We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and Local”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olsztyn
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and Local”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Hotel Dyplomat is ideally located and has spacious rooms, albeit without air conditioning. Dinner in the hotel restaraunt was so good I went there twice. Staff are knowledgeable and efficent. You could do no better in Olsztyn

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    50
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
27
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludwigshafen, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The rooms were splendid and had interesting bathrooms. Staff was super-friendly. The breakfast buffet had everything we could imagine. And the menu of the restaurant had a good choice of local and international food - and kitchen was open till late.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tantelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We mainly stayed in the town as a home base for visiting other areas in the region. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms and bathroom are more spacious then expected. Breakfast had a great variety of regional foods. My big frustration was the parking. It is only street parking and the meters don't allow for prepaying. So at 8am everyone in the hotel and area comes out and pays for parking. Otherwise, at 9am, you have a ticket on your car... Not a pleasent experience if you want to sleep in a little. It would be nice if they have some special hotel pass agreement with the city or have someone handle the parking for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightMidnightTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol Z, Kierownik recepcji at Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for posting a review of our property, we appreciate the time you have taken. We are delighted that you are satisfied with our location as well as rooms size.

Additionally please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have noted your comments and will endeavor to ensure your next stay with us is a comfortable one.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marika Bonkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Świdnica, Poland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

It was big pleasure to stay in this hotel. Receptionists proffesional and hospital. Room very nice and comfortable. And hotel restaurant offers a big selection of drinks and meals. Price is very nice in comparison to the comfort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojciech S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I enjoyed two(2) stays at Hotel Dyplomat, a very nice-looking modern and clean place in a quiet, but not isolated area. From check-in to departure staff were very helpful and obliging. I had emailed the hotel previously requesting a kettle which they willingly provided.
Unfortunately I don't speak Polish but any staff I spoke to either spoke English well or tried to assist/refer me to someone who did. When having difficulty making an international call the receptionist went out of her way to ensure my call went through.
There was a large variety to choose from at breakfast, particularly for Polish tastes. This was regional Poland after all, but there were also plenty of other good choices available.
Free wi-Fi, good standard bedroom plus top bathroom with special toiletries.
I would happily recommend Hotel Dyplomat and stay here again myself.

Room Tip: I always like to be off the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gentleBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol Z, Kierownik recepcji at Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for your comment which is highly appreciated by all Hotel Dyplomat team members. We pay a lot of attention to qualified service and fulfilling our Guests needs that is why we are very happy to hear you were satisfied with our service.

I do hope that you will be our guest again next time you have the opportunity to travel to Olsztyn.

Kind regards,
Marika Bonkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
como
Level Contributor
429 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

travelling in Eastern countries is someties hard as hotellerie has still evident space to improve , so the stay those at Hotel Dyplomat was a positive surprise . Placed in a quiet part of the central area the hotel provides all facilities required by business trips . we arrived quite late still the restaurant was available and provided us a nice and well prepared dinner served with attention and proper timing , good wine selection.Bar opened for us and provided us drinks until well late after regular service time . Rooms are classically furnished , new and functional , you have anything you might be needing ,bathroom well equipped and altogether a very clean aspect .Breakfast provides a wide array of local food all made with genuine care. Rates are generously attractive and I would recommend this hotel to whoever will be travelling to that part of Poland. It is true that staff are not too smiley but anything I asked them was promptly answered and made and efficiency is more useful ( if I have to choose ) than a smile

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enricoallievi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol Z, Kierownik recepcji at Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for your comment which is highly appreciated by all Hotel Dyplomat team members. We pay a lot of attention to qualified service and fulfilling our Guests needs that is why we are very happy to hear you were satisfied with our service.

I do hope that you will be our guest again next time you have the opportunity to travel to Olsztyn.

Kind regards,
Marika Bonkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I haven't been in Olsztyn for a couple of years. This hotel was opened about 2 years ago. I booked it by phone - without any problems, and they did not require my credit card data to guarantee the booking. My late arrival (i.e. after 6 pm) was not a problem either. The hotel is very elegant, and the reception staff nice and helpful. I had a superior single room. It was very spacious with a large bed. The mattress was harder than in most hotels of this class. I don't say it was bad - personally I prefer soft mattresses. It was a very cold day (some -15 centigrade). I did not notice any problems with window insulation, and the radiators could be regulated by the guest. I switched them on max and I was almost fine. Their heating is much more effective than most hotels have.
When I arrived, there was no lamp on my desk, but it was enough to mention it at the reception and it was provided to me. The desk was large, and the sockets were behind it at the level of the table (I mean, no need to kneel down on the floor to switch in your laptop).
The bathroom was luxurious and OK. I found it a bit cool in the evening - my mistake was not to notice that it had a separate heater - when I switched it on it was more than OK in the morning.
Two bottles of water were provided free of charge in the room (gas and still), and there was a standard minibar, the items had prices typical for minibars.
It would be nice if they considered offering a kettle with several portions of tea, coffee and sugar to guests, at least in the superior rooms. I wouldn't have minded a cup of tea in the evening in my room.
The dinner at the restaurant was good and the service OK. There is also a bar.
The only thing I was a bit disappointed about was the breakfast. I came in just after 8, so not definitely not at the very end of breakfast time. Yet there were only 2 juices (blackcurrant and grapefruit) and water. The selection of foods (cold meats, cheeses etc.) was not bad, but for a 4-star hotel I would have bigger expectations. I had to wait for the waitress to ask her for my favourite fried eggs. There were no hot dishes displayed "ready-to-use" - in most hotels you can help yourself with sausages, scrambled eggs etc. when you have limited time and yet would like to start your day with a solid breakfast.
I did not drive a car, but I was told that the hotel offers some parking solutions - not sure if it was own parking or a card for a free parking in the paid parking area (in the street).
I did not ask about wifi, I would guess they have it.
Of course, there was a flat TV in the room, I just did not watch TV so can't say anything about the choice of the programs.
There is a fitness centre there - no pool, but sauna - I had not known it so was not prepared to use it and can't say anything about it.
The hotel is centrally located, I paid just 5 PLN for a taxi from the main railway station.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agulha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karol Z, Kierownik recepcji at Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat, responded to this review, 9 January 2015
Thank you for posting a review of our property, we appreciate the time you have taken. We are delighted that you are satisfied with our location as well as rooms size.

Additionally please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We have noted your comments and will endeavor to ensure your next stay with us is a comfortable one.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Marika Bonkowska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Olsztyn hotels
0.2 mi away
Warminski Hotel & Conference
1.8 mi away
Omega Hotel
Omega Hotel
#6 of 15 in Olsztyn
106 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Kur
Hotel Kur
#7 of 15 in Olsztyn
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
HP Park
HP Park
#8 of 15 in Olsztyn
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Wilenski
Hotel Wilenski
#5 of 15 in Olsztyn
85 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Marina Club
Hotel Marina Club
#3 of 15 in Olsztyn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat
Address: Dabrowszczakow 28, Olsztyn 10-540, Poland
Region: Poland > Northern Poland > Warmia-Masuria Province > Olsztyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Olsztyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Dyplomat is the first hotel in the region, boutique class object, which combines tradition with modernity. The reception desk is open 24-hours a day. We have 25 rooms and three suites. All rooms are carefully furnished, harmoniously combining stylish furniture, precious fabrics, soft carpets with modern facilities. Superior rooms in addition to the increased size of the property contain: anti-allergic bedding, mini safes, mini-bar, wireless high-speed Internet connection. Each bathroom has a special line of cosmetics, a hairdryer, and exceptional towels. We invite you to our unique restaurant. Our specialty is regional cuisine with touches of Russian cuisine. For connoisseurs of wine we dedicate wines from around the world, prepared under the supervision of sommeliers. The hotel is equipped with three conference rooms. The first conference room can accommodate up to 90 guests in a theater style or up to 50 guests by the tables. The other two rooms can accommodate up to 30 guests. All conference rooms are equipped with modern audio-visual equipment, air conditioning, wireless high-speed Internet and have access to daylight. There is also a spa with a wide range of body and facial treatments and a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Dyplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing