We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Clean, friendly, modern inerior,well located, lovely breakfast, transparent curtains, poor sound isolation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pica Paca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pica Paca Hotel
Ranked #58 of 82 Hotels in Gdansk
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, modern inerior,well located, lovely breakfast, transparent curtains, poor sound isolation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I spent one night at this hotel. Set in a former townhouse in a not-so-lovely but well located street next to other similar houses turned into hotels, Pica paca is a god choice for someone who is a sound sleeper - the curtains allow all the light in and there is no sound isolation to speak about - and the floors not being wall-to-wall carpets render back the noise. But the staff are very helpful and friendly, the hotel is located next to tourist attractions, the room and the bathroom were clean and the breakfast was just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamesolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    34
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
20
35
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here in a large group and all really enjoyed it, with a few minor problems.
The booking was for 3 large apartments, we got 1 large and 3 medium apartments, which wasn't really a big problem.
We only had one set of fobs per room, which you needed to get in the main doors, this was quite a big problem in the end, as there were 4/5 to each apartment.
The shower head holders were broken in 2 of our showers, and there are no lights in the actual shower.
Other than that everything else was good, soft beds, clean free wi-fi and nice staff.
I would return to this accommodation.

Room Tip: It's near the Novatel if the taxi doesn't know
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPHBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
1,039 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was our 2nd time in a year in Gdansk and this time we had our friends(adult couple) with us. Last time me and my wife stayed in Hilton, which was great. But this time we decided to book 150 sqm apartment, spred 3 floors, including roof terrace. We thought that there is enough room and "own space" for 4 persons. Location of the hotel is pretty good, near river Motlawa and few minutes walk from old town. In that same huge building are some other hotels, shops and nightclub, so You are middle of the action.
They have small reception and rooms were quite modern and all of these were named after celebrities(Joplin,Einstein,Armstrong,Sinatra etc.). Basically I should give them 3 stars, but unfortunatelly everything went wrong from minute one!
There were no elevator(!), so we to drag 8pcs of luggage to upstairs and receptionist who came to show our room, didn't even pick one bag from our ladies. When we get to our room, we saw from the door that it was one storey apartment with two small bedrooms. Then I showed my printed confirmation and only after that she said to us "unfortunately we have some plumbing problems in that room, so is it allright if You stay in this room? Because there still is 2 bedrooms".
We didn't want that, because I had already paid whole lot more when I booked the room and it was far from a 3 storey apartment with roof terrace! Toilet/bathroom was small, so that alone would have been nightmare for 2 different couples.
After all, our friends kept that room and they gave us normal tiny hotel room, so then I asked that after all this hassle is it ok, if they give us free breakfasts and answer was "it's ok, but tomorrow we don't serve breakfast".
And if that isn't enough, next day they didn't even clean our room. So we didn't have toilet paper, no soaps, no clean towels and because weather outside was snowy and rainy, our floor was so wet and dirty that we had to use shoes inside our room.
And then comes the highlight, day after we came there were lights on that big apartment with roof terrace that we were supposed to stay. We laughed that maybe there is plumber fixing the pipes, until we saw bunch of guys smoking cigarette and drinking beer over there. Then we realised that they had doublebooked our room and because there were only 4 of us, they decided that we can't have that room. Do I need to say more?

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gdansk hotels

Kelowna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

One of our family stops was GDANSK. None of us had ever been here and after having been to Warsaw and Ostroda area found yet another gem in GDANSK. The hotel picked by my nieces was perfect. We arrived late at night and the drive to what appeared to be a back alley was just a bit unnerving. After getting settled and anxiously awaiting morning light I was pleasantly surprised at the view, the breakfast and then to find the beautiful gates of Old Town, GDANSK a short walk around the corner was breathtaking to say the least.
Not only were all the staff at the hotel accommodating but the location was perfect. With so many adults, from age 27 to 82, I believe everyone had their different needs met. It was the ONLY hotel on our 3 week trip that had laundry facilities we could use on our own, not to mention at NO extra cost.
I would recommend the hotel and a visit to GDANSK.
One of the days we were in GDANSK happened to be Lech Walesa's, (Nobel Peace Prize winner of 1973 and solidarity union labour leader) birthday and saw him walking through old town square to his office,,followed by many.
We took a day trip to Sopot and Gydinia. Two very different towns and both worth the trip. We visited all of these places via train and found it the perfect way to travel.
Being so fortunate as to be visit the Baltic Sea, for the 3rd time, was as exciting as the first time although each one was to different places on the Baltic.
GDANSK was a surprise and worth the trip and a stay at the PICA PACA will make sure you are comfortable. Be sure to wear comfy shoes as you will be doing a LOT of walking. Maybe leave some space in your luggage for some amber jewellery. have fun and enjoy GDANSK!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ursula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

We recently stayed as a group of 4 couples at the Pica Paca hotel in Gdansk and just before we travelled we read some very disturbing reports about the hotel on Tripadvisor, so we were quite concerned when we arrived. However the staff could not have been more helpful and made our stay very memorable. The rooms and location were perfect and we all had a great time, so we would just like to add this report to put the other side of the story

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjyeadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

this was the 2nd visit to this boutique hotel after a 3 year gap. We had read negative reviews so were slightly worried that the standard may have slipped. We need not have been concerned- this is a lovely little hotel where the staff are unobtrusive but available to cater for every need. The rooms are simple but stylish and extremely comfortable. Breakfast is a glorious buffet which will set you up for the day. Location could not be better and we will certainly return again.We have only visited Gdansk in November when the town is quiet so I accept things may be different during busy summer months but we feel the Pica Paca is a perfect base to explore our favourite Polish city.

Room Tip: stairs could be difficult for some travellers but on the 3rd floor there is easy access to the fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trixie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel obviously doesnt keep track on bookings they confirm. In hotel business overbookings can happen every now and then, but it seems to be a constant habbit with this one. A confirmed booking for a three bedroom apartment in three floors with a roof terrace for 6 adults, turned out to be a small two bedroom with one extra bed.

The management didnt bother to show up to deal with their mistake with us customers, but gave orders to the front desk staff by phone and ordered them to make ridiculous excuses as why the apartment is not available.

The 2-bedroom apartment itself was halfway decent with cheap IKEA furnishing, miscellaneous tableware and a bathroom that had already seen its better days.

And dont expect the room to be cleaned in this "hotel", "its not included" but "you can take the carbage down to the reception if you want".

Save yourselves some trouble and book any other hotel in the beautiful city of Gdansk!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JouHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnas Old Town
Hotel Parnas Old Town
#51 of 82 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#36 of 82 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Willa Litarion
Hotel Willa Litarion
#62 of 82 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Medusa Boutique Hotel
Medusa Boutique Hotel
#46 of 82 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willa Biala Lilia
Willa Biala Lilia
#38 of 82 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pica Paca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pica Paca Hotel

Property: Pica Paca Hotel
Address: ul. Spichrzowa 20 | Old Town, Gdansk 80-750, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pica Paca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight suites, with their spacious room layouts and their individual design always offer a pleasant stay. Each room has its own theme, for example one is dedicated to Marilyn Monroe and another one to Albert Einstein. The rooms all have a mini bar, telephone, free internet WLAN, satellite and a TV, as well as an ensuite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pica Paca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pica Paca Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing