We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hospitality right next to the flying saucer” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diament Spodek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Diament Spodek Hotel
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Katowice
Komorow, Poland
Level Contributor
275 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Clean hospitality right next to the flying saucer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Spodek is an UFO shaped landmark indoor stadium in Katowice. Many Polish people have memories of visiting concerts in the Spodek and still these days many events take place there. It's located on the edge of the town center, which is just a medium walk away down the main Korfantego boulevard. The hotel is located just behind the Spodek, the main entrance is tucked away next to the Olympia restaurant. Accessibility aside, the hotel offers clean, basic rooms, in a circular arrangement around the central reception. They can be slightly noisy, because the central atrium has fantastic acoustic. I was able to follow the receptionist's telephone conversations word for word. Fortunately the hotel goes into "quiet mode" after 10PM. Gastronomics are provided by the restaurant. Breakfast is allright, but dinner can be a bit on the salty side. For better culinary experience, I recommend Stare i Nowe, just a short walk away direction Chorzowska street. All in all I had a reasonably good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get as far from the reception desk as possible, for noise reasons. WiFi is not fantastic thou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rutgerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
7
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights, because we travelled from the Katowice airport.
The stuff was typically kind, the restraurant & the breakfast very nice, the rooms and the hotel space was relatively small, but looked luxurious. It was renovated and clean.
The spa services offered (simple & cheap) are not within the hotel building, but nearby.
It is exactly behind Spodek and there were no signs that show the way, so we had to walk around and ask..
Suggested to those who travel for work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

just booked my 3rd stay. rooms are more than decent, large n comfy. bathrooms modern could do with a few more toiletries.
staff very helpful - in a personal way.
restaurant menu - for me perfection. unfortunately the downside of a delicious meal is the ventilation - too many kitchen smells - reminiscent of Poland from the 70s.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the front where there were still road works etc going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasiukasiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Son en Breugel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We booked the room via booking.com. We requested a double bed but when we arrived we got a room with two single beds which were not movable. We asked the reception if we could have another room with a double bed, but she told me they don't have rooms with double beds. Although the pictures on the website told us differently.... Strange!!
In the end we had to stay in the room with the single beds this without any appology from the staff. We also requested some information about Auschwitz but this was to much to ask as well. In the end we got the opening hours of Auschwitz, but that was all. We didn't feel quite welcome in this hotel. We won't recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, don't book this hotel. They don't have double beds. This is a business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NielsV01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vorden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel couple of times last few years. The main reason to choose this hotel was it's location, close to the Spodek Arena and the pictures I found on the internet.
While arriving at the hotel, don't let the entrance fool you, it's hard to find. But after finding the entrance the hotel proves to be a very nice and modern hotel.
The staff at the hotel is really helpfull and speaks English fluently. The rooms are good. Very clean with a nice bathroom. The rooms also include airconditioning, but I never had to use it.
The first few times breakfast was servered at the lobby, but during my visit last September it was servered at the resaurant below the hotel. The breakfast itself isn't spectacular, bread, cheese nutella and a scrambled egg. The lady at the restaurant didn't speak English, so it was a good moment for me try the few Polish words I had learned....
The hotel is close to shops, restaurants and it takes about 10 minutes to walk to the railway station.
+ Clean hotel with modern rooms at a good location
- Poor WiFI at most rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WernerSchroer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed there for a couple of days, I used the hotel airport transfer which run smoothly. When we arrived to the hotel I was shocked to see the front of the building. The entrance to the hotel is on the back of Spodek Arena and next to the building site( that didn't affect my stay at all), not inviting at all. But once u go upstairs where the actual hotel is it is a completely different story. Lobby is nice and spacious and staff helpful. Rooms are nice, as promised with a flat screen tv and hair dryer! No tea making facility in a room which is a pity and what was a real problem to me- water under a shower wasn't warm enough for me. On a good site room is quiet and I got a good night sleep. Unfortunately the breakfast was only ok, I would say there wasn't many guest staying at the hotel so the food turn out was slow, food like cheese and tomatoes looked like they were lying there for a while, dry and not really tasty. restaurant staff nice tho. So overall it could really be a nice hotel but a breakfast and the hotel entrance are not up to scratch. If you travelling to the hotel with your own car and haven't been there before u might be in trouble of finding the entrance as the sign are barely existent. It does have loads of potential and I would stay there again as I got a good night sleep and that's what I came there for! And it has a good location, about 7 min walk to the center. I didn't use a swimming pool but that is not a part of hotel, it is located next to hotel but available to hotel guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2012

We found it a little tricky to find the entrance but we had help from a local girl . The hotel was lovely , Modern, Clean, The receptionists were very plesant & helpful. The room was very nice we had a twin lots of space and a lovely bathroom. the room had airconditioning that you could control easilly. There is a restaurant downstairs which is very nice .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUFC4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katowice hotels
Śródmieście
Novotel Katowice Centrum
Novotel Katowice Centrum
#3 of 23 in Katowice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Śródmieście
Ibis Budget Katowice Centrum
Śródmieście
angelo by Vienna House Katowice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Katowice
#13 of 23 in Katowice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Śródmieście
B&B Hotel Katowice Centrum
B&B Hotel Katowice Centrum
#7 of 23 in Katowice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diament Spodek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diament Spodek Hotel

Property: Diament Spodek Hotel
Address: Aleja Korfantego 35, Katowice 40-005, Poland (Formerly Hotel Olympia Spodek)
Region: Poland > Southern Poland > Silesia Province > Katowice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Katowice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Diament Spodek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Expedia so you can book your Diament Spodek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing