We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem, a great alternative to Wieliczka or addition to your trip”
Review of Bochnia Salt Mine

Bochnia Salt Mine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.05*
and up
The Bochnia Salt Mine Tour from Krakow
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Bochnia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Huge deposits of rock salt mined since the 13th century, which today feature 300 kilometers of galleries filled with works of art and statues sculpted in salt.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a gem, a great alternative to Wieliczka or addition to your trip”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This Salt Mine was recenlty granted UNESCO World Heritage site status, and is absolutely wonderful. Not as many tours in English as Wielczka, but very worth seeking out and going to as it is less touristy, less crowded, and in a wonderful small town, Bochnia, that is easy access from Krakow. Nice little town square close by with one of my favorite restaurants in Poland, Bar Szalaput. Tour guides at the mine are very friendly and knowledgable, very nicely setup facility.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank BeachyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    42
    11
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
128 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best of the best! This attraction is little known but definitely worth seeing”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

One of the girls in the management team in our hotel recommended this to us.
We thoroughly enjoyed this attraction. Our guide was fantastic and personable.
Last year we went to the other salt mine but this mine was far better and less touristy. You can take a bus from Krakow and be in Bochnia in about 1 hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing visit”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Went with my family, having previously been to Weiliczka salt mines and although Bochnia is not as well set up for tourists at the moment it was much better.

It is a little harder to reach, but well worth it. The English guide we had was fantastic, and the attractions in the mine are brilliant with good interactive displays, a great slide and sports hall and a good restaurant. Would definitely recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyPJoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
254 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“The oldest salt mine in Poland - much better than Wieliczka”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

A great and very historical place. Must see when Y travel to Krakow. If Y wish to see real salt mine - select Bochnia: older, deeper, wilder and more genuine than Wieliczka but younger in museum role. If Y looking for attraction in "Disneyland" style - go to Wieliczka. If Y want to feel real salt mine with atmosphere, climate, style and original - take a trip to Bochnia. I was there several times always with positive experiences. It is a place for real adventure and Y can touch a real salt mine - priceless :).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great if you want to escape all the tourists going to Wieliczka!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

That fact I'm writing this in November 2013 and there have been only three English language reviews this year indicates how undiscovered by the Krakow 'lot' is.

Bochnia is half way between Krakow and where my wife grew up, so was a perfect day out for us. While our tour guide didn't speak English, I had a headphone which more then adequately guided me around.

There is a fun slide partway through the tour, if you want to ride down this, you have to be wearing laced up footwear otherwise you'll have to walk down numerous steps.

I speak a bit of Polish and during a Q&A session with the guide one of the tourists (all Polish) who was clearly enjoying the tour asked why the mine wasn't doing more to market itself and push itself to the Krakow tourists.
The response from the guide (casting a careful eye in my direction) was that the mine doesn't want to be spoilt, doesn't want to become another Wieliczka - all the more reason to visit it!

If you're staying in Krakow and fancy seeing something else, something different and don't mind having your English language guide in a headphone, then give Bochnia a try. Thoroughly enjoyable and I still haven't visited Wieliczka!

*Delayed posting as I didn't realise the mine was on TripAdvisor*

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ConsumerBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bochnia Salt Mine also viewed

Wieliczka, Lesser Poland Province
Bochnia, Lesser Poland Province
 
Nowy Wisnicz, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Bochnia Salt Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing