We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointment”

Karczma w Straconce
Ranked #37 of 129 Restaurants in Bielsko-Biala
Cuisines: Polish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Waitstaff
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

I am in Bielsko once or twice a month. I was in Karczma w Straconce three times last year. I will never understand why local people like this place and why they take their quests there. Place is looking not so bad but has no soul and not any character. You can find such places at ever highway. Food is in my opinion totally disappointing. I was expecting something local, tasty and received just fat and heavy. So, if you believe Polish Beskidy highland cousins is the more fat the better go there and enjoy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    6
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almere, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was just ok”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The waiter run to us as soon as we sat down,and came back way too quickly to pick up our order.
Food was good ,but I had better.My family had the same feeling.Also the prices in the menu were way to high - definitely for the price you pay you expect something more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank femminka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raerd
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid this place at all cost”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

After having read the positive reactions at this site I visited the place with my 14 year old son. Waiter was very unfriendly. Food lousy. Everything was precooked and heated before serving. Then to know that the unpretentious restaurant at the camping 99 has a cook who outperforms this place by miles.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Berend R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Polish experience and atmosphere.”
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

I have been several time to this restaurant with colleagues and every time it's a confirmation of tipical polish food and wooden ambiance. Try the biraghi with veggies or meat and the colonco a pork cut cooked in the bier. After all few sips of kuprinik and you're ready for bed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosario1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genval, Belgium
Level Contributor
325 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“A taste of traditional Poland”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

The menu is traditional Polish, prices are decent, staff only speaks Polish. A great experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cimmerianbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karczma w Straconce also viewed

Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
 
Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
 
Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
Bielsko-Biala, Silesia Province
 

Been to Karczma w Straconce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing