We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation in a fantastic setting”
Review of Domek Jaskolka

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domek Jaskolka
Ranked #8 of 13 Bialowieza B&B and Inns
Alentejo, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in a fantastic setting”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a base to explore the primeval forests. Maria is a lovely host, communication can be difficult but a laptop and google translate solved that problem. The nature that is on your doorstep is simply breath taking. The accommodation itself is not 5 star luxury but it was good enough for us and it was a great place to chill and discuss our sightings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very comfortable guesthouse on the outskirts of Bialowieza village. Outdoor covered and lighted wooded steps lead up to the first floor where there are three comfortable rooms. There is also a cozy lounge with a TV up there for shared use. The owners are very friendly and lay on a lovely breakfast every morning at whatever time you like, cold meats, pancakes and eggs, a good feed for a long day in the forest. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outtherestuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed in Domek Jaskolka two nights last summer and then crossed the border to Belarus.
This is very well maintained, village-type accommodation (wooden house, furniture) and that was what we looked for after city tours in Budapest and Warsaw. The owners, Maria and her husband, were very hospitable, cooked good breakfast, helped us to reach Belorussian border. Except for Polish, they speak good Russian, and probably other languages.
We also rented from them two bicycles for a day, in total, if i remember right, 50 zloty.
Their house is very close to the entrance of the Polish part of Bialowieza reserve.
WiFi signal is only near the main building.
In my view, Domek Jaskolka is one of the best options in Bialowieza.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed easy access to Bialowieza National Park and the surrounding area. Our room (on the second story of the owner's home) was comfortable and cozy. There was also a common room with a TV, tea kettle and refrigerator.

We did not take advantage of the breakfast/dinner options due to language barriers and numerous food allergies; however Maria (or Maryśka as her mother called her!) kindly offered us apples from her backyard trees, and there was a grocery store and delicious Restaruacja Pokusa just around the corner. Maria and her mother were very friendly during our stay despite our lack of Polish.

We should note that we were not able to access WiFi at all during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowlyGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bialowieza hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Zubrowka
Hotel Zubrowka
#1 of 4 in Bialowieza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Bialowieski
Hotel Bialowieski
#2 of 4 in Bialowieza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamenty Galeria Trunkow
Apartamenty Galeria Trunkow
#1 of 16 in Bialowieza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pensjonat Unikat
Pensjonat Unikat
#6 of 13 in Bialowieza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stoczek 1929
Stoczek 1929
#2 of 13 in Bialowieza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pl Outback Pension
Pl Outback Pension
#4 of 16 in Bialowieza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domek Jaskolka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domek Jaskolka

Property: Domek Jaskolka
Address: ul. Zastawa 58, Bialowieza 17-230, Poland
Region: Poland > Eastern Poland > Podlaskie Province > Bialowieza
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bialowieza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Domek Jaskolka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing