We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive hotel with good location”
Review of GryfHotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GryfHotel
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inexpensive hotel with good location”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

From outside this hotel doesnt look like the best place to stay but I liked its interier. I had a single room with one kingsize bed, so it was comfortable. Rooms were very clean, staff is polite and helpfull. I stayed there during august, but even in summertime, which was not so hot in the north of Poland I could easily live without air-condition. However fridge on the room or minibar would be great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieGi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    48
    31
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
32
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was working in the shipyard for three days so this was a perfect place to be based. The building used to be a hospital/sanatorium for shipyard workers. It's all pretty basic but not uncomfortable, although in the summer heat I had to keep the windows wide open (there's no air conditioning). Everything was fine. Staff were friendly and I had no complaints. As a functional base from which to work it hit the spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The hotel is great and will definitely stay there again the staff were great and spoke good English and the rooms were very clean and tidy. The rooms were cleaned daily and the beds made along with clean towels. The location of the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the bus and railway station and easy to get too. It was about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the City Center from the hotel. From the airport we caught the local bus from outside the terminal for around £1.20 which took us to the Railway Station a 10 minute walk to the hotel. Taxis are available from the Airport but to be honest the local transport is so cheap and well run why pay £25/£30 for the same journey.
I would recommend getting a train ticket again for around £1.20 to Sopot which is a brilliant seaside resort with one of the longest if not the longest pier in Europe.
There is a lot to see and do in Gdansk including the Shipyards which is just around the corner from the hotel, Amber and torture museum, a big shopping center, markets and plenty of bars and cafes.

Room Tip: Not sure any rooms have an advantage we were never in it other than to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank european-tour-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was a three star hotel so I am evaluating it against that expectation. The hotel was very convenient to the railway station, the bus to the airport and to the old town so the location was great.
The receptionist was pleasant and helpful, the room quite large with a double bed and a lounge to sit on. The shower was over a bath so could be a problem for some people. I loved being able to have a relaxing bath :-) --- the water was hot. There was a kettle but no tea/coffee or a fridge.
Breakfast was adequate --- the first day it was better than the second when there was a large bus group staying. It was a missing several choices that were there the first day.
I thought it was very good for a lower priced hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the Gdansk rail station. Now I have said everything positive!! Actually, the staff was pleasant also. There is no food on the property other than a really meager continental breakfast. The internet connection did not work and after more than a half an hour and two different staff trying to get it going we all just gave up for the night. The room was spartan but since it used to be the dispensary for the former Gdansk shipyards I guess it was doing good.

Room Tip: Look for a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Council A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bierbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

5 years ago I started to learn Polish. After the first schoolyear we went for a long WE to Gdansk with our Polish class and our teacher had booked this hotel : I was really pleasantly surprised by the rooms and especially the large bathroom for the price they charge ! Everything is clean, towels, soap and shampoo are available and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Since then I stay there on a regular basis (± 7 times a year) and I have seen a lot of improvements over these years : new and larger breakfast room (no more queing when a coach party arrives), new terrace with look-out at the new museum which is being built as well as at the Solidarnosc monument which both are located nearby, which indicates the hotel is only 15 minutes walking from the old town center. During my last stay I noticed they even started building an elevator at the outside of the 3-storey building ! If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel at a good location, don't waste your time looking any further !

Room Tip: Double rooms are mostly at the entrance side, while most single rooms at the rear side look over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvoVandenbempt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel 2 years ago when my choir visited Gdansk, and had very good memories. I wasn't disappointed this time. The newly refurbished breakfast room was a very pleasant addition to the facilities, as was the new lounge. The lack of restaurant and bar is not a problem as there is a very reasonable restaurant within easy walking distance.

The location is close enough to the centre to be able to walk there in about 10 - 15 minutes. From the outside the hotel looks slightly formidable, but once you walk through the doors you enter a pleasant and attractive place. The rooms are very big, with a great bathroom. All rooms also have free wifi - a great addition to 2 years ago!

I would encourage anyone planning to visit Gdansk to stay at the Gryf. The rates are really good, and the staff friendly and helpful. Being within a few hundred yards of the historical shipyard is an experience in itself, and the bus tour of the yards was one of the highlights of the week.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#35 of 84 in Gdansk
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#26 of 84 in Gdansk
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#47 of 84 in Gdansk
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Smart Hotel
Smart Hotel
#42 of 84 in Gdansk
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GryfHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GryfHotel

Property: GryfHotel
Address: Ul. Jana Z Kolna 22/26 | Solidarity Square, next to the Main Gate to the Gdańsk Shipyard, Gdansk 80-864, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — GryfHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, HRS and Priceline so you can book your GryfHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing