We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pica paca hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pica Paca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pica Paca Hotel
Ranked #57 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pica paca hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We recently stayed as a group of 4 couples at the Pica Paca hotel in Gdansk and just before we travelled we read some very disturbing reports about the hotel on Tripadvisor, so we were quite concerned when we arrived. However the staff could not have been more helpful and made our stay very memorable. The rooms and location were perfect and we all had a great time, so we would just like to add this report to put the other side of the story

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjyeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    34
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
21
35
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

this was the 2nd visit to this boutique hotel after a 3 year gap. We had read negative reviews so were slightly worried that the standard may have slipped. We need not have been concerned- this is a lovely little hotel where the staff are unobtrusive but available to cater for every need. The rooms are simple but stylish and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a glorious buffet which will set you up for the day. Location could not be better and we will certainly return again.We have only visited Gdansk in November when the town is quiet so I accept things may be different during busy summer months but we feel the Pica Paca is a perfect base to explore our favourite Polish city.

Room Tip: stairs could be difficult for some travellers but on the 3rd floor there is easy access to the fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel obviously doesnt keep track on bookings they confirm. In hotel business overbookings can happen every now and then, but it seems to be a constant habbit with this one. A confirmed booking for a three bedroom apartment in three floors with a roof terrace for 6 adults, turned out to be a small two bedroom with one extra bed.

The management didnt bother to show up to deal with their mistake with us customers, but gave orders to the front desk staff by phone and ordered them to make ridiculous excuses as why the apartment is not available.

The 2-bedroom apartment itself was halfway decent with cheap IKEA furnishing, miscellaneous tableware and a bathroom that had already seen its better days.

And dont expect the room to be cleaned in this "hotel", "its not included" but "you can take the carbage down to the reception if you want".

Save yourselves some trouble and book any other hotel in the beautiful city of Gdansk!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JouHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gdansk hotels

osloNorway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Upon arrival, the lady in the reception met us in the taxi, saying that they've overbooked the hotel, and asked us to stay in different hotel close to the freeway 500 meters further away from the Old Town. She claimed that it was our fault, since I've e-mailed them the day before and asked if we could keep 3 out of 4 rooms for 1 more night.

What she said made no sense, since our booking for the first 2 nights should be valid anyway. She also had the availabily of rooms displaying on her computer, and it was clear to me that they had plenty of rooms available. When we pointed this out, she was blushing, and quicly closed the laptop.

My guess is that they refused to accomodate us, since we were 7 boys travelling together.

She didn't want to give in, but we ended up agreeing to stay in Novotel close by instead of the rather dodgy hotel they wanted to send us to.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MidtiLeio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We had booked a room here during the Euro 2012 tournament a few months in advance and prepaid to secure the booking.

However, when we got here we were told that we had to stay in an apartment in the old town instead as they were overbooked. The staff were extremely apologetic but we did have to wait about 2 hours until the apartment would be ready.

When it was, we had to drag our cases through the busy streets and found ourselves in a very run down looking block and our apartment was situated right at the top of the building. After I managed to haul my case up there, we were shown into a one room flat that looked like someone's private accommodation.

Although the apartment was comfortable, it was not what we booked and we were not happy staying there.

I think I would warn anyone intending to stay here to ensure they get what they pay for.

Not impressed at all...!

Unfortunately I can't comment on the actual Pica Paca apartments as we didn't stay there after all....

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wrightser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Despite booking 4 double rooms in this hotel 6 weeks in advance on the night of our arrival (approx 2100) we were told that they had a technical problem (ie had taken too many bookings) and could only offer us a 6 bedroom appartment instead. Upon viewing this apartment it materialised that it was actually 2 double beds and a sofa bed, with the offer of an extra camp bed squeezed in wherever it would fit! Not exactly what had been booked so we spent the next hour traipsing around Gdansk looking for a hotel with 4 free rooms! Unfortunately the receptionist didn't even appear to be apologetic!!

Room Tip: The only way to secure your booking in this hotel appears to be paying in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantalmarie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Small pretentious hotel, far too expensive for its standard. We had booked three separate rooms, but naively accepted an offer for "one big apartment of course in the same price!". It was big and had telly, but also flaking paint, loose and even unconnected electrical couplings, many lights the rooms and staircase not working, one shower only for three men and we had to wait a couple of days before soap was delivered to one of the two toilets. There was also a small roof terrace, with grubby artificial grass floor, a table worn by all sorts of weather, ome electrical lights, most damaged, and few chairs, one of which was also damaged. On the plus side, the receiption area was modern, most staff friendly the breakfast excellent (at 10 euro it should be!) and the location perfect. But you'll easily find cheaper hotels of at least the same standard and location. It was our first and last visit to PicaPaca.

Room Tip: Avoid their "one big apartment of course in the same price!" trick. You just end up paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olsbjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnas Old Town
Hotel Parnas Old Town
#53 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#37 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medusa Boutique Hotel
Medusa Boutique Hotel
#40 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Willa Litarion
Hotel Willa Litarion
#65 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willa Biala Lilia
Willa Biala Lilia
#38 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pica Paca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pica Paca Hotel

Property: Pica Paca Hotel
Address: ul. Spichrzowa 20 | Old Town, Gdansk 80-750, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pica Paca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight suites, with their spacious room layouts and their individual design always offer a pleasant stay. Each room has its own theme, for example one is dedicated to Marilyn Monroe and another one to Albert Einstein. The rooms all have a mini bar, telephone, free internet WLAN, satellite and a TV, as well as an ensuite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pica Paca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pica Paca Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing