at the Bonum for 3 nights mid July.It was a mini heatwave they were experiencing.It was a shame the hotel was not air conditioned as 33c is very hot.They did provide us with a fan which helped somewhat. The rooms are lovely very modern with great interior design.Good toiletries with the added bonus for us English, of Tea and Coffee making facilities.On our last day the staff put a fruit basket in our room.They were very helpful and provided us with 2 extra pillows and the fan as mentioned.The Breakfast was lovely full English but we opted for the more Polish styles food,which is very tasty.We definatley reccommend the Bonum with just a 5 min walk to the Old town.Gdansk is a great very cheap city break.with the addedd bonus of a beach 20 mins away.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funkamatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I stayed at Hotel Bonum with my mother during a one-week sightseeing holiday in Gdansk and the surrounding area.

This was our third trip to the area and our first stay at Hotel Bonum. We chose this hotel because of its central location and we weren’t disappointed. The hotel is literally opposite the Polish Post Museum, a 5-minute walk from the Motlawa River and St. Bridget’s Church and about 10 minutes walk from the Long Market, tram stops and train station.

Reception/Service – A few days before our arrival I asked reception to organise a taxi to pick us up from the airport, which they did promptly and efficiently. Throughout our stay all reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room - Our room was a standard double/twin on the third floor. As we first arrived there was an unpleasant drainage smell in the room, not a big deal, we just left the window tilted when we went out so that was under control after a day or so. On the plus side, housekeeping was excellent, everything was always clean and toiletries and tea/coffee supplies were replenished daily.
On the minus side, the room was very small. Two adults with a suitcase each pretty much filled the available space, so after a few nights we just wished we’d been given one of their bigger rooms. The main problem, however, was that there was virtually no sound barrier between the room and the corridor. The doors looked solid enough but you could hear every conversation or slammed door in the corridor as if it happened within your room. This meant that for 2 nights during our stay (the weekend nights), we really didn’t get much sleep. Sound proofing to the outside and to the neighbouring rooms was fine, just to the corridor it was really poor.

Breakfast – the choice and quality of food was very good, way above 3-star average. Staff were very helpful, maybe at peak times struggling a bit to keep up with the flow of guests.

A particularly nice touch was the cakes-to-go basket in the reception area. These cakes were among the best homemade cakes I’ve ever tasted and made an already plentiful breakfast last comfortably until dinner.

All in all we got exactly what we had asked for, a good quality city hotel with friendly service in a central location and all of this at a fair price. I would recommend Hotel Bonum for short stays in the beautiful city of Gdansk.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lntreblefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#10 of 85 in Gdansk
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
#17 of 85 in Gdansk
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 85 in Gdansk
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#18 of 85 in Gdansk
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#26 of 85 in Gdansk
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonum

Address: Sieroca 3, Gdansk 80-839, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#17 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: £36 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bonum 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bonum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aureus Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing