We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (332)
Filter reviews
332 results
Traveller rating
218
94
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
94
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet streetattic roombustling riverold towntea and coffee making facilitybooking directreception staff were excellentearly in the eveningperfect locationrecommend this hotelexcellent wifigreat showerriver fronthistoric buildingcleaned every daycity tripsituated hotel
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 332 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We first visited the Celestin over a year ago and had no hesitation in booking the hotel again for our second visit to the city.

The Celestin is a small, boutique hotel this is situated on a quiet street, but just a minutes walk from the harbour and everything Gdansk has to offer.

Last visit we used a standard double, this time we chose a larger attic room. Both rooms were very good, the attic one is larger and had some good views over the rooftops of Gdansk from the bathroom. The only thing to bear in mind is the lift does not reach the attic level rooms so there are stairs to climb to the final level.

Staff are friendly and speak good English, bookings and emails are dealt with efficiently to make the process of booking direct with the hotel very easy.

The hotel is very well presented and spotlessly clean with excellent facilities and a very fast and reliable wifi connection.

We have no hesitation in recommending the Celestin as the place to stay if you are visiting Gdansk.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, attic rooms larger.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celestin N, Receptionist at Celestin Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank You for your stay in Celestin Residence and sharing your experience.
We are happy to hear that You enjoyed your time here with us, again.
We always try our best to make our guests memories unforgettable after visit in Celestin Residence.
Thank You for such nice words about our staff. It gives us a lot of good energy and encourages us to continue working.
Wish You all the best,
Celestin Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

The hotel is ideally placed to explore the centre of Gdansk. The staff are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfasts. We stayed in the ground floor room with kitchen. However room very small and little point in using the kitchen as there is no dining table & chairs in room to sit down to eat. City centre hotels always have small rooms but design of room was poor. On one side of the bed there is a shelf - if you are taller than 1.65m expect to crash into it. On the other side of the bed there is a tv on a wall bracket to manoeuvre around. The bedside chair is a half size one as a full size one would not fit. Coat hangers were in short supply even after asking for more (and we only had hand luggage). Although there was a smart TV it was not linked to internet so unable to accesss English speaking programmes except BBC news. Having said all that we did not spend much time in the room and we really enjoyed our visit to Gdansk. Eating out and drinks are cheaper than UK even though the exchange rate is not so good now. It did seem better to buy currency in Gdansk than before travelling from UK. Would I go back to this hotel - probably yes but I do not think the rooms justify the high rating it has. Visited in September.

Room Tip: Would not recommend the room with kitchen.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cyril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celestin N, Receptionist at Celestin Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank You for choosing Celestin Residence and kind opinion about your stay here with us.
It is always a pleasure to hear such nice word from our guests. It gives us a lot of good energy and encourages us to continue working.
Thank You again.
Best regards,
Celestin Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

If you are planning to go to Gdansk ( and you should if you're not!) a stay in this beautiful boutique hotel is a must! From the moment we arrived and we were greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable Marcin until we left at 4am in the morning and were seen off by Marcin we really enjoyed our stay! Hotel small but very clean and warm. Breakfast more than adequate and everything within 10 to 15 minutes from the hotel. Come out of the hotel door and turn right and you are at the river with lots of restaurants, turn left and you are in old town. Beautiful place, very friendly and very cheap! We will be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank love2travel9372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celestin N, Receptionist at Celestin Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank You so much for sharing your opinion here.
It was our pleasure to welcome You in our hotel.
We always try our best to make our guests memories unforgettable after visit in Celestin Residence. We are grateful that You appreciate our staff.
Sending our best regards.
Celestin Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Wonderful hotel overall. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful rooms, Location exelant.
We would deffinatly stay at this hotel next time in Gdansk. Brekfast is good and have all you need before you leave to explore this wonderful town.
Bergthora, Iceland.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bergthora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celestin N, Receptionist at Celestin Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Thank You for such a good words about our hotel.
We hope, that someday You visit Gdańsk and Celestin Residence again.
Best regards,
Celestin Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I contacted the hotel prior to our stay to confirm we could arrive in the middle of the night (which was fine) and they also arranged a taxi for us from the airport directly to the hotel, so it was very convenient. They responded to messages quickly and everything went smoothly. Staff were friendly and polite - they also supplied us with a city map. The room was spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. It was a 2 minute walk to attractions and was right in the old town. Absolutely brilliant hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katyphair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krzysztof N, Receptionist at Celestin Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

We are glad that your stay in our hotel was a pleasure. We always try our best to make our guests memories unforgettable after visit in Celestin Residence.
Also thank You for such nice words about our staff. It gives us a lot of good energy and encourages us to continue working.
We are sending our best regards to You.
Celestin Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews