We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA++ Super hotel with excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Grand Sopot
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Sopot
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AAA++ Super hotel with excellent staff!”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

1. Wedding Package
We met with the F&B manager when we decided to get married. From the moment of this meeting he sold the services of the hotel to us with his accommodating approach. We found his pleasant disposition and level of professionalism outstanding.
The ensuing months required extensive correspondence via email as both my wife & I do not live in Poland. The ease of progress from our decision of having our wedding in the hotel up to the event itself allowed us trust the hotels competence and deservedly so. This removed a lot of stress from us in the lead up to the hotel.
We visited many hotels before deciding on this one but for the warmness and level of attention even at enquiry stage the alternative hotels pale in comparison, with many of them coming across as more suited to conferences rather than how a hotel should for something as personal as a wedding.
The service on the day of the wedding itself was very impressive. We could not ask for improvement on any area of the service we got. The quality of the food is still being complimented by our guests with not only the wedding meal, but also the buffet being rated top class.
No matter what the enquiry, complication, or possible problem from contract signing to final delivery of the wedding itself, the calm and attentive manner of management and staff, provided solutions to all. Thanks to them our wedding party will always stay in our and our guests memory as a truly beautiful and pleasurable experience.

2. Accommodation
Many of my family and friends from Ireland as well as my wife & I, stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Everyone was impressed by the service levels experienced. From the collection at the airport in Gdansk to the transport back to the airport including accommodation, food, drink, all in between was exemplary.
The attentive nature of all staff including bar, concierge, front desk, restaurant, beach area, fitness area was noticed and very much appreciated. Many of the guests were of limited mobility but the care and attention they were afforded mitigated this.
The features of the hotel are without peer in our opinion and the setting beautiful.

I could not recomment this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    205
    65
    29
    9
See reviews for
210
339
35
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Fantastic hotel located just next to the sea. Beautiful garden and beach. Excellent staff - professional and smiling, especially at the reception. Definitely best hotel in Tricity!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europetraveller80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
175 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I stayed here a week in August primarily for the location, private beach - sadly unused because of the weather - and an expectation of welcoming customer service. I had one good previous experience of another hotel in Sopot, one dire one. I had asked my agent to double check the reservation as Poles seem to have a habit of losing them. They did and the hotel confirmed by email. Even so arriving at 1500 hours - no welcome at all - just confusion about whether a room was ready - a fraught phone call to housekeeping (I was with a friend who speaks fluent Polish so I understood afterwards that the room was not ready). Then a change of room. I booked a "superior room" but actually these I am told are exactly the same as Classic Rooms" except they are on the sea side - a bit of dodgy description there as the room is the same not superior at all - the view is better. have no idea if this is true or if I was "downgraded" . The rooms are narrow and rather cramped for a hotel of this class. I did not feel the welcome was especially warm but we were given a voucher for a welcome drink at the bar. That evening we duly went to the bar for an aperatif. Gin and Tonics. Presented the voucher and an embarrassed waiter told us it was only valid for soft drinks. The G&Ts were in fact Z60 which is about £15. That's a lot even by London standards: in Sopot it is crazy. I spoke afterwards witht he receptionist who did not have the rooms ready and who gave us the voucher. He said sorry he did not explain before but it was not the policy of the hotel to encourage people to dirnk acohol!!! So - this may be why it is so overpriced! . did not try the breakfast which is Z90 or £22 - just across the road are chic bars and cafes which offer a superb breakfast for Z25 or less. Try Mont Blanc for example, where you will get fresh fruit and superb coffee with your eggs and bacon or whatever, for about £5. and don't be taken in by the welcome drink! In the bar we waited some twetty minutes while bar staff ignored us wiping tables and chatting, only when my friend went and asked in Polish for some service - did a bar steward come to our table. So, avoid the bar. Unless you are really loaded then take breakfast outside. Bear with the reception staff who need some lessons in organisation, management and courtesy. Then it's ok. The rooms are kept clean and revisited throughout the day. Though again they are mean with provisions. There are three coffee pods per twin or double room. That is 1.5 tiny cups of coffee each. Teabags and milk substitute (yes powder in a hotel of this class!) are carefully rationed. All in all great hotel - but would reall benefit from some leadership and management. I wrote to Sofitel afterwards but they did not reply. Not sure really whether I would recommend this - it is grand and so are the views - but I might see if the customer service is better at the Sheraton next door. But as I have to put one or the other - yes I'd recommend the hotel - for the building and site and garden and beach.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The hotel was very nice. The staff was very nice as well. We only spoke English and there was no problem. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable. The best part of the hotel is the private beach. You check in at the private beach and they lead you to comfortable lounge chairs all reserved for hotel members. The location in Sopot was perfect as well. We were right next to the pier and the main street where all of the restaurants and bars were.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chibecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdynia, Poland
Level Contributor
647 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 453 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

It was one of the best hotels when it was type of ''communism'' in Poland and after great refreshment it is still one of the best. The location couldn't be better. The rooms are very nice and the bed very comfortable. You can placy in hotel casino, you can order great breakfast to your room.
The only minus is a price... It is quite expensive but you know for what you pay when you are already in there.
The only minus is expensive parking. It should be for free. This is no good that in Poland you have to very often pay for things that should be included in the price... This is common and not honest.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawel_hbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Overall, I had a good experience at Sofitel Grand Sopot. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly. My room was very clean, but a little small. The bathroom was nice and big. The location is great. It's a short walk to the main street with restaurants/bars and the pier. The best part of the hotel is their private beach area. They have an area blocked off with their own chairs, towels, and staff to get drinks for you. My only complaint is that the power in the entire hotel was turned off for almost an hour one night. When I called the front desk, they said it would be off for maintanence for 15 minutes but didn't come back on until an hour later. It was an annoying random incident, so hopefully that doesn't happen to anyone else who stays there. Other than that, the hotel was great.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jef1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This truely was a fantastic hotel. The location is great, right on the beach and adjacent to the main street in Sopot. This was our first time in Sopot and it was great. The hotel is a fantastic building with a wonderful pool, spa and terrace area. The staff could not do more to ensure everything was taken care of. Paticular thanks to the reception staff and the concierge staff. I can recomend the massage - it was excellent. The room was a seaview superior room which was fantastically equipt and with the views to match. I stay in good hotels every week across Europe and can say the Sofitel Sopot really was a pleasure and I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondontravellerUK_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GRManagerSopot, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Grand Sopot, responded to this review, 28 November 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your kind and very warm comment.
Opinions like yours are very motivating for all of us and make our work worthwhile.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest in Sofitel Grand Sopot and we are very much looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Deepest regards,
Karolina Polaska

GR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sopot hotels
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
#1 of 27 in Sopot
666 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sopot Marriott Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Haffner Hotel
Haffner Hotel
#4 of 27 in Sopot
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rezydent
Hotel Rezydent
#6 of 27 in Sopot
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayjonn Hotel
Bayjonn Hotel
#7 of 27 in Sopot
109 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B Molo
B&B Molo
#16 of 27 in Sopot
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Grand Sopot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Grand Sopot

Property: Sofitel Grand Sopot
Address: Powstancow Warszawy St 12/14, Pomorskie, Sopot 81-718, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Sopot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sopot
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sopot
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sopot
#3 Family Hotel in Sopot
#5 Business Hotel in Sopot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Grand Sopot 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Sofitel Grand Sopot is in the heart of Polish coast. By the sea, near the beach and city centre, this Sopot Poland hotel fully immerses you in this vibrant town. Adjacent to Europe's oldest wooden pier, this Sopot hotel was built in 1927 as the most refined lodging in the area, enchanting its guests with lavish ambiance and elegant flair. Experience beautifully restored interiors, 127 elegant rooms, and views of the sea and park, reflecting the unique spirit of this hotel in Sopot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Grand Sopot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Grand Sopot Hotel Sopot
Accor Grand Sopot
Grand Hotel Sopot
Sofitel Sopot
Sopot Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing