We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wunderful place to stay”
Review of Pica Paca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pica Paca Hotel
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wunderful place to stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

We stayed 4 nights at pica paca hotel and enjoyed the fantastic appartment with 2 double bedroom and lots of space (living room, two bathrooms and a large terrace on the top. Situated just 3 minutes walk from old town and serving a good breakfast in the morning this hotel was a very good choice to explore the beautiful city of Gdansk.
Due to the freshly refurbished rooms the TV was not available so far (which was not a problem at all for us because we came not to Gdansk to watch silly soaps the nights) but should be said as it was one of the offered features of the rooms. Bill was charged in PLN instead of EUR as indicated but just a minor aspect.
Overall this place had nice staff, beautifull and clean rooms with a view and during the night it has been very quiet however all the nice bars and clubs of the oldtown were just a short walk away.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SebastianSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    34
    15
    8
    16
See reviews for
21
36
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

We stayed on night in pica paca hotel. We had 3 dobble rooms. They where very nice and modern. Breakfast was small and very delicate:) Staff was very very helpfull - and the service was like a 5 star hotel. The two next nights we stayed in the Kobzka house on the roof of the hotel. The big appartment had very nice kitchen and bathrooms. The funitures was kind of old - but it was perfect in the appartment. It had 3 big bedrooms and a terrasse with funitures. It was only one block to the main street. I would like to stay here again. It was very clean to:)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoline-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2009

We stayed here while attending a conference. The location was very convenient and only a short stroll to the old town and all its' sights.
The staff were very friendly and helpful which gave the hotel a relaxed and friendly feel. The rooms are modern and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and it was possible to make tea and coffee in the evenings if we wished. The hotel foyer is a good place to work (if you are having that type of trip). I would certainly stay here again.

  • Liked — the staff and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon0957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku
Level Contributor
129 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2008

We spent 4 nights in Pica Paca with my girlfriend and we both liked it. Service was good and the manager was very helpfull (got us a dvd player next day we had requested it!).

Pica Paca is a small design hotel on great location. It was in a walking distance from all the attractions and it was easy to get to the shopping centers by tram. Staff was helpfull and told us how to get to everywhere we wanted. Breakfast is great and the girl serving there was allways very willing to boil eggs for us.

I had only few minuses -

-The views from the rooms can be bad as there is a construction site infront of the hotel.

-Room wasn't cleaned daily for some reason (if you are staying longer like we were).

Generally I looked a lot of hotels in Gdansk and I think Pica Paca is one of the best options available.

  • Liked — Good location and check in service
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Villemies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

I booked the Pica Paca hotel because the location was close to where we had to be for our business. This is a perfect place with personal service as you always wanted it. Clean, modern and well equipped rooms, good beds, a nice bowl with apples and mineral water for free. A good stocked mini bar, iron & board, flat screen and plenty of International TV channels. Good shower rooms with excellent rain showers. A very nice breakfast area where a friendly girl is serving you a freshly fried egg upon request. A pleasant bar, reception and sitting area with comfortable tables and chairs were it is very pleasant to do your work, which we did! F.O.C. WiFi. A friendly staff member serving you a large jug of water with lemmon without having asked for it! Top service by very nice young staff.
The location is excellent ( on Granary Island, within 10 minutes walking of the city centre).
This is a lovely modern and comfortable hotel and definitely much better in personal service than all the big chain hotels.

  • Liked — The combination of a modern small hotel in a beautiful restored building together with real personal staff service.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank globaltheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2008

A friend and I stayed here for three nights in August. We had booked over the net and requested a twin rather than a double. This was confirmed almost immediately and we were told we were in the Neil Armstrong Suite.
On arrival, we were shown to the Galelio Suite which was a double. When we questioned the sleeping arrangements, we were told by the receptionist that as they had confirmed a twin, we could have a second room at no extra charge. Clearly we were very pleased with this but couldn't help but think if the hotel had been full, the outcome may have been different. However the staff were very helpful and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
The rooms were clean and confortable but I would agree with another review about the paper thin curtains. You are awake as soon as the sun comes up. I was in the Madonna Suite and had a good room however the shower did seem to let water run all over the bathroom and there was no bathmat. I'm sure that if I'd have asked for extra towels, they would have been delivered quickly. I didn;t so my fault.
The breakfast was very good and the bar had a nice atmosphere. The staff really made the hotel a good place to stay and it is a brilliant location.
I'm not certain I'd stay again as as someone has pointed out, the booking on the net was in Euros and we were charged in Zlotys. I'm not too sure about their exchange rate but as we got two rooms for the price of one, I'm not going to argue.
Overall we had a really good stay here and I liked Gdansk a lot but would probably not return. I felt as though I had been had over the entire weekend from being grossly overcharged by the cab driver from the airport (who asked if he could keep the change) when we were charged almost half on the return trip, to seeing cheap red wine on a restaurant menu for 20 Zlotys (£5) for 100ml (if a pub or restaurant in London tried to charge me £12.50 for a 250ml glass of wine I wouldn't be impressed and as on this occasion would stick to beer), the boat trip up the river which apart from a monument where the second world war started, is a series of scrap yards, right up to the dodgy hotel exchange rate.
It was a real shame as the people seemed so pleasant and it really is a beautiful place and although not a huge amount to do or see, has some lovely landmarks. I've had cheaper weekends in Western Europe and when I doubt the average Pole spends £5 on a small glass of wine or £3 on a small beer. Go to see some of Poland and eat some really good food (it was all excellent) but don't expect a bargain weekend.

  • Liked — Fabulous location
  • Disliked — Dodgy exchange rate
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

The hotel is well situated in the centre of Gdansk. It is on Granary Island, so 300 m from the start of the Royal Mile (pedestrianised main tourist street) over a bridge. The hotel is also near the departure points for boats the the coast and the bay of Gdansk.

It is very modern in its design. Each room is named after a famous person (mine was Isaac Newton) and decorated with a picture of them by a german artist (www.kilida.de).

Good breakfast buffet - very prettily laid out.

Very friendly, hard-working staff.

Nice touches: complimentary fruit bowl (er, some on the turn), welcome drink of juice, bottle of water.

Satellite TV - BBCWSTV and CNN in English

Downside? the curtains are very thin and let in the light, so I woke with the dawn. Management is apparently on the case.

Note that you may be quoted a rate in EUROs by the hotel. But you will be charged in Zloty. Probably better to be quoted a rate in Zloty to begin with.

  • Liked — Good breakfast
  • Disliked — Thin curtains
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnas Old Town
Hotel Parnas Old Town
#52 of 84 in Gdansk
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kobza Haus
Kobza Haus
#35 of 84 in Gdansk
114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Willa Litarion
Hotel Willa Litarion
#67 of 84 in Gdansk
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willa Biala Lilia
Willa Biala Lilia
#41 of 84 in Gdansk
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 84 in Gdansk
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pica Paca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pica Paca Hotel

Property: Pica Paca Hotel
Address: ul. Spichrzowa 20 | Old Town, Gdansk 80-750, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pica Paca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eight suites, with their spacious room layouts and their individual design always offer a pleasant stay. Each room has its own theme, for example one is dedicated to Marilyn Monroe and another one to Albert Einstein. The rooms all have a mini bar, telephone, free internet WLAN, satellite and a TV, as well as an ensuite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Pica Paca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pica Paca Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing