We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a value for money”

Restauracja Thai Thai
Ranked #10 of 218 Restaurants in Sopot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Not a value for money”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This one pretends to be high end restaurant. Indeed, nice ambience, good a nd professional service. BUt the food rather medium.
Unfortunately, the starters need much more effort when presented. Some "decor" and better plate presentation would help. The taste - madium but not to complain.
Famous tom yum soup simply to sour and not tasty / flavoured enough. I could not finish. Main dish (shrimps in red curry) were in fact shrimps in the soup. The taste was pretty ok.
All and all, for this price you expect much more.
They are very well located and gain on that. In the other end of the main street there is another thai restaurant which serves better food and much cheaper (however, still quite pricy)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SILBERSTEINSKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    157
    62
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not as great as advertised”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We just had dinner at this restaurant which we selected as it had a nice description and Thai chefs according the advertisement. And as we very much like Thai food we went here while spending a weekend in Sopot.

The restaurant has a very nice and warm interior design, however quality of food and especially the service do totally not have the same quality.
We ordered shrimp chips as a small starter and although these are very easy to make fresh the ones we got delivered were fried hours ago and/or in too cold oil. Totally not crispy and tasty as they can be. I make them better myself! Clearly something that was not done with attention and pride to ensure that whatever is being delivered to the table has at least a good quality.
So that was a first disappointment. Also the service of especially the waitresses was to say the least cold, maybe the word arrogant fits better. Not a single smile, tone of voice rather uninterested. Almost if saying we should be happy to be able to eat in this restaurant.

The main courses were ok but nothing special, am used to much tastier Thai food in Warsaw. My partner ordered Pad Thai with chicken and although ok it basically tasted the same as when I order this at the Thai fast food restaurants. But price wise a lot more expensive.

After finishing our dinner we decided to pay and leave, not having a desert or coffee anymore.

When we will go again to Sopot this restaurant will definitely not be on our list for follow up visits nor would I recommend it to family or friends.

But as it is still quite busy that may not give the management the signal something needs to change to bring this restaurant up to the standard they advertise!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WallyBode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Every time we visit Sopot we eat at the Thai Thai and have been always been treated to excellent service and food. Last night however was a different story. We had a table of 6 people plus two children. Maybe they didn't like the children. We had taken the train to Sopot so we could enjoy a drink and not drive. We were only served one drink before the meal. Never could we catch the eye of our waitress to order more drinks and not once did she come to our table after delivering our food to see if we were OK. I had a cocktail and had planned to drink wine with the meal. Others wanted more water and/or drinks. The food also was not to the usual standard. I had recommended the curry to a friend and it was so hot as to be almost uneatable, even though she had asked for medium. I ordered sea bass, which was a whole fried fish with absolutely no meat on it at all, it was so small. We decided to get desserts at the local gelatto shop, we knew the waitress wouldn't be at our table any time soon. I do hope this was a one time bad evening and not a sign of the future of this previously enjoyable restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sailfisherflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chefs shout at waitress! Not a good impression”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Upon entering the door to this restaurant we were greeted with one of the chefs from the open kitchen shouting at one of the waitresses! (Not the waitress we had otherwise I would have asked if it happened often) however I do not approve of the "Gordon Ramsay" style of treating others as it certainly doesn't get the best out of your staff! We also witnessed the chef ringing a bell repeatedly for service despite all staff being busy taking orders! he then shook his head at us as we were obviously paying attention to his behaviour. He was obviously having a bad day but no need to take it out on others, apart from anything else it also doesn't make for a good customer experience? All that aside, the food was good, our waitress was very friendly, lots of smiles and worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soeren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Remember to ask to spice your meal traditional style”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Perfect place.
Nice atmosphere.
Fabulous food.
Unfortunately after at least 8 visits in 8 months service is always poor. To make an order you can wait till 30 minuts. For you meal 50 minutes. The worst thing is that they don't give you any information that it might take that long.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restauracja Thai Thai also viewed

Sopot, Pomerania Province
Sopot, Pomerania Province
 
Sopot, Pomerania Province
Sopot, Pomerania Province
 
Sopot, Pomerania Province
Sopot, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Thai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing