We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice old cinema” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pionier 1909 Cinema

Pionier 1909 Cinema
Ranked #1 of 19 Fun & Games in Szczecin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pionier Cinema is the oldest cinema in the world (Guinness World Records), opened as Helios on Sep 26th 1909 ans still operating today. Part of prestigious Europa Cinemas international film theatre network.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice old cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The cinema is nice and interesting. Located at the middle of szczecin. The movies are award winning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the cinema with my girlfriend on a family visit to szczecin we both love to watch films in english and subtitles so the pionier is the perfect place to go . Great atmosphere and quaint rooms even though been modernised still it feels like going back in time the only thing missing was cigarette smoke in the projector light and black and white film. Would definitely recommend a visit if visiting szczecin

Helpful?
2 Thank lozz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A charming step back in time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was so excited to find out that the world's oldest cinema was in my family's home city and have been there twice now!

I was charmed by the small theatre and the little table and chairs you sit at. The room is so cosy and old fashioned themed, you really feel like you've stepped back in time. You can also order yourself a drink at the cute little bar inside!

There is also another more typical styled theatre if you prefer that as it may be more comfortable - but it's obviously modern so there is none of the charm in this theatre.

For people who don't understand polish - they don't dub over all the movies in this cinema - so you should be able to find most movies play in english with polish sub titles.

I highly recommend you go!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kintus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papworth Everard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Old fashion, cozy cinema”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

In that cinema you have that lovely feeling you are siting in your chair. It has impeccable character. Love it :D.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank oluniapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Friends have taken me to this oldest movie theater in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Great expierence , the worlds oldest movie theater started in 1909 , Wow that was very cool and intresting. I was happy , because they have played the movie in English so I could understand . Nice small place with some special way about it .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oneil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pionier 1909 Cinema also viewed

Szczecin, Western Pomerania Province
Szczecin, Western Pomerania Province
 
Szczecin, Western Pomerania Province
Szczecin, Western Pomerania Province
 

Been to Pionier 1909 Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing